We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
  
Ways to Experience Welcome to Harlem
from $65.32
More Info
from $69.68
More Info
from $69.68
More Info
from $20.00
More Info
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveler rating
110
22
3
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
110
22
3
3
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 142 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2016

Can't say enough good things about the private tour of Harlem Carolyn Johnson gave my wife, our teenagers and I. She is a fantastic guide and true lover of Harlem. She even managed to swing us a private backstage visit at the Apollo. Harlem is such a cool - and beautiful - part of NYC. Go see it with Carolyn.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2016

I visited New York with my three teenagers, and this was our outing on our first day. What a way to start our trip! Our guide was caught in traffic that morning, so one of the other women generously gave us our tour, and Carolyn did another tour of the highlights after the jazz. She was a delightful and knowledgeable tour guide and I am so thankful that she was able to give us the time. The jazz--knocked our socks off! We heard David Murray in a comfortable little church in the neighborhood, very welcoming, comfortable and he and his team (including his son on guitar) rocked!!!

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank traveller123452016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2016

On 22nd May we were on Welcome to Harlem Tour in Harlem - Gospel Brunch. Tour leader was Carolyn. We walked from 9 to 11.00 and heard interesting stories and history of Harlem. After that all went wrong. We tried to get in to Gospel Church - to our surprise and also Carolyn's - we didn't get in to the church. After queuing for half an hour without any information in hot sun, we got in to the corridor with no vision to the actual church and the gospel singing. There we were allowed to sit for half an hour and were "kicked" out. "Out you go" - and so we went.
How can this be a surprise to a professional tour leader. Women's day - so?!
After that we went to a mexican restaurant Sexy taco, dirty money. No brunch. Only one portion each - had to pay for drinks - half price for one. Not very professional. The tour was not cheap, costed 75,84 in euros. Quality price ratio not too good.
No apologies, no money back. I don't recommend this, say the case bad luck or unprofessionalism - my first review with only one star because the group of us feel cheated.

Date of experience: May 2016
2  Thank lindb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn J, Owner at Welcome to Harlem, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2017

1. First it states that we did not get into the church. NOT TRUE – It was Women’s Day at the church and we had to wait like all the other guest to be seated. They seated after waiting about 20 minutes. The group only stays at the church for one hour. No one was told Out you go! For her to say that we did not get an explain if total false. She said in the review that I was “Wowen’s Day – So?”
2. The meal at the restaurant, guest are allowed to order anything off the menu, this one portion think makes no sense whatsoever and brunch is not some kind of fixed menu. We pay for soda, juice and sparkling water. If guest choose to have beer or wine will do pay ½ the cost of the first item. The rest is on them. They all had two beers each.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2016

Howard Johnson and friends were playing . I cannot think of a better way to spend a Tuesday afternoon and you cannot beat this price for live jazz and talk a bit with the musicians.This church was the perfect setting so come on out and enjoy Harlem and her musicians. terrific!

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank mamita646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2016

Most importantly the music was fantastic: we got to hear Kelvyn Bell Quartet who blew our minds in part. The church is a very special setting for this kind of event, and well organized. Entire area and neighborhood were really fun, interesting and different for us to tour. Truely hope this continues and picks up in volume for future visits.

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank r0n5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews