We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rouge et Blanc - CLOSED

Rouge et Blanc
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Contemporary, Asian, Vietnamese, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: SoHo
Cross street: Houston
Description: Rouge et Blanc offer a seasonal, market-driven cuisine with southeast asian influences. Bold flavors and preservation techniques are the foundations of the cuisine. Wine Director and Owner, Thomas Cregan, brings more than 20 years of wine-tasting experience from the regions of France and he placed eight in the Best Sommelier in America 2011 Competition. The wine list is exclusively French.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Heaven ”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

I love this place. The menu is small but everything is amazing. If you are looking for a food orgasam come here. Priced fair, great wine list, nice ambience. I have nothing to suggest because i would suggest entire menu. Have been here for romance and with friends, both a roaring success. Go, you will thank me

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenkr
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    16
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cuisine créative et savoureuse!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Last week, while visiting my daughter in NY, she suggested one night to go to Rouge et Blanc for dinner. She had heard about this young and upcoming chef Macks Collins and the great carte des vins of Thomas Cregan one of the top sommelier in America.
Good enough! We didn't know what to expect but we couldn't resist a culinary experience.
We loved it! so fine, delicious and creative, a true explosion of savors in every bite! Bravo chef Collins!
I recommend Rouge et Blanc without hesitation.
Besides the amazing cuisine and the fine wine selection, the ambiance, the service, the attentive personal, everything is quite charming and make you feel welcome. In overall Rouge et Blanc is for open minded people who can appreciate new cuisine. Just go! L Lapointe

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“bring the octopus back!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

rouge et blanc is an incredibly romantic restaurant buried in the village. it is not big by any means which keeps the noise to a quiet level allowing you to talk with your friends or lover. i have been to this restaurant twice and while i will admit the first time was way better (hence my title, bring the octopus back) the food was still excellent the second time. the wait staff seems to be getting a bit more uppity, but i refuse to let that ruin a great meal. being on a side street creates a nice ambiance as well and its nice to continue the date by walking around the restaurant afterwards. the food is worth it here - but do your homework, if you don't like fusion that don't visit but if you can appreciate creativity this is your place

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“New chef, very disappointing”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The first time I went to Rouge et Blanc was after I read the review in the New York Times in 2011. I was so pleased with all the dishes AND the monkey breads and always wanted to go back (see my previous review in Tripadvisor). The time had come when a friend was visiting me from oversea. However, as soon as I saw the menu, i was so disappointed, the razor clams, the baby octopus, the short ribs were all gone. it's alright for restaurants change menu as they sometimes do but as soon as i tasted the new dishes, i knew something was wrong. and the worst was, NO MORE monkey breads. the breads they offered were tasteless and flavorless. i immediately checked with the server and found out they have a new owner, a new chef!!! that explained everything. we had their house-made noodles, artic char, scallion rice crepe, grilled pork belly, sea scallops and octopus but non of them could amuse us. they were not terrible but just too ordinary. with the money we spent there, i would rather go to Nougatine or ca va or Brassarrie, etc. btw, can anyone tell me where Matt Rojas is now????

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank YCONWEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No french food at all. Too spicy”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We didn't like the waitress service, the wine list almost without " glass" option and few bottles medium price ($40).
They could tell us that the food was very, very spicy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Therezinha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rouge et Blanc also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing