We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
  
Ways to Experience Welcome to Harlem
from $65.32
More Info
from $69.68
More Info
from $69.68
More Info
from $20.00
More Info
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveler rating
110
22
3
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
110
22
3
3
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 142 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2019 via mobile

Cheryl was an excellent tour guide. She answered our questions with ease and showed us 'parts of Harlem ' that was just the tip of what this borough has to offer. Will definitely come back and do more touring of Harlem in the future!!

1  Thank CageK456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2019 via mobile

Disappointing because I wanted to learn about the African-American history and experience in Harlem. Guide avoided engaging in any discussion of racism in US or answering questions about how African Americans generally feel about Harlem being developed by big corporations,for instance. The church she took us to on our Sunday tour was packed with tourists yet only had one singer, backed by three others, not a gospel choir. For our Harlem “brunch” we were taken to an Asian all-you can-eat restaurant, hardly representative of Harlem food. Nothing

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank NYCTillieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2019 via mobile

We spent two hours listening to a great set. The Church was bright and airy and the quality of music fabulous. Great vibe and something a little different from the norm in NYC.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank flipflop138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2019 via mobile

Our guide was a wonderful, warm woman who was very professional. She made sure each of us were happy, where we wanted to be and knew when we could get food, drink or just listen to the music.

The two locations she took us to were very local and were places we were unlikely to have stumbled across. The first place was great and we really enjoyed it but as we started the evening at 6pm in summer it was still full daylight and felt like a Sunday afternoon jazz bar.

The second place was busy and really pumping. We saw about 5 people sit in and apparently there were many more lined up. With the diversity of talent and the ability to play of each other the energy kept getting higher. Was sad to leave, and in all honesty we could of stayed, but we all (there were only 3 in the group) had early morning commitments.

In between the clubs we got some fantastic oral history of Harlem and the local music, theatre and civil rights scene along with a concise history of the churches we passed. They all seemed to be very intertwined.

Highly recommend this evening and apparently the Thursday evening is different again so worth doing both

1  Thank NeridaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2019

The show was incredible amazing. Every visitor in New York City should come to see and enjoy this jazz show.

Date of experience: July 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Josué M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews