We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian restaurant in town”

Tamba Indian Grill and Bar
Ranked #6,007 of 13,820 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: 27th and 28th
Description: At Tamba you will have the ultimate experience in Indian cuisine. Our menu features authentic specialties from cities throughout India and Southwest Asia, like the fiery Vindaloo dishes of Goa and almond-flavored delights from the Kashmiri mountain valleys. Dine with us and embark on an appetizing sojourn through the tastes of India, Pakistan, Afghanistan at Tamba.
2 reviews
“Best Indian restaurant in town”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

I love this place, the food is delicious and the price is reasonable. Their customer service is great. I went there last week. I bite something spicy and tears came out of my eyes. The manager saw it and asked kitchen to cook something special.. I am impressed by their great service.. I will go there often:)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    15
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A passport for spices”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I'm used going to indian restaurants in Paris, San Francisco, etc. For the first time, I tried one in NYC. I was really pleased in choosing the buffet (10 $). A great variety of main courses but the entrees were really poor. The food was excellent, tasty and flavored. As usual in indian restaurants, the servers were nice.
If you're touring around 27th and 28th, you could stop by this place.
@the owner: please, try to have decent and clean restrooms. It'll help in ranking.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oceanomundi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumont, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food!”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I had never been to this restaurant before but couldn't pass up the opportunity to snag a Groupon being offered for a meal for two priced for one. We decided to use it as our dinner spot before seeing Rocky on Broadway. The food was excellent, well flavored and fresh. The servers were nice (I love how people say the servers were rude or dull.. this isn't Applebee's, they don't have to have flair.) The restaurant itself was beautifully decorated and intimate. I would definitely go back next time I'm in NYC and in the mood for awesome Indian cuisine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lcremin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food and fantastic service! Loved it!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

There is a lot of competition in the neighborhood for Indian food, but I wouldn't suggest going anywhere else. I ordered saag paneer (veggie) and my boyfriend ordered chicken madras. Both were tasty and filling. Also, the service was wonderful. Really. I highly recommend Tamba and will be sure to go back myself. Enjoy!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MargaretM1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porvorim, India
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Indian Food In NY City”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This is one place for average quality Indian food in New York City. There is other cuisine also available in it like Thai, Vietnamese, etc which may be better than the Indian food that they offer. There may be better places than this for Indian food but this is the one which was suggested to us by one of our relative. Please be sure to carry sufficient cash as credit cards don't seem to be working properly on their machine or it may be a trick to get cash from customers instead of card payment (we had this strange experience).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GaurishM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamba Indian Grill and Bar also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Tamba Indian Grill and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing