We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will come back!”
Review of Rubirosa

Rubirosa
Ranked #65 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Nolita
Cross street: Prince Street and Spring Street
Transit: BDFV to Broadway/Lafayette 6 to Spring Street
Description: 235 Mulberry street New York NY 10012
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Will come back!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just ended up there while walking around during lunch time.
The atmosphere was great, and eventhough it was full everything was ok.
They first sat us down on the very back, which was right on the kitchen, it looks like an addition that was made later on to be able to serve more people, and eventhough I like open kitchen restaurants, this area was not nice, like it does not match with the rest of the place and it was very warm. I asked to be moved to the bar and they were ok with that. While at the bar, the bartenders were cool and very pleasant. One of them forgot to put our order thru so we had to wait a little more but he was honest and brought us some bread. we were fine with it, we were on no rush and enjoying a beer and some champagne.
i would recommend explaining (describing) the different beers on the menu for those who are not that familiar with some of the brands.
The food was excellent!!! we had the mushroom/ham pizza and it was very good!!!! portions are very large

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lourdes R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    251
    44
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“HUGE servings”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Food was pretty good, lots of seasonings were brought to the table, which was good since the food seemed to need it. The server was really helpful in suggesting items for our table. We almost ordered a bigger pizza and she stopped us...thank goodness...the serving sizes were HUGE. We all either shared or took home leftovers. They have great drinks though.

One weird thing: the music was like 50/60s type music. We all expected more Italian (authentic to match the food/atmosphere), like opera or something. Kind of threw off the mood a bit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pepper899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Italian...Quintessential NYC Restaurant”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

On a street that's becoming exceedingly famous for first-rate italian restaurants.... Rubirosa stand alone. Is it crowded?... sure. Pricey?... not really. One of NYC's top Italian spots.... YES. The uber-thin crust pizzas have an authentic tomato passata that gives the pies an unmistakable flavor (recommend the CLASSIC). The pastas are cooked perfectly... and are simple and delectable (recommend the Spaghetti alla Chitara w/ Meatballs). The mini rice balls are magical... and the brick pressed chicken is crispy along the edges and perfect. You'll find an efficient staff and a solid wine list... but no matter what.... save room for the zeppole (donuts). I consider this restaurant to be in the Top 5 Italian restaurants in NYC... sharing company with Locande Verde, Del Posto, Da Umberto and Babbo... enjoy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank geauxtger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great pizza place”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Eating in NYC anywhere without a reservation on a weekend is challenging. There was no wait at Rubirosa even though it was full. The pizza was excellent, the service prompt, and it wasn't too expensive. Only one unisex bathroom.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kbyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Really warm atmosphere with great food”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Loved this place!! The atmosphere is really warm and jovial and the service was perfect. Not too intrusive and there when we needed them!

We had the rice balls for an appetizer, which was delicious! All of our entrees were absolutely tasty and well made. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting a casual and delicious Italian meal!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TakeMeWIthYouPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rubirosa also viewed

 

Been to Rubirosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing