We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pizza and much more”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rubirosa

Rubirosa
Ranked #68 of 13,552 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Nolita
Cross street: Prince Street and Spring Street
Transit: BDFV to Broadway/Lafayette 6 to Spring Street
Description: 235 Mulberry street New York NY 10012
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great pizza and much more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Rubirosa is my favorite Italian restaurant in the Soho-Nolita area, friendly, trendy and above all always excellent food.Go for the Vodka Pizza, the Meatball Bruschetta, the Spaghetti alla Chitarra, or the Brick Pressed Chicken. And for brunch try the Nutella Bruschetta and the Eggs Rubirosa.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EnriqueBascur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    241
    42
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best pizza ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Met a local woman who made the recommendation, was the weekend highlight. Ordered a small pizza for two and it was enough for my wife and I. Try the fresh uncooked mozzarella, pesto and tomatoes pizza, unbelievable!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food & Gluten Free Menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I have recently traveled to NYC and decided to have lunch at this restaurant because we saw a sign on the door indicating they offered a gluten free menu and she follows a gluten free diet. The food was delightful, her gluten free Fresca pizza tasted very nice, light and fresh. I ordered the Chicken Parmigiano Panini and it was probably the best sandwich I have ever had in a restaurant. The tomato sauce tasted like my mom's. The cost was reasonable and the service is good. I will always make a point to eat here when I visit NYC.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Spent a year in Manhattan in 2011 and became slightly obsessed with the pasta at Rubirosa. Small place but great ambience, friendly staff and the bread, the pasta, the wine - all just incredible.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Girl5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I've eaten a lot of pizza in New York, but none compares to the classic pie at Rubirosa. Put simply, Rubirosa makes the best pizza in New York. Maybe it's the unique carousel-oven that they use to evenly cook the pizza, the crack salt that they use to finish each pie, or the savory-and-sweet tomato sauce. Whatever it is, this pizza is like human-catnip. The best part about Rubirosa, though, is that it's not just a pizza shop; they do everything really well. Their pastas are handmade (as is the mozzarella), their menu changes with the seasons, and they have a great, rotating, local craft beer list. If you have to wait for a table, do it; you won't regret it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zach N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rubirosa also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Rubirosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing