We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food good but pricey - Service not good!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Junoon Restaurant

Junoon Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Junoon Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #900 of 13,552 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: Between 5th & 6th Avenues
Transit: You can take the F or M train to 23rd St & 6th Avenue. Alternatively you can take the N,R,W to 23rd St.
Sherman, Connecticut
Level Contributor
177 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Food good but pricey - Service not good!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We went on a Monday night - not a very busy night and we waited interminably long for everything.

The food was very good but when I pay over $30 for a dish I would not expect to pay $5 for some rice! As someone else said the typical accoutrements that are free were not free here.

The wine list was great, the specialty drinks not my preference.

Not a place I will return. Too may other good Indian restaurants in the city.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    149
    61
    29
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
266 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Xmas Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Was a bit disappointed as my expectation from thisIndian diner was very high. I found the food to be very mildly flavored, probably more to suit the palates of New Yorkers. Otherwise excellent decor and a well stocked bar with plenty of diners waiting for a table. Seems to be a very popular place with the Yuppies from Wall st.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kolkatacool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was the second time we visited Junoon. The first time we went for lunch and blown off by the most delicious indian food ever. It was not just the food but also great service and good ambiance. This time we went back almost after a year for my birthday with very high expectations and were rather disappointed

We ordered beet root and goat cheese salad. It was strictly okay - good but quite bland and not indian at all! The only indian ingredient was a dash of coriander chutney! For main course, we ordered some okra and shahi paneer. The okra was great but paneer was quite spicy.

Their wine list is quite exhaustive. They have some interesting wines from across the globe but I felt that they were slightly overpriced. We ordered wine by the glass but I guess it was a total rip off. We could have easily ordered half a bottle for the same price.

The service was great. Our server was good-humoured and quite attentive. It was a good experience. The next time I go back, I shall set my expectation bar lower.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SangeetaKhemani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Slow Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

The ambiance was very nice. The waiters were friendly. But we waited an hour(no kidding)to be served any food! The drinks were served right away. Finally, the food arrived...I thought it was too hot(my fault for not saying"mild")...nothing special....and if my friends didnt need a full bar we would have headed down to 6th St to Raj Mahal where the food is consistently good, enviroment friendly and it is unpretenious and inexpensive(a fraction of the price)..and there is a sitar player to boot!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ok Appetizers, Entrees Well Above Average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

I wish I could say more about the beet salad appetizer, but there wasn't anything special to it, other than a good plating. However, the chickpea entree was something I might actually go back for, as it had a distinct flavor and presentation. The fish is also quite tasty, but be advised their food is indeed, spicy.
A great find on 24th street, might be back for more.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnTheRunChgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Junoon Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Junoon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing