We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let's Get Real Here....”
Review of The Gotham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gotham Hotel
Ranked #199 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Let's Get Real Here....”
Reviewed March 13, 2011

The hotel is clean and new looking because . . . its new. They made a lot of a narrow building footprint, but let's be clear. There is no pool. No spa. No gym. No activity room for kids. No views (front rooms look out at an unattractive office bldg and the rear views are of . . . the back of an unattractive building). No common areas period, except for a tiny lobby area and an ok bar/restaurant behind the lobby and the hallway outside your room. That, plus your room, is it, folks, so don't get yourself all worked up. The location is good if you would like to be near Grand Central Terminal, reasonable walking distance to Times Square or a short to medium walk from your business meeting in Midtown Manhattan, but you are 15 blocks from the southern end of Central Park and much farther still from the shopping district on the upper east side, Lincoln Center, downtown, etc. You are, essentially, in the South end of the central business district of Manhattan. With a lack of amenities and a location near office towers, its a good location for a business traveler, but not ideal for romantic getaways, those expecting a full-service hotel with amenities or families who need a hotel that's more than a room. These generic "wow" reviews are not specific enough to give you a sense of where the hotel is located or what the hotel really is (an exceedingly narrow, tall, boutique hotel with a clean, modern look but no amenities). Nothing wrong with that, certainly, but clearly no 5-star property, as implied over and over here, considering the abundance of amenity-packed, luxurious hotels in New York with views and superior locations.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank businesswoman333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    253
    77
    38
    30
See reviews for
86
383
53
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We had a room at 20th floor. We booked the hotel b/c of the good ratings that we found on tripadvisor. However, from the 5 nights we spent, on 3 the TV was not working due to cable issues, Internet down 1 night and on the others, the WIFI signal was very weak so that it was nearly impossible to use it. Also, although the room was on the back side and on the 20th floor, it was very noisy b/c of the AC machines in the back. The room was also very dark. Lastly, on one night where there was heavy rainfall, the rain came in through the window - and this hotel is only a couple of months old. I would not go back to that hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geronimo0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

I just got back from a 1 night stay at The Gotham. I like the ease of check-in, the size and cleanliness of the rooms, free wireless and continental breakfast. The stay would be perfect if they had coffee in the rooms. They don't irons and boards in each room. Make sure you ask for one at check-in.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParkCitySkiPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Wow! Check-in was effortless – I was greeted at the curb, escorted inside, asked if I’d like a glass of wine and moments later, asked if I was ready to go to my room…didn’t have to dig in my bag for the copy of my reservation or wallet. My room was wonderful, bathroom was exceptional, and it had a terrace! Where in midtown Manhattan does one find a terrace!?! I can’t wait to come back in the summer when the weather in better and I can enjoy it – Unfortunately, I know once people discover this place, it’ll be nearly impossible to get a reservation. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
96 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

As nice as any hotel I have stayed in with no fuss and a great price. What more could you want. I just stayed one night, but enjoyed the very classy welcome (a nice glass of red wine and a water), super comfortable huge bed, big room, flat screen, didn't use the terrace but I saw it, friendly staff, free wifi, continental breakfast. Not open long so I think that's why it was such good value.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barneyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

I booked this small boutique hotel because they offered an amazing price for midtown and the reviews on here were great.
And STILL I headed from the airport skeptical of what I was going to find upon check-in.
It was already dark at check in and the hotel is a little hard to see, but the orange cones helped us locate it on 46th between Madison and 5th.
Check in is a little different. They offer you a glass of wonderful wine (or water, etc) and you sit on the couch and someone comes to you to check you in. This process takes just a few moments!
So far, so good.
An employee (mine was the most beautiful young man I have ever seen, I kid you not) walks you up to the room and shows you around.
The room was soothing and simple, just like I like them. Large and furnished with quality stuff and a huge TV with a million cable and premium channels and AN ON SCREEN TV GUIDE JUST LIKE HOME!!!!!!! It's little things like that that make me LOVE a hotel!
With beautiful boy gone (and he was sweet!) I changed clothes and hopped into bed to watch my HBO show. That's when I noticed that the bed was SO comfy. Seriously, it was one of the best beds I have ever slept in in NYC!
I am very hot natured, VERY. I find winter in NYC awful mostly because people keep the buildings too damn hot. This building was no different. The lobby was not hot but the room was 76 and that might as well be an oven for me. It's expected. I know my room will be hot. The problem is cooling it down. So many rooms do not have operable windows and the a/c is not available in the dead of winter. This room has a sliding glass door, so I figured I would have one of those little 12 inch terraces. I am a fan of any sort of terrace, but this one was huge. Probably 6'x6'. I opened that baby up and let the 17 degree air fill the room! Once I got it down to 60 degrees I shut the door and made sure the heat was off. The insulation in the building is very good because the room creeped up to 70 and stayed there until the housekeeping staff turned it up to 79!!!!!!!!!!!! the next day!!!!!! So, I simply repeated the routine. The next morning I put a sign on the thermostat asking them to leave it off and they did :)
The bathroom tilework and design was beautiful and functional. There is a rain shower, which is nice. The Bigalow products smell and work great!
Wifi is free, which is a nice and unexpected bonus!
The room was spotless and staff was friendly and enthusiastic.
The location was awesome. All sorts of food and convenience right there at your fingertips yet the room was dead quiet. I had an inside room and did not hear a peep the entire stay.
I will certainly go back to this hotel on my next trip to NYC!!!
I just hope once everyone discovers them they have rooms available for me!
PS... I think the restaurant opens soon.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TxTravelPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

stayed here for 8 days at end Jan. great location and everything is new and clean. very ample rooms for NYC. free wine etc in lobby. fresh fruit on pillow each night. good sized fridge for own items. nice rain-forest style shower.

good continental breakfast but US-style i.e. no ham and cheese but good bagels to to toast. helpfull staff. great location. concierge , Nathan, organised a comfortable SUV to JFK for $65 including tolls! free Wi Fi across hotel.

as the hotel is new suspect lack of reviews is resposible for current lowish rating on tripadvisor. got a good rate on booking.com. was almost going to keep this one to myself ...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keentraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#132 of 468 in New York City
125 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#76 of 468 in New York City
697 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#216 of 468 in New York City
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#63 of 468 in New York City
1,350 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#106 of 468 in New York City
1,776 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#134 of 468 in New York City
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gotham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gotham Hotel

Property: The Gotham Hotel
Address: 16 E 46th St, Between Fifth Ave and Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10017-2471
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gotham Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of Gotham Hotel’s 66 unique guestrooms offers style and comfort. The guestrooms are luxurious and stylish with European touches in an elegant and pragmatic manner. These spacious rooms feature distinctive terraces, loft-like ceilings, dynamic windows, vast bathrooms featuring Italian glass mosaic tile, work-space/desk, lavish linens, generous closets, custom accessories, and thoughtful amenities. Come stay in luxury and style with guestrooms that feature a balcony or large terrace encompassing a range of views and inspiring unlimited possibilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Gotham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing