We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Diverse Food”
Review of Fish Tag

Fish Tag
Reserve with OpenTable
Fish Tag is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,943 of 13,838 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: 79th (Broadway-Amsterdam)
Transit: 1 Train to 79th street and Broadway. B & C train to 81st and Central Park West. M79 crosstown bus to 79th and Broadway.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Good Diverse Food”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The food is always good in this place - very diverse and caters to fish lovers as to other palettes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank E N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    53
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Interesting Menu with great service in good location”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We went toy Fish Tag before going to concert at the Beacon. Place is in a convenient location with a nice atmosphere, excellent food and service. We enjoyed the unusual variety the menu had to offer. Be sure to try the cheese and meat flights. Very enjoyable and we will be sure to return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackieBG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Inventive menu, excellent service”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We wanted a restaurant near Beacon Theater on the Upper West Side that would satisfy those with big and little appetite. Fish Tag fit the bill with a varied menu that includes fish and much more, arranged from light to heavy, so that diners can adjust accordingly. Delicious salmon tartare, grilled salmon, chopped Greek salad fit the bill, along with wines recommended to fonwith the meal. Service was friendly and professional, and we were out in time for our show.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SMSFBFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Perfect for Mother's day”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We really loved this place! I went there for mother's day and it's a seafood wine bar. The waiter was just fabulous and gave us a lot of good advice. We got something with melted cheese in a pan, a crustini with cod and eggplant (favorite), tabouli salad, and the salmon and red snapper. The salmon was really amazing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rachelia18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great fresh one inexpensive seafood”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Had dinner as a party of 6 on a steamy NYC night and it was excellent
Every dish was very fresh and cooked well. We had 3 appetizers (shrimp, octopus and bruschetta) and all were very very good.
The mains did not disappoint either. Service and wine menu was great too.
Overall amidst the expensive and over hyped NYC restaurant scene, this one is a place to return to for great and inexpensive seafood

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wacko_654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Tag also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Fish Tag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing