We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Indian food”
Review of Junoon Restaurant

Junoon Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Junoon Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #761 of 13,838 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: Between 5th & 6th Avenues
Transit: You can take the F or M train to 23rd St & 6th Avenue. Alternatively you can take the N,R,W to 23rd St.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality Indian food”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is probably the best Indian food you will have in New York City, the chef - Vikas Khanna has appreared in many shows including indian master chef and hence the restaurant is expensive compared to other nearby Indian restaurant, but the food easily makes it up. we went with out mother-in-law and she was very happy with the food.

NB: Do visit the masala room near rest room and make a advance reservation, we got the last table on a regular weekeday.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vikas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    159
    65
    31
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“The star of India”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I am a great admirer of Indian cuisine and our dinner at Junoon was probably the best we had had. The ambiance is very modern, dark and romantic. The service was attentive and unobtrusive. The food itself was first class made with great attention and served in very generous helpings. If you like Indian food - go!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a pleasure for a few different reasons”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I was very happy with my dining experience at Junoon! The restaurant had pleasurable, surprising infusions, the aromas and spices were decadent, the food delicious, the service was highly efficient; second to none, and the restaurant, is set up to be full but not overrun, like many restaurants in the City. The restaurant was designed to keep the noise level to a minimum, and allow for pleasant conversations without straining. The décor was pleasant and relaxing. A great place overall.!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cozumelangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delightful experience”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Pre theater can create a rushed experience. This restaurant delivered a quiet sumptuous meal with surprises in every course. Beautiful aesthetics, quiet presentation and distinctive flavor story the palate. Highly recommended for a memorable dining experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dsessions254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE US
Level 6 Contributor
574 reviews
414 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“The weekend set lunch is an excellent bargain”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our set lunch ($24). The portion was full size and quite a bargain. She had excellent salmon and I had kebabs with chicken & lamb: I’d order the salmon next time. She had a lamb curry dish and I the chicken curry dish. Both were great and came out spicy as ordered. One of us had bread and the other rice so we had both with our meal. My wife said that the kulfi dessert was the best kulfi she has ever had & we’ve eaten in 100s of Indian restaurants. I enjoyed my brown butter banana tart. We already have plans to eat here again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Junoon Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Junoon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing