We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location for sunset and sailboat watching.”

Merchants River House
Reserve with OpenTable
Merchants River House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,253 of 14,304 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $13 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Financial District
Cross street: Hudson River Esplanade between Albany & Liberty Streets
Transit: Easily reached by the 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, E, N, R and PATH trains, as well as the M20 and M22 Bus.
Description: Located on the Esplanade between Liberty and Albany streets in NYC, Merchant’s River House is an upbeat, casual and family-friendly restaurant offering great views of the Hudson River and the Statue of Liberty. Enjoy the American bistro experience, with tasty, affordable food served in a unique and gorgeous setting.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We came down to earth on the restaurant scene during our weekend visit to Manhattan by walking from the September 11 Memorial over to the Esplanade along the Hudson River, about two blocks away. There we had made a reservation for an outdoor table for our final meal in the city. We had received a call from the restaurant during our stay, to confirm we would be there at the appointed hour. But when we arrived, we were told there was no record of our reservation on the printout. After the young lady spent a few minutes inside, she came back out and our group of six was seated at a table under a large canopy with a great view of the river. We were never told if our reservation had been located.

Service was slow, although the restaurant was not crowded on this Sunday evening, and the food was good and basic. I had the house special hamburger, while others sampled other typical American food on the menu. This is not fine food, by any stretch--nor does it pretend to be. It's just a very nice place to enjoy an evening meal a short walk from one of the must see places for visitors to New York City. We were not disappointed, and found the River House to be just what it purports to be: a place with good food and a great view of the Hudson River and its water traffic. We were even to hail two cabs within seconds after a three minute walk to the nearest busy street, a minor miracle in the big city.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick F, Manager at Merchants River House, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

We are glad you were able to swing by our place during your Manhattan trip! Sorry about the confusion around your reservation. It's great to hear we were able to accommodate your group.

It's our goal to offer diners a casual restaurant perfect for enjoying classic American fare and views of the Hudson. You made a solid choice with the hand-ground Merchant's Signature Burger, it's one of our most popular items. Did you friends like their meals?

We agree, hailing two cabs within minutes is a great feat in this city.

Hopefully you'll visit us again next time you're in town!

Til then,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 181 of 285 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

I went here for my birthday and overall it's a very average place when it comes to food. But, I must say I loved the restaurant itself because the view from the tables is gorgeous. It's located in battery park and you can see the water and part of the skyline and it's just gorgeous. Our waiter was very friendly and enthusiastic which was a major plus. It's a casual place, great for a date.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anastasiamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick F, Manager at Merchants River House, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Happy belated birthday! We're happy you chose us to help you celebrate the big day! It's great to hear your waiter was friendly and welcoming. We'll be sure to pass along that compliment.

Is there anything in particular that would have taken your dish from average to excellent? We're all ears!

Hope to see you again soon for date night.

Til then,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a spot right on the Hudson with great views of the river and the sights on the New Jersey side. That's all it has. The food is so-so and the service is awful. And, when they bring your entree while you are still eating your starter, then so-so food becomes cold and tasteless food.
Advice: make a reservation and ask for an outside table, order a drink and watch the sunset. When you get hungry, walk around the marina to PJ Clarke.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank arthshapiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick F, Manager at Merchants River House, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

We're glad to hear you enjoyed the views! Though we'd like to think we offer our customers more than just aesthetics.

We'd love to hear more about your experience so we can pinpoint where we can do better. Was there something specific about your dish that made it only so-so?

We apologize you felt the service was inadequate. We like to send out our entrees as soon as they're ready so our diners can start enjoying their meal. On our end, we'll work on pacing.

Our outside seating fills up fast so you are right about making a reservation. Hopefully the next time you're seated, enjoying your drink and the sunset, you'll also give our food another chance.

We look forward to your additional feedback,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Location is just great, in Battery park, facing The River. Calm and peaceful. Food is lower than acceptable, ( ceasar salad, with good romaine and very small pieces of chicken, probably from yesterday / bread from yesterday, absolutely no doubt...) and service is a catastrophy. Check the bill, no only the iced tea arrived when we already had finished our meal, but it was counted twice. A real pity for such a beautiful view.

Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Really beautiful setting. Food was good, service is excellent and fast and as I was told the cocktails are brilliant. Sunset over New Jersey was spectacular.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nursebridle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merchants River House also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Merchants River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing