We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (986)
Filter reviews
986 results
Traveler rating
466
316
108
45
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
316
108
45
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews skyline room small balcony balcony door new york times square brick wall boutique hotel grand central station small hotel great boutique rain shower door staff fifth avenue junior suite higher floor rockefeller center midtown manhattan
Filter
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 986 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at The Gotham for 8 nights for our anniversary. We had travelled from Australia and had to check in quite late. The reception had a bottle of wine sent up to our room to congratulate us for our anniversary! So thoughtful! The staff are very lovely and friendly, the rooms are very modern and clean and the bed was the most comfiest bed I have ever slept on! Thank you for making our first trip to NYC so enjoyable and memorable.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank mchua91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew Z, Guest Service Agent at The Gotham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2017

Thank you Mchua91!

It was an absolute pleasure to have you and your partner spend your anniversary here at the Gotham! We are also delighted to hear that your celebration was spent in an enjoyable way. Absolutely, we hope you were able to take advantage of one of our newly renovated rooms with hard wood flooring! It is always enticing to hear that our guest's enjoy our new mattresses as well. Don't forgot about our Nespresso coffee machines that are upon request. Thank you again Mchua91!

We hope to see you here on your next trip!

Enroll to Guestbook, our rewards program, you would be able to get 10% cash back on your total stay, next time you come!

Warm regards,
Andrew & The Gotham Hotel Team
(212) - 490 - 8500
Andrew@thegothamhotelny.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2017

This hotel met and exceeded my expectations. The staff was very friendly and helpful throughout our entire trip. It was a long weekend trip for my daughters 15th birthday. The hotel is located right in the heart of everything you could possibly want to do. Time square is just 3 blocks from here. The room was very spacious for 4 people and very clean.You just need to ask for something and it is brought right up to you. I would defiantly stay here again I highly recommend this hotel. I am planning my next trip to The Gotham.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MyrtleTurtle61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew Z, Guest Service Agent at The Gotham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2017

Hello MyrtleTurtle61,

It is a pleasure to hear that you had a delightful stay! Since we are a family owned and operated boutique hotel, we are at an unbeatable location near Times Square, Theater District, Central Park, and many more main attractions! Don't forget that there is complimentary access to Equinox fitness center that operates during the weekdays only. We will also have newly renovated rooms with hard wood flooring! Please don't hesitate to contact me directly for future reservations MyrtleTurtle61!

Enroll to Guestbook, our rewards program, you would be able to get 10% cash back on your total stay, next time you come!

Warm regards,
Andrew & The Gotham Hotel Team
(212) - 490 - 8500
Andrew@thegothamhotelny.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2017

After over 30 hours of flight delays, lost gate-checked bags, and frigid NYC wind and weather, the warmest part of our trip was being greeted and taken care of by Mustafa and the crew when we checked into The Gotham Hotel.

We booked through Hotels Tonight only knowing the property by it's location and few great pictures in the ap. I called before arrival asking about parking options. Boom! 100% perfect instructions and the process went perfectly. When we arrived at the hotel, a young man welcomed us to the Gotham, held the door for us while we dragged our tired bodies over the threshold to the front desk. Immediately, Mustafa was on it - ensuring the best room he had available in our range was ready for us. He gave great sights-to-see advice when we asked. Whipped out a map and started circling must-sees.

When we got to the room, we were pleasantly surprised by how bit it was! The hotel we stayed at the night before was half its size. Spacious, comfortable and clean! The bathroom was gorgeous!

When we left for dinner, we asked Mustafa for a couple extra large towels and pillows to be delivered. Yep, they were! When we got back from dinner, we complained about the price of bottled water and soda at the neighborhood Walgreens (captive audience I supposed, near Times Square). Boom, comped! He gifted us a Coke and the large bottle of water! What a nice guy!

The next morning, when we were getting ready to check out, I was bummed that we wouldn't see him. I wanted to give him a tip for taking such good care of us. That's what we travelers are supposed to do, right? Well, much to my surprise, he was at the front desk! I reached out my hand with money in it, and he put up his in resistance. He put one on his heart and said he was honored to have had the opportunity (or at least that's how I remember it). I was grateful to know there were still decent people out there being kind because it was the right thing to do, and not just for the all mighty dollar.

Thank you Mustafa! Thank you Gotham and crew we didn't interact with. We will definitely be back next time we are in town.

Warmest,
Amy & Linn
from the other Windy City, Chicago

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 979amys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew Z, Guest Service Agent at The Gotham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2017

Thank you for the spectacular review Amy & Linn!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. While we regret your negative experience upon arriving in New York City, we are always more than happy to take opportunities such as these to ensure that all of our guests have a truly memorable experience. Mustafa was ecstatic when he saw your review and remembers you well. As always, it is our absolute pleasure to ensure that every day of your day surpasses all expectations.

Enroll to Guestbook, our rewards program, you would be able to get 10% cash back on your total stay, next time you come!

Warm regards,
Andrew & The Gotham Hotel Team
(212) - 490 - 8500
Andrew@thegothamhotelny.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2017

On top of the fact that there it is a great location in the core of NYC, the rooms are clean and spacious. This small hotel is very welcoming and the staff is always ready to make your stay a little big more comfortable. I would like to underline the work of Mustafa, Dwayne and a special thanks to Eldis. Eldis has always making sure that our day has gone well and making sure that we would enjoy our evening. He went beyond the hello & goodbye that is to be expected from the reception. It shows that he actually cares about the guests of the Gotham Hotel and wants us to keep a positive image of our stay.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gsotelo1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew Z, Guest Service Agent at The Gotham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2017

Thank you for the spectacular five star review, gsotelo1993!

Our guest service agents will surely be in awe and thankful for the mention! I am very glad you were able to take notice of our staff members as they work hard to be able to individually assist our guests and leave a notable impression! You are absolutely correct! Since we are one of the very few family business operated hotels in Midtown, our location is unbeatable being a short walk from Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Bryant Park, and even Grand Central Terminal. Don't forget to book through us directly to stay updated with our daily promotions and steals for the upcoming seasons!

Hope to see you back again!

Enroll to Guestbook, our rewards program, you would be able to get 10% cash back on your total stay, next time you come!

Warm regards,
Andrew & The Gotham Hotel Team
(212) - 490 - 8500
Andrew@thegothamhotelny.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2017 via mobile

The service and desk people was super nice and very helpful. Especially rob the door man, very kind and very helpful. It was in a great area, very easy to walk to the best destinations New York has to offer.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank jbets7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew Z, Guest Service Agent at The Gotham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2017

Hello jbets7!

It is an honor to hear that we have reached your standards of hospitality! Our team does very work hard to accommodate each and every individual guest. Since we are so close to Times Square, Rockefeller Center, and the Theater District, our guest service agents are here to reccommend great places for first timers in New York! Don't forget that the hotel is affiliated with Equinox Club, a fitness center that is open only on the weekdays, we offer complimentary access to all of our guests. We also have a Nespresso machine where we are able to deliver to your room upon request. Thank you, and we hope to see soon!

Enroll to Guestbook, our rewards program, you would be able to get 10% cash back on your total stay, next time you come!

Warm regards,
Andrew & The Gotham Hotel Team
(212) - 490 - 8500
Andrew@thegothamhotelny.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews