We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't be happier with this hotel & can't wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Ranked #203 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Couldn't be happier with this hotel & can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

First, I'd like to start by saying this hotel did more than just meet my expectations, it actually exceeded them. I stay at Marriott brand hotels many times a year but rarely have had opportunities to stay at a Fairfield. This one, in my opinion, was very impressive for such an affordable hotel. It is located on 28th, between 6th & 7th, in the Flower District (NOT in Chelsea but it is a quick train ride!). I arrived hours before check in and they already had a room ready which was unexpected so I was immediately pleased. The room was very clean and comfortable. I have been going to NYC a couple of times a year for many years so I have stayed in several other hotels in town. In my opinion, this room is a pretty decent size for rooms in this city. This area is very quiet at night so I had no problems with a lot of noise when I was trying to sleep. The bed is one of the most comfortable I've slept in. The bathroom is very nice and has a huge, walk-in shower, with great water pressure. The AC works GREAT. There is no fridge in the room and no safe. The lack of safe is actually a bit disappointing. I've become accustomed to having a safe in all NYC hotel rooms that I've stayed in. Also, there is only one ice-maker in the building and it's located on the lower level which is a bit of an inconvenience but luckily the elevators are quick so you don't have to wait too long to get down there and back.

I loved the location. It's really convenient to so many of the city's attractions. It's just blocks from the Empire State Building/Harold Square, which is probably the best shopping located in this area. It's equally close to the Flatiron District, Madison Square Park, Madison Square Gardens, Penn Station, etc. If you make it to the Flatiron District, be sure to check out Eataly, Mario Batali's Italian mega-store. It's amazing. There is also a Whole Foods a few blocks away along with several other little markets if you're looking for the basics. There is a Starbucks and Bank of America, both located at the corner of 28th & 6th. This hotel is located a block from the red line (i.e 1-2-3 train) subway. This train will take you to or close to, just about anywhere in the city you'd like to go.

By far, the best kept secret of this hotel is the roof deck. It has an amazing view of the Empire State Building. Be sure to check it out at night. It is open 24 hours a day and there was rarely anyone up there so I usually had it to myself. It's nothing fancy but definitely a nice spot to chill out and enjoy a great view of the city.

They also provide a complimentary breakfast, every morning, and it has pretty good offerings. Muffins, bagels, cereals, breakfast sandwiches, yogurt, etc. They also serve Starbucks brand coffee.

I would also like to mention that the customer service was outstanding. One night, I needed three things; scissors, super glue and a map. I went to the front desk and asked Andrew if he had these items and within seconds, he provided all three. I thought for sure super glue wouldn't be something on hand but turns out, it was. On my last day, Mika arranged my transportation to the airport and also had my luggage held between check out time and the time I actually left. Not to mention the countless others who were very accommodating, as well. Everyone was just very friendly and it was very much appreciated. I look forward to staying at this hotel again in the future and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet, clean, comfortable and affordable place to stay in the city.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MBCMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    274
    66
    30
    15
See reviews for
204
278
50
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

I chose this hotel due to price & location. Hotel rates were high during the U.S. Open, and I wanted to be away from the crowds at Times Square. Room was tiny but comfortable. Good shower. The standout was the service by Andrew, Erika, the lady who manned breakfast, and the security men. Very friendly, helpful, and polite. I travel a lot and was very impressed. Also nice was an enormous orange cat who greeted everyone at the entrance. Apparently, he lives next door. Had a nice lunch at Uncle Nick's Greek Diner at the hotel desk's suggestion. Wish there was a safe in the room. I walked to Central Park in the am vs. using the workout room, so I can't comment on it.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a big window/Jeffersonian balcony. Mine didn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gatraveler-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairgm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Dear Gatraveler-7,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Chelsea. It was nice to hear the hotel associates provided service that impressed you during your stay. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for letting us be your host while in New York City, and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Andre Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

The hotel is located on 28th Street, 7th Avenue and we found that it was a fantastic location. We were walking distance from the Empire State Building and in the night, we got some fantastic pictures of the building when we were walking back from dinner. The area is the flower district and though it was quite deserted when we returned at night, it was very safe and we had no problems at all. It is very close to Penn Station and found it convenient when we arrived by train from Washington DC. We sometimes walked to Times Square and found it quite close to Macy's too (when we did most of our shopping).

There was free internet (always great) and free breakfast. The breakfast was ok but since it was complimentary, I would recommend it. On two mornings, we did not really make an attempt to get up in time for breakfast as we wanted some variety. The room was very nice and comfortable (huge shower). I must comment about one of the front desk staff, Andrew Alvarez, he was extremely polite and friendly and he welcomed us to the hotel. He was very cheerful and ever ready to help. He definitely deserves praise for his always bright and great attitude.

On the whole, if the price was right, I would definitely consider returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eletnahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairgm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Dear Eletnahc,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Chelsea. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Andre Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

I live in Manhattan. This stay was a "business retreat" for me to get out of my home office. The place is cozy, just like a small studio in Chelsea. The staff is extremely friendly. Make you feel like your in your own apartment building. Breakfast sun deck is amazing!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HiDefLowCost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairgm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Dear HiDefLowCost,

We read your review and are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Chelsea, and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay. I agree with you about sun room it is my choice as well.

Sincerely,

Andre Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
733 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 618 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

We recently returned from NYC and had the pleasure of staying at this hotel. We arrived early on our first day (9 am) and although the room was not ready we were welcomed to enjoy their breakfast buffet. We later returned in the afternoon and we were very happy with the hotel room. It was bright, had a very nice NYC view and was very clean. We would have liked a fridge in our room but there were not enough for all the patrons of the hotel. We found the hotel very quiet but there was some street noise early the next morning. The complimentary breakfast is great. There was an assortment of cereals, bagels, fruit, English muffins, eggs, etc. and Starbucks coffees and tea. The woman who worked in that area was very pleasant and always welcomed us with a nice "Good Morning". Fresh coffee and tea as well as freshly baked cookies were available throughout the day. Heading out of the hotel you were surrounded by flowers and plants as this hotel is located in the flower wholesale district. Overall, I found the stay very pleasant and the hotel staff were always welcoming and polite. I would not hesitate to stay here again...I loved it!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoMusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairgm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Dear TorontoMusicman,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Chelsea. It was nice to hear about the associates you encountered. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you for letting us be your host hotel while visiting New York City,and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Andre Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

This hotel is located in the flower district which is actually kind of fun- in a New York way. the rooms are bigger than many, AC works well. Clean and comfortable. Breakfast up to par for a "free: breakfast . I do not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowwowwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairgm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Dear Bowwowwow,

We read your review and are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Chelsea, and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in New York City!

Sincerely,

Andre Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

This hotel is in the Chelsea section of New York, and we were able to walk here from Penn Station. The street was less busy than the rest of New York, more like being in Brooklyn or Hoboken. There are several smaller hotels like this one on that same block, and even a florist down the street. Inside, the lobby was nice but small, the elevators in the center of the building, and in the back, a cafe where they served a pretty good breakfast and sometimes snacks. We checked into our room, and headed for the elevator. Rooms in New York are small, but this one didn't seem too bad. There was just enough room around the king size bed to walk, there was a small desk, a bureau, flat screen TV (lots of channels) and a fairly large bathroom. The best features of this hotel, it's new, inexpensive, and it's away from all of the craziness of New York -- but walking distance to just about everything. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdam99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairgm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Dear gdambra,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Chelsea. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you on your next visit to New York City.

Sincerely,
Andre Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#122 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#158 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#168 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#216 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Address: 116 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in New York City
#129 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#130 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea for your home-away-from-home as you visit New York City. We are a top choice among hotels in Chelsea, NYC, offering a perfect location near Chelsea Market, Chelsea Piers, the Financial District, the Empire State Building, High Line, and Metropolitan Pavilion. Our hotel sits in the Flower District, close to the subway that can take you anywhere you want to go in Manhattan. Stay with us and experience a memorable and easy trip to NYC. We offer comfortable and spacious accommodations that include free Wi-Fi, well-lit work desks, and plush bedding. Our hotel provides a free daily breakfast, a full-service business center, and a well-appointed fitness center. Walk to restaurants, bars, and more from Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Chelsea, and enjoy staying in a hotel that is a smart choice among hotels in NYC and in Chelsea, NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea Hotel New York City
Fairfield Inn And Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing