We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food good, but too empty in a big space, live music after 10:30pm”
Review of Rafina Restaurant - CLOSED

Rafina Restaurant
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 37th Street
Transit: Take 4, 5, 6, N, R, and 7 to Grand Central and the M42, M15, M34 bus.
Description: We are serving refined Mediterranean cuisine with Greek influences in an elegant and comfortable setting with additional patio seating in the Murray Hill area.
Athens Greece
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Food good, but too empty in a big space, live music after 10:30pm”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The food was good, but the ambiance was lacking. Next time, I will have dinner after 10 pm to enjoy the food and music when there are more people.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smartiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Decor”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Went here for dinner with a friend on a Tuesday. When we first walked in we were very impress by the place. It was huge, which is rare in the city. Not only that but it was clean, looked new, and overall just perfect for a Greek restaurant. The bar in the back looked very cool!
However, there was only one other table there the whole time we were there. While it meant our service was great, it is a little awkward to be the only ones in the restaurant, especially a big one. I'm really not sure why it wasn't busier than it was because the food was yummy.
We started the meal off with pita bread and oil. We then got 4 appetizer to split. Meatballs, sausages, white beans, and spanakopita. The meatballs and spanakopita were my favorites, while the white beans were a little bland. We ended the night with baklava, on the house. It was delicious!
Would definitely go back here again and recommend it to others. It would be a great date spot, a great spot for drinks, and a great spot for a group.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
879 reviews
743 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
“Solid Neighborhood Greek”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Rafina is that slightly out of the way secondary port for Athens, when you want to go to the islands and not put up with Piraeus. Rafina, the Restaurant, is also a little out of the way, way over on 1st Avenue and 37th Street. While not as pretty as some of the other better known Greek restaurants in town, the decor is handsome in a lean way, there is some outdoor seating along First Avenue, with angle views of the river, and a nice mellow country taberna feel with some fine taped Greek music playing in the background. The attractive wooden floors are ideal for their live music nights (Friday and Saturday), when there must be a lot of dancing and good times.

More importantly, the calamari, fish and lamb chops we ordered were all cooked to perfection. A sampler platter of home made Tzatziki, Taramosalata and Melitzanosalata were a splendid accompaniment to the very good warm pita bread. The cooked to order loukimades, a wonderful dessert, brought pleasant memories of northeastern Greece. There is a decent selection of Greek wines and attentive service.

The restaurant was scarily empty on an early Sunday evening in late August, but that might just be New Yorker's penchant for fleeing the city in summer.

We will definitely come back, and it will be hard to get past those beautiful lamb chops.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ulysses4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Gardner, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great greek party”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I love this place, I'm not greek but I really like the music, they have great band and two great singers at night and people just dance so happy that is impossible to stay on your seat, usually we have the fried calamari...delicious and the spanakopitakia (spinach with cheese pie),the owner, Dennis is always very nice with us, the staff is so friendly and the party can last all night long....

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lluvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
2 reviews
“Good Food - Lovely Restaurant”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I love to dine at Rafina, I love the atmosphere and the location the view of the water fountain is so relaxing. Our dining experience at Rafina was excellent, We started with a selection of apps; gigantes, octapodi, and a variety of cold spreads all wre tasty especially the taramosalata. For our entree I had the moussaka and it was so delicious, my friend had the Lavraki (whole striped bass) she loved it and said it was so fresh. The Greek red wine that our waiter chose was really good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rafina Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing