We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding breakfast”
Review of The Bluebell Cafe

The Bluebell Cafe
Ranked #682 of 13,763 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: He Bluebell Cafe raises the bar on the midtown culinary scene. To help fill the gap in the area's dining options, the newest addition to Gramercy Park comes to us by the same acclaimed owners of Open Door Gastropub, The Paris Bar and Grill and Molly's Pub and Restaurant. Executive Chef Scott Hawley serves up gourmet offerings at affordable luxury prices. Offering American comfort food with a French country flare, the new eatery is an updated version of all your favorites, but classed up with an array of delectable menu options. The interesting variety of seasonal menu options, an eclectic selection of regional beer & wines, delicious home-baked desserts, and popular weekend brunch, make this new gem in Gramercy's culinary crown the newest hotspot for affordable decadence. Bluebell Cafe is open daily from 8am-11pm and serves weekend brunch from 8am-4pm. Reservations are accepted for dinner.
Spring, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
476 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Outstanding breakfast”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My wife an I love this place so much we walked a 1.5 miles just to eat here. The breakfast and service is top notch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    60
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing - slow and unfriendly service”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We ate here twice (breakfast) during our stay.
From the outside the restaurant looks really nice, step inside and you think 'great choice'. Well laid out, clean and lots of customers.
The thing that really lets this place down is the service.
The waiting time for service is long. If you ask for more coffee or tea the wait is really long.
Food is not served together at the same time - defeating the object of going out for breakfast as a group (there were only 4 of us). We thought this must have been a blip and as they were busy (it was New Years Eve), so we thought we'd go back again.
On the second occasion when the food arrived, it was stone cold (not nice on a cooked breakfast). When the waiter was informed, his shocking reply was 'it's not my fault'. Sure. We knew that - we were asking him to return it to the kitchen and provide a hot version.
So, he took the plates back to the kitchen - and returned a 15 mins later - with the same food on the same plate (complete with ketchup), which had been microwaved (and was now luke warm - still not hot).
Anyway, so we send the food back again - and after a lot of 'huffing' and 'puffing' and another 20 mins - we receive a hot fresh breakfast, which to be fair was nice enough.
To say sorry, they did deduct our second coffees from the bill, and provide some fruit and muffins whilst we waited for breakfast version 3.
It is such a shame that the service in this place lets itself down so badly, otherwise it would have been a great choice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Really nice breakfast place”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We ate here twice as it was very near our hotel (Marcel at Gramercy).
The food was great.

There was a wait of about 25 minutes for a table of 4 on a Sunday Morning.

All of us enjoyed our food. The omelettes were great, so were the pancakes and French toast!! If you like French toast make sure to order it, its really nice!

They also serve Barrys Irish tea which is nice for us Irish to have with our breakfast!!

The service was really good too!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel85Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“OK, nothing great”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Just an ordinary diner with good, but not great food. A little bland, but acceptable taste; service was fast enough and adequate. Short version: a good enough place for breakfast.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch: Maybe it could have been very good if it wasn't so busy!”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This place is very popular for Brunch and the wait on Sunday at 11:00 was a half hour but that didn't stop the line up out the door!

My Eggs Benedict with crab cakes and Bernaise sauce was good but could have been very good instead of just good if it had a little more sauce when it came out, although they quickly complied with my request for more sauce. Unfortunately my wife's egg was broken and should not have been brought out.

It was worth a try. The service was good, the staff friendly and I suspect would have been better if they weren't so busy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Unbongout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bluebell Cafe also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Bluebell Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing