We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Ranked #199 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed February 20, 2011

As others have said, this is a good, modern hotel with excellent service. Major problem I encountered, however, was with the bathroom door. To get to the sink in my room XX02 one must squeeze against the toilet, close the large door and then approach the sink! The reverse is true to exit the bathroom. Problem is the door is hinged on the right whereas it should have been hinged on the left (or open outwards). Not sure why this hasn't been fixed. Also not sure why the arm on the desk chair is falling off for lack of tightening a screw. The only other area that could be improved in the room (not bathroom) lighting which was very poor even with all lamps on.

But for NYC this is a good hotel choice. It's convenient although don't be fooled by the "Chelsea" in the name. Despite two similar hotels on the block, the neighborhood is far from genteel, at least not yet. The plant stores are closed at night and the streets are quite desolate. But you can walk to Herald Square, Penn Sta, etc. so it's OK

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1NicePerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMfairfield, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, February 22, 2011
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for your review and for expressing your point of view, it will definitely help us improving our rooms to provide a more comfortable space. I appreciate your comment and if you come back to New York City feel free to contact me.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    281
    72
    31
    16
See reviews for
211
287
52
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

I got this room for a pretty good rate and have nothing but good things to say.

I arrived on my check in day at 9am and asked for an early check-in as I had a conference call I needed to take with my boss. They couldn't get us in a room but gave us an office to use and have our call - now that's service!!

The front desk is very friendly, the rooms are clean and spacious, the view is supurb, the location is AWESOME!!!, the free breakfast is great.

I have only two ridiculous negatives - 1. The hair dryer doesn't get very hot and 2. the front doors are glass and the elevators show what floor you go to, which can be seen through the street. I had to push a lot of elevator and make some unnecessary stops so no one would know what floor I was on...I'm probably paranoid, but do not want a stranger to know where I am sleeping.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adsmith284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMfairfield, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, February 22, 2011
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that our excellent staff was able to accommodate your request and made you feel comfortable. I hope you will be back to stay with us next time you come back to New York City.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

The hotel itself was great - it's still quite new, so the rooms were spotless. The room was pretty small, even by NYC standards, but the bed was comfortable, there was a flat-screen TV, and the bathroom was great. Plenty of hot water! We could see the Empire State Building from the window, which was great, although you could also see right into a bunch of apartments across the street. There was free breakfast, which is always a plus. Everyone who worked there was pleasant and helpful, and we didn't hear any street noise on the 10+ floor.

My only complaints refer to the neighborhood - we took a taxi home around 12am, and had to wait in traffic on 28th St (coming from 9th Ave) because cops had blocked the street outside some nightclub, and it looked pretty scary. In the morning, there were a ton of homeless people wandering around 28th St. This is not the neighborhood to stay in with small children or for a first visit to the city. However, for the business traveler, or someone who won't be hanging around the neighborhood, it's fine. Also, I have come to NYC a lot for many years, so this isn't a tourist's naive opinion.

In summary, great, new, clean hotel, small but comfortable. Hotel A-, neighborhood C-.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fenway7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairgm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

We read your review and are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Chelsea and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in New York City!

Sincerely,

Andre Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

WONDERFUL hotel located near Empire State Building. Room are new (SHOWERS are unbelievably fantastic) but rooms are usual small New York City size. Staff is truly amazing and helpful. Breakfast typical Fairfield style. NOISY in morning for some reason with horns blaring in streets BUT that's typical New York also. Neighborhood is filled with flower shops and a McDonalds on corner of 28th and 6th is convenient for snacks. Easy walk to Times Square via 6th Ave & Broadway. If you want to be near Empire State Building area, this is a true gem.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HH922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairgm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Chelsea. It was nice to hear the your positive feedbak about our staff. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Andre Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We had a double/double with 3 people - 2 adults and 1 teenager. The Fairfield Inn Chelsea was very clean, the staff is very professional every time I made a request (on Friday night 1/28-1/29, Daniel, i believe was his name at the front desk, was very helpful, cordial and persistent to ensure we were properly accomodated with parking as we arrived extremely late). The room was small, as I expect in New York, but it was very clean, insulated from noise, and the hotel was centally located for us to get to Times Square and Soho/Tribeca with minimal cab fares. It's nice to wake up to have the option of eating breakfast, albeit continental. This is the second Fairfield in that I've stayed in (the other was in Manhattan/Times Square) and neither of them disappointed. Also thanks for the NO PET policy! I for one am appreciative.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squeak_orfva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairgm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Chelsea. It was nice to hear your comments about our staff. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Andre Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2011

This was really a great hotel. We went for 2 nights and could not have asked for anything better. This is a great place to stay, close to the N, R, 1, 2, & 3 trains, rooms are clean, very friendly staff and a pretty decent breakfast in the morning. One bad thing....there is only one ice machine in the hotel and it is in LL level (we stayed on the 16th floor) so it is a bit of an elevator ride just to get some ice. The roof terrace is nice...great view of the city and the Empire State Building.

As I said, the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful...it was really the best part of the stay. Always willing to give directions or recommendations. We even got a phone call 5 mins after checking in just to make sure the room was up to par. The Marriott is doing a great job with these employees!

Overall, no real complaints about this place. Perfect for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank higgins1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairgm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Chelsea. It was especially nice to hear your feedback about our team. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Andre Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised by how much I liked this hotel, especially given that the rate was so competitive and I've learned the hard way over the years that the old adage "you get what you pay for" is so very true in NYC. It was like a little W-Lite in the heart of Chelsea, a clean, comfortable, affordable, stylish hotel that almost feels boutique, but has the standard Marriott-brand touches. The staff was friendly and helpful, the complimentary breakfast more than ample and the free wi-fi is always welcome. One note for any business travelers or travelers who need to work in the room like I did: The room set-up is not that condusive to working, the LED lighting is not that bright (I had to call down to have 2 extra lamps sent into the room) and the desk is that comfortable or conveniently located, at least in my room. Still for the price it's an incredible value in NY.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelerTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairgm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Chelsea. It was nice to hear your feedback about the staff. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. My sincere apology for the lighting issues you had in your guest room. We are in the process of replacing the bulbs in all guest room. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Andre Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#115 of 467 in New York City
833 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#116 of 467 in New York City
1,319 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#160 of 467 in New York City
1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#213 of 467 in New York City
2,006 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 467 in New York City
807 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#161 of 467 in New York City
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Address: 116 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in New York City
#128 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#129 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea for your home-away-from-home as you visit New York City. We are a top choice among hotels in Chelsea, NYC, offering a perfect location near Chelsea Market, Chelsea Piers, the Financial District, the Empire State Building, High Line, and Metropolitan Pavilion. Our hotel sits in the Flower District, close to the subway that can take you anywhere you want to go in Manhattan. Stay with us and experience a memorable and easy trip to NYC. We offer comfortable and spacious accommodations that include free Wi-Fi, well-lit work desks, and plush bedding. Our hotel provides a free daily breakfast, a full-service business center, and a well-appointed fitness center. Walk to restaurants, bars, and more from Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea, and enjoy staying in a hotel that is a smart choice among hotels in NYC and in Chelsea, NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing