We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice surprise”
Review of 40 Carrots

40 Carrots
Ranked #175 of 438 Dessert in New York City
Cuisines: American
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a nice surprise”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We were starving and wanted a healthy light meal. We found it in a department store! Nothing pretentious here just good food. Tomato soup was fresh and flavorful. No mayo tuna sandwich was on great bread as advertised. We will be back!

Helpful?
Thank HardeeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    22
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch stop on the upper east side”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and daughter discovered 40 Carrots while shopping a few years ago. It has become one of our favorite lunch restaurants when we visit NYC.

They have a great lunch combo (great half sandwiches and soup) that includes the best yogurt you'll ever eat! Prices are very reasonable for Manhattan. Service is very efficient.

Definitely worth a stop, especially if you happen to be at Bloomingdale's and want a reasonably priced meal!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best frozen vogurt on the planet!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Yes I can say that I am addicted to Bloomingdales frozen yogurt! 40 carrots is my go-to place every visit in the Big Apple...great salads, great carrot soup and of course frozen vogurt to top it off! Must eat treat!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not bad. Nothing exceptional.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Food was average and overpriced (My one-year-old's chicken fingers were better than my fancy no-mayo tuna sandwich), but the staff was very nice and helpful. They're famous for their frozen yogurt, which I thought was okay but nothing that amazing. As far as taste, maybe it was great 5 years ago when "froyo" wasn't the big trend again, but I wouldn't say it's any better than the stuff they have at a Menchie's. Portions, though, were huge! It's a shame they don't offer the same generous portions for their savory food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffmw315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food let down by service”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The food is good - especially the frozen yogurt - but is let down by poor and unfriendly service. A smile from a hostess is not too much to ask for. There is a small kids menu and although my five-year old enjoyed her meal I wouldn't describe 40 carrots as child friendly. The idea is good, as is the design of the place, but it should be so much better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeR825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 40 Carrots also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to 40 Carrots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing