We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Ranked #183 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Tucked a little out of the way, this is a great option for travelers ready to get out of the hustle and bustle of Times Square, but still needing to stay close by to everything. Located on 28th Street between busy 6th and 7th Avenues (lots of convenient bars/restaurants, fast food, coffee shops, etc.), with a 1 subway line on the same block and an N and R subway line a few blocks away (not to mention a 6 stop within 10 minutes' walk), the location is ideal for easy access to transportation. The minor complaint is that this hotel is located in the midst of the wholesale flower business in NYC, meaning the sidewalks are narrowed daily by (a gorgeous array of) flowers and plants, making it a little tough to get down 28th Street. My room faced out onto 28th Street, so the noise at 4:30am was a little much--maybe try to get a room that faces another direction. The staff at this hotel was terrific; super friendly, helpful with booking a car and storing luggage and ready with a "hello" every time I walked in. The place is clean, room was very nicely sized, elevators were in good and quick working conditions. Breakfast room was also modern looking and clean.

Room Tip: I'd bet rooms that don't face out on 28th Street are quieter first thing in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYerJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello Jo,

Thank you for the great review! You are absolutely right about our location, we are very centrally located in Manhattan and extremely close to a myriad of transportation options which will take you anywhere you want to go in the city. The Flower District is a lovely neighborhood and makes for a veritable garden right on our doorstep. I also appreciate your comments regarding the hotel staff. They are truly top notch, and I am pleased to hear that they provided excellent service. I hope your trip back to Chicago was safe and uneventful, and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your next trip to New York!

Warm Regards,

Robert Brashler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    271
    65
    29
    14
See reviews for
200
275
50
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel was in a great location and very clean and quiet for NYC. We were in town for a wedding and my husband realized he forgot his tie as we were heading out, we asked if there was a lost and found at the hotel and Thomas at the front desk took off his own tie to give to my husband to borrow! He had an old tie in the back for himself, but wanted to give us one that would match. This was the best customer service we have ever had at a hotel!

Room Tip: ask for a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 162traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello 162traveler,

Thank you for the five star review! I am so happy to hear of the excellent customer service Thomas provided. He is certainly among the best in the city and I have shared your comments with him. I hope that you had a good time at the wedding, and a fantastic time in New York. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to the Big Apple!

Warm Regards,

Robert Brashler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Nothing but fair! The hotel was quite clean, nice staff, the room was comfortable although very small (Keep in mind if you intend to shop a ton you'll probably see yourself in the middle of bags), breakfast was ok even though it was the same everyday. Guess I got a great deal considering the high season (December holidays), it definitely worths the price. The only ''negative'' thing is the parking availability but it is a NY issue - If you intend to drive you should consider staying in another area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renata T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Renata,

Thank you for taking the time to review your December, 2012 stay with us. I am glad to see that our hotel was memorable for you, and that you had a nice time in New York City. I would like to thank you for your kind words regarding the service and cleanliness. I have shared your comments with the staff, as it is reviews such as yours that keep them energized and motivated. I hope that you had a safe trip back to Brazil, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip to New York City!

Warm Regards,

Robert Brashler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed 6 nights here and we welcomed by super friendly staff. They put us on the 2nd floor, it was pretty dark and there was a bad odour coming from the AC unit. We let them know and they had someone come right away to install a new AC unit. We were also moved to a higher floor on the 16th and it was much brighter.

Hotel is in such a great location, close to subways and so many stores, restaurants and everything you would need in walking distance.

Loved the free breakfast and coffee each day. That was a major perk. Also free Wi-Fi! That was a big selling feature for us when choosing a hotel.

Would definitely return to this property in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellasnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Hello Bella,

Thank you for the lovely review! I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed your time in New York City. You are absolutely right, our location can't be beat and is extremely convenient. I am also glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary hot breakfast and free high speed internet. I hope that you had a safe trip back to beautiful Victoria. We certainly enjoyed having you as our guest, and are delighted to hear that you will be staying with us again on your next trip to New York.

Warm Regards,

Robert Brashler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We spend a Friday night here and were not disappointed. Modern décor and amenities, a better-than-average selection of continental breakfast items, and a friendly staff made this a winner. The location is an easy 5-minute walk from Penn Station, which connects conveniently to MTA subway, area regional transit (LIRR, NJT etc.) and Amtrak.

Added bonus was the nice view of the Empire State building from the room as well as from the rooftop terrace. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, as well as convenience and drug stores.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CallMeJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello Jackie,

Thank you for the great review! I am so glad to hear that you had a terrific stay with us. You are absolutely right, our location, service and amenities definitely make our hotel a winner. I hope that you were able to take advantage of the Chelsea neighborhood and its wonderful shops nd restaurants. I am also glad to hear that you were able to spend some time on our lovely rooftop terrace, and enjoy the mavelous views of the city it offers. I would also like to thank you for your comments regarding the housekeeping and I have shared your review with the Housekeeping team. We certainly enjoyed having you as our guest, and hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your next trip to New York!

Warm Regards,

Robert Brashler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel is close to Broadway (about 11 blocks walking. 2 subway stops, 7.50 cab fare). Subway stop on the next block that will take you almost anywhere. Buy a metra card ($1.00) and put money on it. Cheaper and easier than paying for individual rides.
Staff was so helpful and pleasant. Great recommendations for restaurants. Breakfast was included and was just enough to start the day - nothing fancy, but very adequate. Nice atrium for coffee.
Rooms were small, but beds were very comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: We didn't have any special requests and our room was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello Mary Jane,

Thank you for the fantastic review! I am so pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us and a lovely time in New York. You are absolutely right about our location, we are very centrally located and provide a convenient base for exploring everything the city has to offer. I would also like to thank you for your comments regarding the staff, they are certainly top notch and I am glad to hear that they provided excellent service. I have also shared your comments with the Housekeeping department as it is reviews such as yours which keep the team energized and motivated. I hope that you had a safe trip back to Chicago, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip to New York!

Warm Regards,

Robert Brashler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were happy with our room selection for our first stay in New York. Trying to match price and quality is often a challenge and we believe this hotel is a solid choice. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The room is totally functional though a little tight on space, especially the bathroom. We thought with the KIng City View room we booked and that we had booked the room for a week we would have been a bit higher in the building; as it turned out we had an okay view of the Empire State building from the 8th flr and a much better view of the condo's across the street. Breakfast each morning was the same but provided everything you needed. The serving area is quite cramped and a few things could be moved around to make access a little easier but that is a minor complaint. We felt sorry for the lone staff member who tried to keep all the stations full and clean up at the same time.

The hotel is located near 2 different subway stations and near bus stops heading both downtown and uptown. Times Square is walk-able (we enjoy walking) at about 20 minutes and even easier with the subway. Being in the Flower District was interesting watching all the stores move all those plants in and out each day.

The building had a little more noise from the street than we would have liked. The air conditioner was a little loud when it was turning on but really no worse than many other hotels/motels we have stayed at that have individual units in the rooms. WIth that said increasing the white noise in the room and my wife (who is a light sleeper) wearing earplugs we got the sleep we needed.

There is a Penthouse level that allows you a commanding view of the New York skyline, the only thing that was disappointing was the fans(?) or what ever they were that were roaring on the roof. Didn't make for a very enjoyable atmosphere on the roof top.

As an aside and nothing to do with the hotel, New York can be very expensive or it can be reasonable. Do your due diligence if money is a concern it can be the difference between between a $5-$8 glass of wine verses places that there are no selections under $15 a glass. We were able to find many great restaurants and bars that were fun, had great food and atmosphere. Though we also went to a few "nice" spots as well, I mean we were in New York after all. :)

Based on what we were told about New York hotels and prices this hotel was a good choice for us.

Room Tip: Paying the extra for a view room may not be that important since you will likely spend very little i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hello Lsuc,

Thank you for the five star review! I am pleased to hear that you had a nice stay with us and a great time on your first trip to New York City. You are absolutely right about our location, it is very convenient for exploring the city. The Flower District is a lovely place and makes for a veritable garden right outside our front door. I hope that you were able to explore our neighborhood during your sightseeing around the city. Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to have you as our guest again the next time you are in Manhattan!

Warm Regards,

Robert Brashler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#114 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#121 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#156 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#213 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Address: 116 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in New York City
#130 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#131 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea for your home-away-from-home as you visit New York City. We are a top choice among hotels in Chelsea, NYC, offering a perfect location near Chelsea Market, Chelsea Piers, the Financial District, the Empire State Building, High Line, and Metropolitan Pavilion. Our hotel sits in the Flower District, close to the subway that can take you anywhere you want to go in Manhattan. Stay with us and experience a memorable and easy trip to NYC. We offer comfortable and spacious accommodations that include free Wi-Fi, well-lit work desks, and plush bedding. Our hotel provides a free daily breakfast, a full-service business center, and a well-appointed fitness center. Walk to restaurants, bars, and more from Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea, and enjoy staying in a hotel that is a smart choice among hotels in NYC and in Chelsea, NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea Hotel New York City
Fairfield Inn And Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing