We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (991)
Filter reviews
991 results
Traveler rating
469
317
108
45
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
469
317
108
45
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews skyline room small balcony new york balcony door times square brick wall boutique hotel grand central station small hotel great boutique rain shower door staff fifth avenue junior suite higher floor rockefeller center midtown manhattan
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 991 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2017

We had really nice stay there. Our first night was in Kings room with balcony. Room was clean and nice, we did not mind the balcony facing the wall of other building, it was private. The only thing I would complain was a noisy generators on the roof at the next building, we could hear it even with closed windows. Two other nights we spent in Skyline Junior, room was very spacious and we had nice balcony with the view of the city, that we enjoyed in the evening. Boys downstairs (at the reception and in doors) were very friendly and helpful. Hotel is in a great position for New York City walks. We would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: September 2017
Thank Iva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Front Office Supervisor at The Gotham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2017

Hello Iva,

It is great that you were able to experience two of our room types. I am glad that your stay with us was pleasant, we are always striving to be the very best for our guests. We are so close to many things including clothing stores, Bryant Park, Rockefeller center, the beautiful St. Patricks Cathedral, and Times Square. Anything farther is only a short train ride away. Please let me know when you plan to stay with us again so I can give you the best possible deal. Thank you!

Warm regards,
Michelle & The Gotham Hotel Team
(212) - 490 - 8500
Michelle@TheGothamHotelNY.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017

The location was the best - just off 5th avenue - great for shopping and entertainment and eating. The staff were very friendly and did everything to make our stay a comfortable one. We were in and out of the hotel many times a day due to its convenient location. Will definitely come back!!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank naz652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Front Office Supervisor at The Gotham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Hello naz652,

Thank you for your positive review! We're glad you were able to take advantage of our location. With so much to do being minutes away, like Times Square and Rockefeller Center, our guests are never bored! Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay a full five stars! Feel free to call us directly and we will try our best to accommodate all your needs.

Warm regards,
Michelle & The Gotham Hotel Team
(212) - 490 - 8500
Michelle@TheGothamHotelNY.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017 via mobile

The hotel is a lovely clean and very friendly hotel. From Michelle and the gentleman whos name i cant remember sorry on the front desk to the door staff who helped with taxis directions and places to eat to the friendly house keeping people i couldnt say a bad word about any of them. We stopped in room 161 on the front of the building with a balcony. The room was very spacious clean and the omg comfy as hell. Only downer there is construction work ongoing on the building across but if you like being woken up at 4am every morning then fine but please please PLEASE dont let this put you off booking this hotel we would go back in a heartbeat just request a room round the back not as good views though. It is ideally situated for site seeing not in a busy part but Times Square 10 mins Central Park 15 mins and Macy's for the shoppers 15 mins away also. Sorry never thought to take photo of room just view from our balcony.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank stevany2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Front Office Supervisor at The Gotham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Great to hear from you again Stevan and thank you very much for your informative and honest review! I am thrilled to hear that your overall experience was positive. Unfortunately we have no control over the construction, however, we do have ear plugs available upon request. You are also able to request a room facing the back on your next stay with us and we will do our very best to accommodate. These back facing rooms have balconies as well. I am glad that did not stop you from having a great time at Gotham! Hoping to have you as our guest again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Michelle & The Gotham Hotel Team
(212) - 490 - 8500
Michelle@TheGothamHotelNY.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017 via mobile

After reading reviews from others we were looking forward to our stay at The Gotham Hotel, however we had to high expectations that were not met. The location is great to see NY for the first time, few minutes away from Times Square. If you can bear a little noise from the city's hustle and bustle + AC.

The guys working in the lobby often greeted us, but the door clerks was often taken by a surprise and was more into checking their phone or talking to the receptionists than opening the door. In our week at the hotel they were to slow with the cleaning of the rooms, one day it was not done before we arrived at our room 5.30PM. The phone didn't work, all do we told them, they never fixed it.. Keeping in mind that you had to call for them to refill the coffee, you can imagine our frustration with jet lag and in need for coffee..

The beds are comfortable, the towels are nice and fluffy and good toiletries from MB. Our stay was ok, but we will look for another place next time.

Ops! If you have a late departing flight they can grant you late check out, you haft to call 7-8AM the day of departing and it's first come first serve - We were lucky and got granted late check out at 12:30 PM, regular check out is 12 - what a joke!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank erikw884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017

Great Stay! The staff was very helpful, the bed super comfy and I loved the view from my room. The location is great for us so we were in the center of everything. Would definitely come back next year.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Front Office Supervisor at The Gotham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2017

Hello Andrea L,

Thank you for your review the review! You're correct! We are just a short walk from Times Square, Rockefeller Center, & Bryant Park. I hope you were also able to take advantage of our communal terraces from the 19th through 23rd floor, which face directly on the street side! Please make sure to contact us directly on your next trip, and we'll accommodate with the best available offers!

Warm regards,
Michelle & The Gotham Hotel Team
(212) - 490 - 8500
Michelle@TheGothamHotelNY.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews