We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

Smyrna Mediterranean Turkish Restaurant
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stumbled upon Smyrna while looking for something a little different. Though it doesn't look like much, it will become a new favorite. We were immediately served warm bread which was tasty. The cucumber salad was amazing. I'm still raving about it 24 hours later. The entrees were also well made and delicious. Can't wait to go back and try more of the menu.


Service was incredible. They were attentive without being pushy or bothersome. Took their time to explain menu items and gave us enough time to decide. They also score points for not rushing us out of there like so many places in the city.

A great meal and even better environment. First class operation.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lyoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    23
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
639 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Very Good Experience”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Turkish cuisine is a rarity for us so it's hard to compare to similar places but Smyrna was very good for us. We got there early because of an early show and were of course seated immediately. Service was quick and attentive. Our waiter was well versed in the menu and could make comments on every dish we asked about, and seemed to be quite evenhanded.

The food itself was tasty and I guess it was authentic. Hard for us to tell. But it was an enjoyable meal with no complaints.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kairho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Bad service”
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Service was bad.
There was only one waitress and place was empty. One more guest was sitting down.
They brought lentil soup which was cold and then went to reheat it, it took 15 minutes!!!
Cigare burek not crispy enough.
All te food seems like was not prepare fresh but only reheated.
We won't come again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maryinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson Creek, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“excellent!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

very trraditional turkish restaurant, decor is nothing special but the wait staff are very attentive and the food speaks for itself, very well prepared and served. Some very tasty dishes here... we come here every time we are in NYC

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frater93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“I have just discovered how good Turkish food is!!!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had dinner here during our visit to NYC. We randomly picked this restaurant, honestly, I didn't know what to expect about Turkish food... the menu looked good and I knew that we couldn't go wrong with mediterranean food, so we gave it a try.

We where greeted to the restaurant, got a table; service was really nice with a good ambiance. There is a large selection on the menu and for the appetizer we shared the Mixed Appetizer Plate (lebni, babaganush, hummus, tabouleh, eggplant salad). What a nice plate!! Everything was so good and the bread was fresh and very good too. I got so inspired already with that entree. Don't really remember what I got for the main plate, but it was very good.

All that to say, I recommend this restaurant. And because I love cooking, my experience at Smyrna opened my curiosity and it brought me to buy a Turkish cookbook!

I am giving a 4 out of 5 for the rating, because in order for me to give a 5 to a restaurant, it was to be really really outstanding... for that reason, 4 means very good!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheesecake35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smyrna Mediterranean Turkish Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing