We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location & price”
Review of The Gotham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gotham Hotel
Ranked #222 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Perfect location & price”
Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

The Gotham Hotel @ 46th st. between Madison & 5th Ave., is perfect when exiting Grand Central Station, by the Madison Ave / 45th St underground walkway. It is an easy walk to MOMA, Radio City, Rockefeller Center, even to Central Park, which is an easy 14 block walk on a nice NYC day.
This new hotel has very clean, well appointed, comfotable rooms with a small walk out balcony, floors 2-9' facing 47th. Upper floors have walk out terrace. Our queen size bedroom on the 9th floor for $227, with tax, was perfect for our needs and very reasonable compared to other NYC hotels. A glass of wine is offered upon arrival in the very small lobby while the very friendly staff checks you in in their small office.

I would stay there again.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank retireandtravelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    253
    78
    38
    31
See reviews for
86
385
53
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed at the Gotham this weekend--wonderful stay! We used a Living Social deal and were very happy with it. The doorman magically appeared upon our arrival, and we were greeted with glasses of wine while waiting to check in. It is a little unusual to be seated on a couch while you're being checked in; there's no "front desk." The room was large and the bed was amazing! Not a big fan of the "rain" shower though, but that's my personal issue. TV had hundreds of channels, including HBO. Wi-fi was free. Had a continental breakfast both days and it was satisfactory. As good as the hotel is, the best part is the location! 1.2 mile walk from Penn Station and a 10 minute walk from Times Square. Really enjoyed the Gotham!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rktmaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Really enjoyed stay at the Gotham, it was my first time there and will go back. Convenient for mid-town and the beds are very comfortable. My only negative was the front of house staff changed daily and therefore there was no consistency in service - other than that - all good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newsy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
México D.F.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We found the hotel through bookings.com and where a little nervous about staying in a place we hadn't heard of before. Most of the reviews were great but there weren't that many which ranked it a bit lower than our other options. We loved it. The location is perfect, the rooms are large, very clean, comfortable and well decorated. Our private terrace didn't have much of a view but we shared another larger terrace with the only other room on our floor and it was great. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the service very good and they have nice details like wine and fruit. It is a different experience from staying in a large glitzy hotel. We would happily return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank viajero6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

The room was comfortable, the bed was great and everything was clean. The rain shower was handicap friendly and I had no problem with the doorway or elevators for my mobility scooter.z and although the balcony did not have a view it still added to the visit. The staff was amazing and helped in all aspects of our stay. Loved the complimentary fresh fruit and welcoming wine. Delish! It was the outstanding staff who made our four day visit so pleasant. My sister and I give the Gotham a thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DawnM1591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

The Gotham Hotel is a precious jewel in the crazy crown of NYC hotels. It must be said at the beginning, I am very particular when it comes to choosing a hotel and have stayed at some of the nicest hotels in the city in the past. Common areas were always nice, but rooms were small or worn or worse. (I always throw the bedspead immediately off the bed because one can never be sure if they are laundered.)

From the moment I called to inquire about a room, I was made to feel very special- a rare commodity in NYC lodging. Chet listened patiently to my request, answered my questions thoughtfully and truly seemed to care that my needs were met. He had a warm smile in his voice that was evident and his enthusiasm made me look forward, even more, to my stay at the Gotham Hotel on St. Patrick's Day weekend.

Though the day was gray, wet and misty, we were warmly greeted by a gracious doorman. He offered us a glass of water or wine and we sat for a few short minutes while he went off to check us in. He ushered us to our room, gave us an overview of the hotel and offered his services should we need anything.

Our skyline room was truly stellar! First of all, it was immaculate. The fresh flowers on the nightstand and coffee table and the cloud soft down comforter and sheets were just the beginning. (No question as to hygiene!) The mini-bar was well stocked and a cross selection of glassware was available to suit one's libation tastes. The bathroom gleamed and came outfitted with nice toiletries, blow dryer and pedestal magnifying make-up mirror- a great touch for someone like me who applies makeup in natural light. The flat screen television, iPod docking station and free and easy Internet connection were put to very good use during our stay. The closet housed plush bathrobes and, had we needed them, umbrellas. We loved sitting on the private balcony and watching the activity on 46 Street, Fifth and Madison Avenues while enjoying our wine before dinner. The turn down service with fresh oranges was a most elegant touch.

The location was perfect, too. In the same block, we found Tom Collichio's 'wichcraft sandwich shop, a quaint Mexican restaurant and a charming coffee house. We walked to Rockefeller Plaza, St. Patrick's Cathedral and Times Square. A short cab ride to and from Anthony Bourdain's Brassiere Las Halles on Park Avenue was a must for us. We didn't have time to take in a play, but they are also a quick cab ride away. We enjoyed a great continental breakfast offered at the hotel's intimate restaurant/bar, Ten Penny. Late Saturday evening we ordered a cheeseburger and chips from room service that was out of this world and was delivered within 15 minutes.

The entire staff could not have been more cordial or accommodating. Whether hailing a cab for us or storing our luggage for a bit post check-out, it was clear to us that gracious service are the watchwords at the Gotham Hotel and they take their guest's comfort most seriously. As note, we were visited by some NYPD friends after the parade and they were awed at the size, comfort and understated elegance of the hotel. The Gotham has elevated the modernist boutique hotel bar several notches!

In short, we felt as if we had "a place in the city" as opposed to a "hotel room." Sincere thanks goes out to the proprietor, manager Anna, Chet and staff for making our stay most enjoyable. I will NEVER stay anywhere in the city but the Gotham Hotel and am recommending to my friends with discerning tastes.

Looking forward with pleasure to the next visit!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank h20maid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

The hotel is on a brilliant location and the staff are uber-friendly. We were greeted with a nonchalant 'We've got you booked for one night, correct?' which was not what we were expecting after claiming one of our lost luggage at JFK but this was soon sorted. Given a room at the back of the hotel with view over a high-rise building and smelly restaurant fumes but very soon changed to a room on the front which was much more pleasant. The minibar items in the room were way too expensive and it could have had a small kettle for tea and coffee given its rating but over in all, a great hotel, comfortable bedding, exceptional spacing and very quiet considering it's very central. Would return!

Room Tip: Insist on a room at the front of the hotel. Worth the small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeMalteser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#129 of 468 in New York City
127 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#76 of 468 in New York City
701 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#210 of 468 in New York City
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#62 of 468 in New York City
1,355 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#106 of 468 in New York City
1,779 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#134 of 468 in New York City
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gotham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gotham Hotel

Property: The Gotham Hotel
Address: 16 E 46th St, Between Fifth Ave and Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10017-2471
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gotham Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of Gotham Hotel’s 66 unique guestrooms offers style and comfort. The guestrooms are luxurious and stylish with European touches in an elegant and pragmatic manner. These spacious rooms feature distinctive terraces, loft-like ceilings, dynamic windows, vast bathrooms featuring Italian glass mosaic tile, work-space/desk, lavish linens, generous closets, custom accessories, and thoughtful amenities. Come stay in luxury and style with guestrooms that feature a balcony or large terrace encompassing a range of views and inspiring unlimited possibilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelPower, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Gotham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing