We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, ambeience & service”
Review of Gazala's - CLOSED

Gazala's
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: 78th Street
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food, ambeience & service”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I was there last weekend for dinner with 5 other friends. Our table was ready when I got there on time. service was very good. all the items we ordered except for one veg dish, everything else was very tasty. we had ordered 4 -5 cold mezes, 4 different pies & some salads, everything was good. I would recommend this place for dinner even with big groups. also good for vegetarians.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    54
    15
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Authentic Mediterranean food! Cozy place!”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Made me feel like I was in another country dining in a small Mediterranean town. Got the meat pie which is not like a pot pie. Had ground sirloin on top. Everyone liked their dish.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Classact10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Accidentally found and very happy we did. ”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

After giving up on hope entering the natural history museum on a cold rainy day. My self and my girlfriend hungrily stumbled into this place. Not usually our normal cuisine of choice but we weren't disappointed, food was terrific as was the portion sizes that were massive. All round an excellent discovery.

Helpful?
Thank Rabanderson07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rare neighborhood gem!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Wonderful food served by a very solicitous staff. The warm and friendly owner, Gazala, makes you feel as if you're having dinner at her home.

Very tasty and a rare find and great value for the neighborhood (UWS).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jr-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“No lamb? How does that happen?”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My friends who live in the neighborhood had heard good things about this restaurant, so we booked through open table. The table was for a huge party and we were only 4 so we couldn't hear one another (restaurant is very loud!). We ordered appetizers and drinks, which were good. Then we tried to order dinner but were told that the lamb was no good so we couldn't order any lamb dishes! How does a Mediterranean restaurant not have enough lamb to serve to customers?
Isn't that a staple in the region? Or have a supplier on call that can deliver after hours? The owner came out to apologize, but we left to eat dinner elsewhere. If those kinds of kitchen problems continue, i can't see this place lasting very long. I know i won't be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chp12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gazala's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing