We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Italian Gem”
Review of Rubirosa

Rubirosa
Ranked #63 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Nolita
Cross street: Prince Street and Spring Street
Transit: BDFV to Broadway/Lafayette 6 to Spring Street
Description: 235 Mulberry street New York NY 10012
Brooklyn, New York, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian Gem”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great ambiance and vary attentive service. The pizza i delicious and the salads are also very good. Great place to take friends or a significant other. The sausage broccoli rabe pizza is incredible.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seatosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    251
    44
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Excellent pizza, salads, pasta and desserts. This place is going on to our "favorites" list. A great place for sharing dishes and many items come in sharing size or individual size. Suggest calling for a reservation as this is a hot spot.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank nkmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
970 reviews
695 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Great little Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

You may have to wait in line for a table but it is well worth it. The pizzas are wonderful and the atmosphere is engaging and the service is friendly and not over-whelming. The food alone is worth the trip. You never feel alone in this NOLITA restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Simply the Best: Perfect Pizza, Friendly, Efficient Service, Value Priced”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Rubirosa arrived on my gastronomic radar screen thanks to a New Yorker Magazine "Tables for Two" piece in late summer, 2011, just as I was exploring a move to Manhattan. While I delayed the move for a year and a half, Rubirosa became my reliable, friendly dining outpost in NOLITA. Fresh back from a recent trip to Naples, I visited Rubiroso last Saturday night with my daughter, son-in-law, and teenage grandchildren and was reminded how good its pizza is, especially in contrast to the rather indifferent pizza I encountered in Naples, where the dish was created for Queen Margarita of Savoie in the late 19th Century. (When I reported my disappointment to my terrific Neopolitan innkeeper of the Hotel Toledo, he promised to direct me to the city's better pizza places in his city when I return.)

But back to Rubirosa, for not only is its pizza the best I have ever had -- even including the pizza of legendary Pepe's in New Haven's Wooster Square neighborhood -- but this engaging spot on Mulberry Street offers a terrific assortment of antipasti (don't miss the roasted octopus), pastas (black & white tagliatelle with clams, mussels, shrimp, scallops, and calamari is a standout), salads (the Rubirosa, with arugula, mozerella, and parmagiano defines the genre), sides (two moist, deftly herbed meatballs in a delectable tomato sauce), and main courses (chicken, beef, and seafood). While I generally avoid beef in Italian restaurants, Rubirosa's NYstrip steak can stand up to the best of steakhouses, for 2/3's the price.

But don't let me distract you from the pizza, an art form that the chef, Angelo Pappalardo, who opened Rubirosa with his father, Giuseppli, learned at the family pizzeria Joe & Pat's on Staten Island. Ultra thin, crisp crust makes this almost a diet food, until you get to the ample, well selected and deployed toppings. My favorite is the "Supremo", featuring pepperoni, mozzerella, roasted garlic, and mini-meatballs. (I always ask them to substitute sausage for the mini-meatball, but that's a matter of taste.)
Many NOLITA diners retreat to local pastry shops for dessert, but they may be weaned from that reflex once they taste Rubirosa's freshly stuffed cannoli.

Be warned. If you do not like the convivial, congenially boistrous laughter and animated conversation that competes with well amplified recorded music (usually not of my era) as accompaniments to food and drink, this may not be your place. But if you stay away out of some misplaced sense of decorum or refinement, your palate will be the poorer for it.

Charlem

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A must go to place”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Actually want there several times over the past few years (before F&W found it). Found it after shopping at Fluevog (Prince & Mulberry) for shoes. Try the arugula pizza with prosciutto - AMAZING! Good prices and service.

Helpful?
Thank ltothethird
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Rubirosa also viewed

 

Been to Rubirosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing