We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hole in the wall”

CK14 - The Crooked Knife at 14th Street
Ranked #4,053 of 13,552 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: Between 7th and 8th Avenues
Transit: 1, 2, 3 Train at 14th St. & 7th Ave. A, C, E, L Train at 14th St & 8th Ave.
Description: CK14 is a modern American gastro pub conveniently located on the crossroads of Chelsea, Greenwich Village and the Meatpacking District. We specializing in fresh, seasonal fare. CK14 offers a variety of seating options from our cozy dining room to our newly opened back garden. For a more casual setting guests can sit at our well stocked bar or our front “living room.”
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great hole in the wall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Was visiting a friend and the crooked knife is his local pub to go to. Drinks are decently priced and a nice selection of some craft beers. Outside area is nice to sit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lexus873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    17
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Love it when you run across those special gems and unexpected finds in the world of American culinary delights. The ambience is so very cool, as the restaurant is located on the below street level and almost feels as though you're entering someone's home. Very laid back and chilled with relaxing sofas up front, a long bar and then with dining in the back followed with an additional level of dining in an raised outside courtyard. The food and drinks were great. Had the salmon burger and it was indeed memorable in a good way. We came for lunch and wasn't crowded at all, mgr indicated it was hit or miss for lunch but with a heavy dinner/night crowd. So, with such a great ambience, great food, reasonably priced, will definitely be coming back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeeknParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Plenty of atmosphere,good food and reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Ate here on a recommendation and it proved to be a good one. Quite a bustling place with lots of atmosphere. Good menu and excellent quality food at reasonable prices for New York. Worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very comfortable meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Passing thru and found this to be an ideal spot to relax. Quality food and drink at a fair price (generous happy hour) and an easy trek to Penn Station.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Went for Thanksgiving: great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

I went on Thanksgiving as all of my friends had left NYC. The service was great, I was alone and the wiatresses were great: having a great chat with me to keep me company.

Food was also a fantastic experience, while I didnt have the standard menu. Aalmost like homemade, which was exactly what I wanted for a thanksgiving meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aussie-matthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CK14 - The Crooked Knife at 14th Street also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to CK14 - The Crooked Knife at 14th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing