We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
New York City

“OUTSTANDING meal, slightly uneven service”
Review of Portale Restaurant

Portale Restaurant
Ranked #4,998 of 15,838 Restaurants in New York City
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 20, 2020 via mobile

Had a 10:15p reservation on a Friday. Restaurant was buzzing on arrival and the vibe was great. Chic atmosphere with great energy and yet did not have trouble hearing conversations at our table.

Small, appealing menu with a few table snacks and other appetizers, a handful of pastas as first courses, and mains (mostly proteins). One of those menus where you wanted everything!

We shared first courses and desserts and ordered our own entrees. All of the food was spectacularly good. Meatball slides were rich. The cavatelli do ricotta was great--spicy attabbiata was paired well with a cilantro pesto. Risotto with mushrooms was earthy, bit spinach added some freshness. And a special pasta with truffles was rich and magical. Mains equally pleased--duck was perfectly seated and chicken was moist and flavorful (although the blue corn polenta cake was a bit of a miss). A side of mushrooms was made really interesting with the addition of anchovies. Dessert was great; the twist on tiramisu was both gorgeous and yummy!

Service was mixed. Our server was bubbly but as the meal continued, the service became less attentive. Our server's shift must have ended, because she disappeared and was replaced--however, this was not formally communicated, which made it odd. And when we ordered wine the server insisted (despite is knowing what we wanted) that we place the order with the sommelier "because that will be easier and she will serve it.". The sommelier did serve the wine...and then, annoyingly, the bottle sat and no one refilled glasses. Self-service refills were fine but a contrast to the insistence we deal with the sommelier for quality of service.

Still, all in all, an excellent experience and will definitely return.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank brmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2020

Dinner for two a couple of days ago. The sommelier saw us struggling with the wine selections and mercifully approached our table and reassured us that we would enjoy one of the lesser priced wines. And, of course, it was delicious. I am not proud to admit that we are foodies that travel great distances for food. In this case it was three hours. We were not disappointed. Every bite was delicious. We fasted for 24 hours!!, ran six miles and then were able to order and enjoy the bread basket, meatball sliders, four pasta dishes, lamb chop special and the olive oil cake for dessert!! Let me just say that we did not leave as much as a morsel on our plates. The pastas were ALL superb. You could tell that every detail was carefully considered and well executed. The lamb special was perfect and melted in your mouth. And the olive oil cake was delicious and not at all heavy. Micheal, our server, was extremely professional, friendly, attentive and allowed us to enjoy our dishes at a perfect pace. Congratulations to all for creating such a smoothly running restaurant in such a short period of time. We eagerly look forward to our next visit.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pianomandds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2019

I had an early dinner date at Portale with a friend who was more than half an hour late in arriving. The staff did not seem troubled by the delay, and I enjoyed an excellent gin martini while I waited. The food was very tasty, but some portions were small; my friend's tiramisu was quite tiny., and her risotto wasnt huge either. I had maiale, a generous portion, though it was all alone on the plate. (I had already consumed my side order of cauliflower.). What really impressed me about Portale was not the food so much as the kind attentiveness of the staff--we had dealings with 5 or 6 of them, including a kind hostess who helped my friend zip up her coat! My summary: the service is outstanding, the martini is excellent, the food is good but be ready to order both primi and secundi.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janet1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portale Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Portale Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing