We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gotham Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gotham Hotel
Ranked #243 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed here for 16 nights and enjoyed my stay. Got an emediate upgrade to a room om the 22nd floor which was lovley, quiet and spacious. The staff were great especially the doormen and Rey especially.
Would defintley recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S, Manager at The Gotham Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your recognition of Rey and our entire team. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    217
    69
    25
    24
See reviews for
65
306
44
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Linkoping, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Just got back from spending 7 nights at the Gotham hotel. Are we are so happy about everything. The room was very clean and big, the bed was wonderful after a hole day of walking. The staff is so helpful and kind. The location is perfect. This was our first trip to NY and when we come back we will stay at this hotel. LOVE IT !

Room Tip: We asked for a room against the 46th street, that was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S, Manager at The Gotham Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your review and wonderful comments! We are so glad you decided to stay at The Gotham Hotel and even more pleased that you had so much fun with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Did not book this hotel based on location (just reviews and price) but couldn't really have been better. Right near Times Square, Broadway, 5th Avenue.. a great base to walk around Manhattan. Excellent customer service. Modern, clean rooms. Very comfy beds and powerful shower. Glad they provided a hairdryer as my UK one worked rubbish (due to voltage differences). Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xamykx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S, Director of Sales at The Gotham Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Gotham Hotel, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our location, cleanliness, amenities we provide to our guests and excellent customer service. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional customer service and we are proud that we fullfilled our goal during your stay. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

But of their fantastic customer service! I recently had a situation where my reservation was not cancelled properly and reached out to the Director of Sales, Mike, who took care of me. I appreciate their patience and great customer service. And as always, LOVE the hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Just got back from spending 6 nights at the Gotham. Can't wait to stay there again

The location is perfect for all tourist activities and walking distance to Times Square, Rockefeller centre, Empire State and Central Park.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brfcstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

This room was gotten on day of traveling and we got it through Hotels tonight. It was modern and clean. The bed was comfy but the sheets were very course. Almost scratchy. We were given a complimentary glass of wine which we exchanged for beer. The bathrooms were modern and a nice size shower. I would definitely recommend but try to get discounted.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BootsandScoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 5 night stay at The Gotham in New York...we had a room at the back of the building, which meant no view, but it was quieter than being at the front due to construction and normal city noise in the morning. The bed was fantastic...luxurious king-size bed that was like sleeping on a cloud. Had drinks and 1 dinner at the restaurant downstairs, Tenpenny, and thoroughly enjoyed both. As mentioned in many other reviews, this hotel is located close to Time Square, Rockafeller Plaza, shopping along 5th Ave and subway stations, including Grand Central. All of the staff were pleasant and helpful. We would definitely stay here on future trips to NYC.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#102 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,496 reviews
Midtown
The Mansfield
The Mansfield
#328 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,651 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#213 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
#95 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,785 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#155 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Midtown
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Times Square
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#74 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gotham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gotham Hotel

Property: The Gotham Hotel
Address: 16 E 46th St, Between Fifth and Madison Avenues, New York City, NY 10017-2471
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gotham Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of Gotham Hotel’s 66 unique guestrooms offers style and comfort. The guestrooms are luxurious and stylish with European touches in an elegant and pragmatic manner. These spacious rooms feature distinctive terraces, loft-like ceilings, dynamic windows, vast bathrooms featuring Italian glass mosaic tile, workspace/desk, lavish linens, generous closets, custom accessories, and thoughtful amenities. Come stay in luxury and style with guestrooms that feature a balcony or large terrace encompassing a range of views and inspiring unlimited possibilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Gotham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing