We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (986)
Filter reviews
986 results
Traveler rating
466
316
108
45
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
316
108
45
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews skyline room small balcony balcony door new york times square brick wall boutique hotel grand central station small hotel great boutique rain shower door staff fifth avenue junior suite higher floor rockefeller center midtown manhattan
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 986 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2017

I loved the hotel, it was in a great area of the city, had a wonderful restaurant in it, clean, neat, gracious staff. i will definitely be back when i want to stay over in the city, i am a NYer so this was a treat to not have to get back home after seeing a show.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mecardillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Front Office Supervisor at The Gotham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2017

Dear Mecardillo,

As a fellow Nyer, I can agree that it is always good to treat yourself and Gotham is the hotel to make it worthwhile! I am so happy to hear that your experience was great. Thank you so much for your review. We are looking forward to your return!

Michelle & The Gotham Hotel Team
(212) - 490 - 8500
Michelle@TheGothamHotelNY.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile

This hotel is nice, it's clean the staff are friendly, however there was nothing too special. We stayed for 2 nights, in 2 different rooms (the balcony door on the first room was broken so we couldn't get out). It is worth noting that the balcony on both these rooms was at the back, with the not unpleasant, but also not spectacular view of a brick wall. Following our complaint of the first room our second room was located on a higher floor and these did have a public balcony to the front which was very pleasant, it would have been nice to know about these communal balconies sooner. Generally a clean and fairly well appointed place.

Date of stay: September 2017
1  Thank SarahH6269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Front Office Supervisor at The Gotham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2017

Dear Sarah H,

I apologize for the balcony door inconvenience. I am glad we were able to move you to a room that is to your liking on your second night and that you were able to experience our public balconies. The back facing rooms come with their own advantages like being on the quiet side, away from the New York noise and having more spacious terraces. We would love to have you return so we can give you a super special experience. Please give us a call so we can make it happen! Thanks so much for your feedback.

Michelle & The Gotham Hotel Team
(212) - 490 - 8500
Michelle@TheGothamHotelNY.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017

We stayed at this hotel less than a year ago. We came back last week and the staff welcomed us at the door and helped us with the restaurant choice for the evening.
The check-in was quick and the room was clean with free Nespresso coffee machine!
I would definitely come back again! Can't beat the location and terraces.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank alesaba82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Front Office Supervisor at The Gotham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2017

Dear Alesaba82,

We are so glad to hear that Gotham is your 'go to' hotel. Thanks so much for your positive review. You are absolutely right about our location and terraces. Being located in the middle of the city, with easy access and transportation to many locations, is very convenient. The terraces is what seals the deal, with almost every room having a personal terrace and public terraces as well on the 19th-23rd floors. We hope to have you again for your next stay in the city.

Warm regards,
Michelle & The Gotham Hotel Team
(212) - 490 - 8500
Michelle@TheGothamHotelNY.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017

Gotham is ideally located in the heart of Manhattan, Times Square / Chrysler / Empire State Building are only a short walk away. The hotel is relatively small for New York, with a steak house / bar at the back. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. Only complaints were the WiFi which only really worked in the reception area and not in the bedroom. The aircon was also noisy but as we didn't use it much that wasn't really an issue. The rooms were fine, clean and pretty basic but sufficient for our needs.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017

When i first walked into the hotel i noticed it was much smaller than i expected. Andrew who helped me at the front desk was very friendly and got me my room quickly. We had the skyline room which came with a balcony, and the view of midtown was just amazing. The amenities were also great. The room came with a stocked mini fridge and was full of snacks from Dean&Deluca!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JoeyGruyere23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Front Office Supervisor at The Gotham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2017

Thank you for your review Joey! Gotham Hotel might appear small upon walking in, however, we have some of the most spacious rooms in the city with balconies in almost every room. I am glad you had the chance to enjoy our skyline room with an amazing view of midtown and our mini fridge stocked with water, beer, liquors, and sodas. The coffee in the room is complimentary for all of our guests! On your next visit, be sure to take advantage of our complimentary access to Equinox. We hope to see you very soon!

Michelle & The Gotham Hotel Team
(212) - 490 - 8500
Michelle@TheGothamHotelNY.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews