We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended by another restaurant”
Review of Ofrenda

Ofrenda
Reserve with OpenTable
Ofrenda is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,728 of 13,678 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: Christopher and West 10th Street
Transit: Subways: 1 (Christopher Street); A, B, C, D, E, F (West 4th Street)
Description: An Ofrenda, in Spanish, is an offering, a gift. At their cozy West Village space, owner Jorge Guzman and Chef Mario Hernandez offer their unique interpretation of classic Mexican cuisine with an innovative cocktail menu of tequila-based drinks. Named by NYLuxury as “one of the top ten restaurants in New York serving Latin food” and as “Top Tequila Bar in the US” by the editors of USA Today, this intimate and stylish cocina offers its guests a blend of passions. Jorge’s desire is to create a sexy and fun space to enjoy creative cocktails with the best of Latin cuisine. While Chef Mario’s dream is to craft dishes to showcase the indigenous ingredients of Mexico, the foods his ancestors enjoyed, and bring those flavors to a new generation. This team has joined forces to offer guests a unique dining experience. We look forward to having you.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Recommended by another restaurant”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We were booked to have brunch at a nearby restaurant with friends only to arrive and find that they were having mechanical issues in the kitchen. The bartender suggested we try Ofrenda and we are glad he made the recommendation. We arrived a few minutes before the were officially open but they let us in and started us with a round of delicious cocktails. The food was a bit slow coming out and they apologized profusely, but the quality of what we ate more than made up for it. And before we knew it they delivered a "round" of cocktails to us for the delay (totally not necessary and happily accepted). If you are looking for a taste "south of the border" I highly recommend you give this West Village restaurant a try.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robbwayfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    34
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“EVERY time we go we fall in love!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We always THINK about trying another place and never can seem to do it because when you find a place that is THAT good - why bother? Jorge and his team are amazing from drinks to apps to main dish to desserts to after drinker drinks... Hands down, the best. The flavor combos are so unique and delicious. The staff is awesome and full of knowledge about the menu and bar options. Summers are great when you can sit outside and then as the chill comes in winter it's always warm and cozy inside. Love love this place and can't wait for the new sister restaurant to open.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meleemel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Don't miss the $7.00 Happy Hour "small plates."”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We needed a quick bite before a set at Small's Jazz club a block away. Had just seen a Broadway show, and were in that odd hour.. around 6:30 for a set starting at 7:00. The doorman steered us to Ofrenda as a place that had small plates. As it turns out, we were just in time for the happy hour specials.

It was actually pretty crowded at 6:30, but we scored a deuce right away. Service was both prompt and friendly. Our water arrived immediately as we were seated and was refilled CONSTANTLY (even after we had finished.)

Small plated were $7. We ordered a queso fundido, a pulled pork torta and an order of carnita tacos. The corn tortillas were scrumptious by themselves. They were likely cooked in lard. Queso fundido was plentiful, and the chorizo was authentic but not TOO greasy. The torta (promised on a baguette, but actually served on a fresh Mexican roll had aside of VERY spicy BBQ sauce. the star, though were the Carnitas tacos. We eat carnitas all over, but these were perfectly seasoned, moist, and delectable. Three tacos came on the plate.

After sharing all these treats (along with a Mexican beer) the tab came to < $30 and we were pretty well sated and had plenty of time to catch the 7:00 set a block away..

I am from Philly and we have a ton of authentic (Puebla-style) taquerias here. Ofrenda was as good as the best, and better than most. Would definitely return next time we go to hear some Jazz at Smalls.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jan_klincewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
281 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
“Excellent very fast food”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Ofrenda is friendly, lively, wacky and has great food. We had two margaritas , guacamole, a pork taco and two mains plus two beers. We were completely full and ate/drank nothing else. It was our first experience of 'real' Mexican food and we approved. The downside was that we were out well within an hour and , at $120 excluding tip, it was pricey for simple food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank FoggMurphys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food in trendy atmosphere”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Walking around in West Village we saw the restaurant and decided to have a meal. The quality of the food and taste was outstanding. The califlower dish is truly excellent and the guacamole spicy and truly delicious. We had some very good Spanish wine. Staff is friendly and efficient.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Salzburger67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ofrenda also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Ofrenda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing