We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spicy excellence”
Review of Tulsi

Tulsi
Reserve with OpenTable
Tulsi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,658 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 2nd & 3rd Avenues
Transit: 4,5,6,7 Trains to Grand Central. M101, M102, M103 Buses to 44th St.; M15 to 46th St.; M15 Select to 42nd St. or 50th St.
Description: Tulsi features distinctive regional Indian cuisine created by Chef Hemant Mathur, critically acclaimed for his clean, distinct flavors and a master of tandoor cooking - from savory street food and breads to tantalizing vegetable specialties and fragrant curries, to signature tandoor-grilled meats and seafood. Designed for comfort, relaxation and the enjoyment of food, drinks and conversation, the 55-seat dining room and 15-seat bar/lounge reflects modern India with a nod to cultural traditions and motifs. Guests may also enjoy a seven-course Chef's Tasting Menu (also a Chef's Vegetarian Tasting Menu) and bar snacks, as well as a thoughtful list of spice-friendly wines, handcrafted cocktails and beers. "Tulsi" (pronounced TOOL-see) means divine basil.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spicy excellence”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Tulsi opened a couple of years ago in a slightly out of the way midtown location, and it is a wonderful and welcome addition to the neighborhood. The dining room is lovely, with curtained tent-like tables and a refined decor. The food is consistently inventive--very different from the usual Indian fare. The chef uses novel combinations of spices to create a succulent array of fish, chicken, meat and vegetarian dishes. We usually ask for the spiciness to be slightly toned down, as some dishes can really be hot. The breads, tandoori plates, eggplant dishes, goan seafood, chicken khorma and lamb dishes are all highly recommended. Service is efficient and friendly, and the noise level is acceptable (except when there are large boisterous parties, as is occasionally the case.) Tulsi is popular with UN Indian diplomats, and that in itself is a recommendation.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miriampar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    74
    23
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Tandoori Lamb”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had the house speciality, the lamb chops out of the tandoori. They were nice spicy and tender, the slightly burnt bones added to the taste. I liked the street Food inspried Starters too and of course the speciality Drinks. Can recommend the place for a upscale Indian meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We had heard about the restaurant from a good friend of our's and based on it we made reservations. Food was excellent, chef came and explained different dishes to us and answered all our questions and based on it we ordered our food. Food was delicious and waiters were knowledgeable and prompt in serving food. We are planning to go there again when we go to NY again!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happy460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best restaurant experience ever!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I really don't know where to start! My husband and I stumbled across this little gem accidentally and the place hadn't yet opened for the evening, but the staff greeted us anyway and welcomed us in the bar area to start with our drinks. We were given our drinks straight away and weren't even waiting long to be seated in a lovely little cosy section of the restaurant - it was so romantic. We chose the chefs tasting menu with the pairing wine option and though I was dubious of the spices (I'm a bit of a chilli weakling!) I simply asked for advice, and nothing was too much trouble; the chef made me something a bit milder for one of the dishes. And oh my! The food was amazing! The best meal(s) I have ever had in the world so far! And each of the wines complimented each course perfectly. The service was impeccable - staff always so friendly and attentive - we seriously thought at one point that they must have thought we were celebrities or something because they treat us so well throughout. Thank you so much to everyone at Tulsi! No wonder you have a certificate of excellence!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kezk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Romantic hot spot”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Food was excellent. The starters were the best- tandoori mushrooms and cauliflower manchurian. The mains were also good we had the spinach kofta and butter paneer with naan and rice. The disappointment was the vegetable curry dish that was overpowered with a coconut flavor. Moving on to desserts the pistachio kulfi was exceptional with the chocolate samosa being ok. Overall great dining experience with friends or a romanti night out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tulsi also viewed

 

Been to Tulsi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing