We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not once but twice while in NYC..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rubirosa

Rubirosa
Ranked #71 of 13,488 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Nolita
Cross street: Prince Street and Spring Street
Transit: BDFV to Broadway/Lafayette 6 to Spring Street
Description: 235 Mulberry street New York NY 10012
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not once but twice while in NYC..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Happened on Rubirosa while shopping in the area and just wanted a bit of lunch. Beat the lunch crowd by getting there about 11:45. I have numerous food allergies and was thrilled to see they offered a gluten free menu. I had the Gluten Free Mozzarella sticks with house made marinara and they were wonderful. I then treated myself to the best Affogato I have ever had. The service was attentive but no suffocating - casual place with great bar as well and good music. Decided to treat my son and his friend to dinner and the pastas, arugula salad were good portions and delicious and the meatballs melted in your mouth. Service was excellent again and I will keep it on my list for the return visit. Also we could not get a reservation day of, so the server recommended we come before 7 and they have tables they hold for walk ins -- it worked out perfectly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JudyS03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    473
    233
    41
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
111 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We went looking for a good pizza to eat. Nice and clean place. Staff were nice, the only bad thing was that the soda was a small tiny bottle. We want a big glass but other ways was good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is New York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I had the delight of eating in Rubirosa last week. I'm from Denver and wanted an authentic New York experience. Rubirosa delivered. There were 3 of us and everyone really enjoyed their meal--2 pizzas and a pasta dish. The pizzas were on one of the best crusts I've ever had! The pasta was also outstanding. Reservations are a must. Without one there is a long wait to get a table. The food is worth it even if you do have to wait.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I wish I could take this place home with me”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We went late and everyone was very friendly. The octopus starter should not be missed - excellently prepared with great compliments in the composition. The pizza was great, the gnocchi was even better, and they help you find the right wine by the glass for the night. If I lived nearby I'd go here every time I wanted pasta and would take every visitor into town. A real gem.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChaniDoggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exellent pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

delicious pizza! no doubt, one of the best in NYC.
friendly staff, reasonable price.
highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank russoturisto_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rubirosa also viewed

 
 

Been to Rubirosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing