We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good time”
Review of Gastroarte - CLOSED

Gastroarte
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: Columbus-Broadway
Transit: 1 train to 66th Street-Lincoln Center 2/3 train to 72nd
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good time”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

the atmosphare is great, casual hip but not too loud. the service is excellent, the waiter explain each dish in detail, what's in it, how it was made. sangria was wonderful, sweet enought just how i like it. the menu is not huge but each dish is made perfectly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank icebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Adventurous Spanish Chef”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The chef started out as an artist and then began cooking. It shows in his careful presentation of dishes. You can't eat pretty, but he makes sure things taste as good as they look. We got the tapas sampler as an appetizer for two. It was a winner across the board on which they arrived. So was the hanger steak we both had. My dessert was the only miss. It was called Earth: a little bit of chocolate mouse, a little bit of chopped pistachios, a little bit of crunchy crumbled chocolate cake, and other things. Its appearance recalled greenery and dirt, but the combination of tastes, including lemon, worked. The problem was the texture: too dry. If I had swirled it all together before spooning it up, it might have been better. But I think there wasn't enough mousse to moisten everything sufficiently. Nice try anyway. The chef is nothing if not inventive.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hitherandJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unique and exceptional”
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Love this place created by Madrid chef Cutting edge Spanish cuisine Beautiful flavours combined in successful and unusual ways It deserves far greater recognition

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrentMeersman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“the best modern spanish food in ny without doubt”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

This is now on my destination restaurant list. The food is exceptionally creative and the tastes jump off the plate, they are so alive. We had six or seven plates and one was better than the next and although the portions were grand i wanted more of each and left feeling i had no room for another morsel. wines by the glass are very well chosen and the bottle list inspired by an expert.
you must order the pasta with oxtail and octopus, meatballs and potatoes braviolis.
The chef Mr. jesus nunez is a genius in my opinion and you will not be able to enjoy food like this at these prices for long. He will be discovered by the masses and then who knows.
Tapas at the bar seems like an unbelievable deal.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travelguy500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Incredible ambiance, great neighborhood, and delicious food.”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

The food was rather delicious, and had an artful flair but nothing to the point of tiny portions. It was my birthday evening, and we were hoping for a Spanish restaurant (Spain Spanish) and this was spot on. They gave us one of the few single tables, for a party of two, and threw a candle on the dessert at the end of the evening which was a nice tough. The decor and ambiance was romantic and right what what we had in mind. Spent less than $150, and we had a full 4 course meal. Our favorite was probably the decadent chocolate dessert, accompanied by a half dozen pureed fruit of which you dip into. Incredible. All an all, a highly recommended place that we'd like to visit again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OliverNYC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastroarte also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing