We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome tour!”
Review of CityRover Walks NY

CityRover Walks NY
Book In Advance
More Info
$280.00*
and up
Private New York City Midtown Landmarks Walking Tour
More Info
$280.00*
and up
Private New York City Historic Downtown and Wall Street Walking Tour Including...
More Info
$280.00*
and up
Private Downtown Art in NYC Tour
Ranked #7 of 627 Tours in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our public and private walking tours feature small groups, fun guides, memorable sights and stories, and local snack stops. Discover NYC on foot with us.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awesome tour!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My group of 7 did the Village Sampler Tour with Danielle. There were 10 of us altogether on the tour, which was a perfect size because it wasn't too big nor too small.
Danielle was great! She was very friendly, really informative and kept the tour interesting. She also did it a perfect pace - there was no unnecessary lagging. At the beginning of the tour, she bought us all a bottle of water, and then purchased us chocolate from Jacques Torres in Chelsea Markets and a slice of pizza from the best pizza place I had in my stay in NYC. Good to do this tour during the beginning of your trip so that you can go back and spend more time at some of the stops. We ended up going back on later days to Chelsea Markets and the pizza joint - places we wouldn't of known or heard of on our own.
The tour went for around 3.5 hours; Danielle took us through 3 different neighbourhoods, pointing out various sights and historic landmarks along the way. You can tell that Danielle definitely has a genuine passion for the city she lives in, and she was definitely very knowledgeable. Had a great time on this tour and very reasonably priced at $40 - wished we could of done the other CityRover tours if we'd had more time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mz_Sonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max V, Owner at CityRover Walks NY, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Sonia, I am so glad you and your friends enjoyed the tour with Danielle. I am also thrilled that Danielle's passion for and knowledge of the city shown through. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with others. Danielle and I hope you will join us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,397
    22
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Max's tours...always a highlight!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I visited New York City again (our 4th trip in three years) at the beginning of December. This was our third tour with Max so we knew that we were in for a treat! We have done the village sampler and the bridge tour so we decided to do the classic Central Park tour this time. Obviously doing three tours with Max proves that we believe that he is a master of his craft. This tour was very educational, and entertaining. He is also very accommodating to his guests; we had initially booked the midtown tour because the central park tour was full, but when he cancelled the midtown one because of the holiday madness, he quickly re-booked us on this one. He also gives great suggestions for places to eat and drink in the area.

One more note; some of our favourite places in NYC we have discovered because of Max's tours (e.g. Bleecker St pizza and the Blind Tiger in the Village, reBar in Brooklyn). On this trip, the first thing we did after dropping our bags at our B&B was hop on the subway and made our way to 7th Ave and Bleecker St.to get a slice of Nonna Maria pizza...delicious!!! Thanks for another amazing tour Max! As always we enjoy hanging out and catching up! See you in March :-)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“CityRover Rocks!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our second tour with Max at CityRover and it was every bit as good as the first. Both tours were very well structured, with the perfect balance of walking, sightseeing and information - and just the right amount of local treats sprinkled in to eat and drink. Max is extremely knowledgeable about all things New York and his enthusiasm for the the history and lore of this region makes his tours both educational and entertaining. We also contended with extreme weather during both tours (hot in June and very cold in January) and Max made every effort to make sure everyone was as comfortable as possible (including an ice cream stop and another for hot cider - you figure out which went with what tour!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LindaKate1327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic personalized guidetour!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

The bar crawl/walking tour was a very fun, interesting and personal tour. We visited many nice and cool places along the way.
A different and most preferable way of doing a guidetour!
The document with a list of places that were worth a visit really helped me choose a place to go to when I wanted a night out.
Loved it, and will definately go to another one next time I come to New York!

Helpful?
Thank Annettesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A must do!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Loved our Bridge to Brooklyn walk with Max who was so very informative and made the whole experience fun! It is quite a "doable" walk for young and old and we'll certainly be seeking out another tour with Max on our next visit to New York. You come away feeling you know the place!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lhasabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CityRover Walks NY also viewed

 

Been to CityRover Walks NY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing