We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Ranked #207 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I've got to agree with all of the other great reviews. Entire staff was great, very friendly and helpful. Loved the coffee available 24x7 (Starbucks!); breakfast was great. They do a 5-star job at a 3-star hotel. Everything was kept really clean as well, which is really the most important thing. Bed was very comfy. The only negatives, was I would have liked the availability of a room safe (though they have a deposit box at the desk I believe), and like someone else said, the towels were a bit thin. Other than that, great price, good mid-town location, and great overall hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WisTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieC-FFIChelsea, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear WisTraveler99,

Thank you for your perfect 5 star review here on TripAdvisor!!
We value your loyalty and are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.We truly appreciate your business and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    277
    71
    31
    16
See reviews for
208
285
50
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
195 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This hotel has a lower star rating than I usually pick. The hotel was surprisingly good. The towels are not as fluffy as four star hotels, but the price is not as fluffy either. The breakfast was simple but very good. I liked the fresh fruit. The subway is a very short walk in either direction. so it is very easy to get anywhere in NYC in a short amount of time. It is a short walk to Madison Square Garden and Macy's. Lots of shopping and good restaurants are just a short walk. 28th street is lined with flower wholesalers so if you like flowers it is very nice.

Room Tip: Room 1106 has a good view of the Empire State Building. 1206, 1306 and higher will be even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieC-FFIChelsea, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Ginny G

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience.I am glad to hear that you were all able to enjoy the great location of our property. As you mentioned, one of the many benefits to staying with us is that we are within walking distance to all of the great attractions New York City has to offer.
We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I have never experiences friendlier customer service, from checking in to checking out. I booked the room for the great price on Travelocity, and was happily surprised that this reasonably priced room had superior customer service. It was a fairly typical mid-range room, and the towels were not thick, plush towels you get at the finest hotels. But the room was quiet, the bed was very comfortable, the included breakfast just right, and the view of the Empire State building quite nice. This was a terrific location for me, and I cannot overstate how nice the members of the staff were.

Room Tip: Maybe should ask for a room with view of Empire State Building which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieC-FFIChelsea, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Lisa M,

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay with us and took advantage of the great location the Fairfield Inn & Suites Chelsea has to offer.

I truly appreciate the great feedback on the hotel staff, as well as our guest rooms. I will make sure to share your great comments with the team and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I recently took my daughter on a mother/daughter trip to NYC, neither of us had ever stayed there before so we were a little nervous and not sure of where to stay and what to do since there are so many options!! I have to say that upon our arrival to the hotel we were pleasantly greeted by Thomas at the front desk and I have never felt so welcome or been treated so nice. He made us feel right at ease and gave us great tips on where to go and good places to eat. One suggestion was Waldy's pizza right around the corner, if you like thin crust pizza and at a very reasonable price, then this is the place to try. We also had the best Chinese food ever at a little place in Chinatown called Wo-Hop. It is at 17 Mott St., it's in the basement of the bldg, its not fancy but excellent food and also at a reasonable price. Our room at the hotel was very clean and it was located on the 17th floor of which we never had to wait long for the elevator. Another great plus about this hotel is that it is located only two blocks from the Empire State Bldg, Macy's, Madison Square Garden & the Manhattan Mall. Thanks again Thomas for making our stay so pleasant!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamrose70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieC-FFIChelsea, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Tamrose70

Thanks for the feedback! I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, found your guestroom clean, the staff helpful (Thomas), and the location convenient. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to the staff! We look forward to the opportunity to be of service again on your next visit to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed here for only night beginning of March 2014. Great staff. The location is amazing, you got the one train only a block away, 34th street is only 7 minutes away by walk. Despite the location, the hotel is somehow not on a busy street. The room is bright, really clean and in good size for a NYC hotel room. The only problem I had was the fact that my room was next to the elevator and its "bell" sound was really loud. I called the reception to change the room, but they told me that it was too late of time, which I thought was odd. However they did send me earplugs, which was a nice gesture. I would defintely stay here again, but will make sure that I wont get the same situated room.

Room Tip: Avoid the room next to the elevator if you are light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SadieY82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieC-FFIChelsea, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear SadieY32
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very pleased you had a lovely stay with us and hope to see you for many more future visits
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Hotel room with King bed was perfect for mother/daughter trip. The room was on the back side of the hotel on 10th floor, so it was quiet. The individual thermostat for the room worked great and was not noisy at all. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom much larger than we expected for a midtown Manhattan hotel. Coffee maker, hair dryer, and iron/ironing board were all in the room as well as hi-def flat screen tv (which we only watched a bit at night before crashing from exhaustion after exploring the city all day).

Right in the middle of the flower district, it was a joy to walk out and see flowers & plants on the sidewalks in all directions. The hotel is perfectly situated between 6th & 7th aves, with Herald Square being a short walk north to 34th. Times Square wasn't much farther at 42nd. The High Line is about a 15 minute walk to the west. Empire State Bldg was close also. We flew into Newark and took train to Penn Station, also only a 5 minute walk to the hotel. Cannot say enough about the ideal location!

Breakfast was good and the service was great. Fresh baked cookies most afternoons - yum! Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel, 10th floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamanthafromTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieC-FFIChelsea, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear SamanthafromTN,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay. As you mentioned, one of the many benefits to staying at our property is the close distance to all of the great attractions in New York City.
Our goal is to provide a clean room and great customer service and it sounds like we accomplished our goal with you. We truly appreciate your business and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Lovely hotel. Considering how busy NY is we managed to get a quiet room as requested. All of the staff were so helpful and friendly and efficient. Outside the hotel was beautiful as all the shops were florist/gardening shops and the pavements were covered in flowers. The hotel was ideal for walking to many of the top attractions. We don't usually bother with breakfast but we were set up for the day after indulging in breakkie.The room was very clean and spacious for the small amount of time we spent I it. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIChlGM, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Tracey G,

What a nice response! Thank you for sharing your thoughts with the TA community! We love the flower district - you should see all the amazing colors on display now! Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#157 of 468 in New York City
1,848 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#120 of 468 in New York City
815 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#113 of 468 in New York City
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 468 in New York City
775 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#216 of 468 in New York City
1,989 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#169 of 468 in New York City
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Address: 116 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in New York City
#129 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#130 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea for your home-away-from-home as you visit New York City. We are a top choice among hotels in Chelsea, NYC, offering a perfect location near Chelsea Market, Chelsea Piers, the Financial District, the Empire State Building, High Line, and Metropolitan Pavilion. Our hotel sits in the Flower District, close to the subway that can take you anywhere you want to go in Manhattan. Stay with us and experience a memorable and easy trip to NYC. We offer comfortable and spacious accommodations that include free Wi-Fi, well-lit work desks, and plush bedding. Our hotel provides a free daily breakfast, a full-service business center, and a well-appointed fitness center. Walk to restaurants, bars, and more from Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea, and enjoy staying in a hotel that is a smart choice among hotels in NYC and in Chelsea, NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelPower, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing