We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Young, vibrant atmosphere and delicious food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Avenue Tavern

Park Avenue Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Park Avenue Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #523 of 13,488 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Corner of 39 St
Transit: 3 blocks from Grand Central Terminal: Metro North Subway Lines: 4,5,6,7 & Shuttle
Description: Park Avenue Tavern is the quintessential American bar and restaurant. Steps away from Grand Central Station, Park Avenue Tavern centers around a combination of classic New York City elegance and over the top hospitality. Busy street traffic and the centrally located address offer opportunities for a clientele that demand and expect more, and Park Avenue Tavern most certainly delivers. The island bar is the centerpiece of the main level with large corner windows offering amazing light and displaying the city passing by outside. Rich dark woods, stone walls, and copper trimmings combine old world décor with new age thinking. The eight booths along the main wall give a sense of privacy, while simultaneously providing a front row seat to the activity at the main bar. Our unique semi-private area is perfect place to host a cocktail party for twenty of your closest friends, where deep leather bound couches and sturdy barn wood tables add to the comfortable yet upscale surroundings. The Barrel Room at Park Avenue Tavern features Self-Serve Beer Taps, which are available by Reservation Only.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Young, vibrant atmosphere and delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great, young, vibrant bar scene. Wonderful drink menu and good selection of food. I can only attest to what I had which was a wonderful salad and steak, but both were delicious. The steak was cooked perfectly. Great location in midtown, east to find, and lots of fun! Noise can be a bit loud though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    146
    31
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect start”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I booked to eat our first meal in the US here before we left the UK. I wanted somewhere near our hotel on the way to the empire state building. This place was perfect. We had a very fresh tasting flatbread to start and then had the two different burgers. Very tasty. Washed down with a nice beer and glass of wine this was the perfect opening to our trip. Nice setting. Would definitely return if in the area again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CharleyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Biggish Restaurant with a focus on Ales/Bar atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Popped in for a meal with my wife and 19 year old son and we actually debated whether it is a Restaurant or a Bar that serves food. I suppose "Tavern" is a fair and apt description. We had steaks (excellent) and service was very efficient- very quick. Greeting at the door as we came in was friendly, chatty- wise crack type.
It is very much a bar- with some people there who were just drinkers - possibly after work at the office drinkers who were also watching the live sports on TV . Downstairs there is another bar- this time providing a self serve service linked to electronic measuring of the ales you pour- probably ok for office does etc- though it was empty when we went down and we did not use it.
If your into draught Ales perhaps with a swift meal then this Tavern is fine for you ; if you want a quiet meal in a cosy atmosphere then possibly there are better alternatives.
Its quite a big place with plenty of tables and a large bar area in the middle and its easy to see whats going on from the pavement outside. Very handy for Grand Central Station.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cagedavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely neighborhood spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Food is quite good and the service efficient at this restaurant that is a great neighborhood spot and also worth a trip on its own. A short walk also from the nearby Grand Hyatt. Soups, salads, sandwiches shine here

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Olinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
170 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great for an afterwork drink or nice dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Watched this flexible restaurant transform from a hopping afterwork bar scene into an upscale restaurant. The service and food were both very good. I enjoyed the lamb for dinner. Everyone in the party liked their food. The prices were excellent! Would be a great place for a trip to a bar or a nice dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wellington24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park Avenue Tavern also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Park Avenue Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing