We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and location”
Review of Lex Restaurant

Lex Restaurant
Ranked #4,133 of 13,619 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Description: At Lex Restaurant, we serve delicious American-Italian cuisine. Though we use white tablecloths and fine china, our atmosphere is homey and kid-friendly. Visit us to celebrate your next special occasion! We also cater.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
320 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent food and location”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Near Lincoln Center this restaurant is somewhat expensive but the food is excellent.Its been in this location forever and is always reliable. Also the noise level is normal so people can enjoy conversations as well as food.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Great Restaurant Again!”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

The Lex is a great place to go for a light lunch or dinner. The wait staff is friendly, lots of return customers, and a very welcoming atmosphere! The food is terrific and the wine is wonderful!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmcneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“small bistro alert, keep expectations in check”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

OK, this place is a good little find, but it's not more than you expect when you enter: modest size, modest menu, modest results.

Food was decent, nothing more.
Service was strange: waiter was hard to understand and seemed to like to mumble.

But hey, you get what you pay for, and in this case the price was just about right.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCEuropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good Place for Brunch near 92nd St. Y”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Four of us went for brunch after a Sunday morning event at the 92nd St. Y. Restaurant conveniently located practically across from the Y, which was a blessing, as we were all starving. Restaurant is typically long and narrow, but clean, bright, with an attentive Maitre D', linen tablecloths and napkins. Two of us had Cobb salads, 1 eggs Benedict, and 1 rigatoni with Mozzarella. Everyone pleased with his/her food. Hot food (even poached eggs) came piping hot. Salad greens were crisp and fresh; grilled chicken breast was moist; bacon crisp with not a drop of fat on it. Portions generous.
Wines, by the glass, were $10 - not cheap; not outrageous - but a very generous pour, larger than I remember anywhere else in Manhattan.
Generous bread basket, with warm, fresh bread, served with a bowl of virgin olive oil, or butter, if you ask (we did). Did not have dessert, or coffee.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fussbudget07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
1 review
“not all that the other reviews say.”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

the place is nice, small and tight and we sat at a table for 4.if it was crowed i would have been in trouble.. and i am not that big.crab cakes were very good.. not worth $16 for 2. but good.dinner, lamb, was soft but not the best i have ever had. chicken parm.was nice. very chessey.wine was very cold. server joe,was nice and pleasant.. but for a $21 tip and your customer dined for 40 minutes,which i ate for 20 minutes and conversated with my date for 20 minutes.. its not much to serve.gentleman at the door took our coats which was nice. low lighting is nice.person answering the telephone for reservations can use some improvement.overall experience.. this would not be my first choice.. maybe my 5th
brought dinner during a pre-fix price and felt like i ended up on th losing end at the $33 tax and tip.think you can do better.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tony e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lex Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Lex Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing