We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
“Perfect and fantastic value!”
5.0 of 5 stars
The Parlor Floor Apartment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Parlor Floor Apartment
Parlor Floor Bed Parlor Floor Looking into Eat-In Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 stars
Excellent
15 reviews
The Parlor Floor Apartment
Parlor Floor Bed
Parlor Floor Looking into Eat-In Kitchen
First Floor Sleeping Area
First Floor Eat-in Kitchen
First Floor wallpaper is divine!
First Floor Kitchen
Village View
Parlor Kitchen
Parlor Kitchen
Parlor Bathroom
Price includes continental breakfast at Doma na rohu, one block away.
Old World, True Village -- breakfast, lunch and dinner at Doma
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
New York City, New York

Reviews from our community

 of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
aandd1961
Blue Mountains
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect and fantastic value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Location, value, atmosphere, accessibility!!! A must stay for your trip to New York City. Surrounded by great food, music, village shops and the best places to watch the world go by.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
M P
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just right-quality location,service and value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
6
people found this review helpful

We wanted a great location in the heart of Greenwich Village...and Jones Street delivers! Quaint but ideal apartment just right for the 3 of us, including a 4 year old. Evelyn and Mike extremely helpful and friendly. Exactly what we wanted...if you are looking for a great base to explore from, this is it. Many thanks Evelyn and Mike for all your help and advice. We'd love to come back. Jez,Marci and Cami.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location and the quaintness of the property. Plus great owners.
Liked least: Could be a bit noisy early morning - but what you should expect in the heart of Greenwich.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
RayBronxA...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Great place near Washing Square Park. Small, but its NYC. Also, we found it nice and quit. It was on the courtyard side, and not the street, so that helped a lot. Clean, new kitchen and bathroom, easy check in and out. Hosts were great. I guess it could have used a coffee maker, but with all the cafes in the area, it really wasn't necessary. Would highly recommend it and would like to stay again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: cleanliness of apartment
Liked least: small apartment, but I had expected that
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2013
Both of our guest apartments have coffee presses, and most of our guests make use of the wonderful coffees one can purchase at Porto Rico Imports, a couple of blocks south. (They have amazing specials, sometimes $4.99 a pound for something delectable!) We also have a small electric drip coffee maker in our first floor apartment, and stovetop espresso makers there as well. Sorry that this guest missed these coffee making options but glad he loved the place anyway!

And don't forget, our price includes coffee/tea and something to munch at nearby Doma na rohu (www.domanyc.com) each morning.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
lindsayt1...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great location and perfect apartment in the heart of Greenwich Village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
5
people found this review helpful

just spent a week at this apartment just off Bleeker street. ideal location we walked alot to the sights which gave us the real feel of New York; Hudson river, ground zero memorial, Highline, midtown, Greenwich village, Soho, Tribeca, battery park, times square. if you don't want to walk then easy subway access yellow taxis and water taxis can get you everywhere from very close by. the apartment was very comfortable and in a traditional brownstone in a leafy street, and had everything we needed. restaurants and bars all within walking distance and great quality on offer but to suit all budgets. greenwich village has a lovely relaxed feel and lots of music bars. Evie and her family were very welcoming and we would recommend their cafe Doma close by for superb breakfasts and great beer.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: location and ambience of the apartment
Liked least: nothing to complain about
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Navek
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“What a fantastic location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
13
people found this review helpful

Looking for somewhere to stay in NYC can be a real challenge. After a lot of trying to find somewhere I thought to look for a guest house and after much looking it seemed that the search had narrowed down to one, Jones Street Guesthouse. After reading reviews on many places in NYC it seemed that 31 Jones Street could be one of those “one in a million” types of places. Always hard to make a decision on something sight unseen, it was made easier by the positive reviews that were offered.

After emailing and getting a positive response from Evelyn we decided to chance it and book the place. The things that swayed us, apart from the good reviews was the proximity to Bleecker Street and the opportunity to live in a neighbourhood. It gives you a much better idea of the everyday life going on all around you. Being in the West Village was really good, we had access to all sorts of eateries and small grocers etc. The area around Bleecker Street is a veritable goldmine of all sorts of stores, food, books, music and other things. As well, the proximity to the Subway gave us the opportunity to head uptown, downtown or to Brooklyn with ease. Getting the 7 day pass is a great idea, giving unlimited access to Subway and local buses.

Once we had booked we received from Evelyn a 14 page document with all sorts of information on subways and local things to help us out during our stay. It was a very useful thing to have and we used it quite a lot. Jones Street is a relatively quiet street most of the time and apart from some noise during the day, specifically during the morning it is a good place to stay. It is a busy area and there is always some sort of activity going on, more so on the weekends and in the evenings.

We would have no hesitation recommending this place to friends, or indeed staying there again, in fact we felt that our time in NYC was all the better for having stayed here.

The people who own the guesthouse also operate a Café on Morton Street and you will be provided with discount vouchers for breakfast at the Café, Doma na rohu, which is just a short walk away on Morton Street. Good value too!

The photos on Tripadvisor are spot on and the description does it justice. Everything that you require is provided and it is completely self contained.

We had such a good time here and the Guesthouse was great, I have been recommending it to everyone. We would go back tomorrow if we could.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Mizsnooks
Chapel Hill NC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Charming, Very Comfortable, Briliantly Located Nest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the first floor apt - actually an English basement, slightly below ground level but with windows looking out on the street. It's small but has been carefully designed to seem roomy - you never feel crowded, and there's a good closet with iron and mini-ironing board, hair dryer, and portable heater, which we used, and which worked well. The bathroom is roomy with a very good shower. The kitchenette is teeny but also well stocked, with several kinds of coffee pots - French press, a small espresso pot, and an automatic drip job. My favorite thing, aside from the excellent bed and the built-in bookshelves that seemed to contain well- read books, was the gorgeous antique chairs that sat around the small table. You were just always drawn there for a cup of tea or coffee, a glass of wine, whatever.
There are lots of whatevers, because you walk perhaps 30 paces out the front door and around the corner and there are tons of iconic Manhattan food emporiums, one after the next. The downtown Murray's Cheese Shop, Faicco's pork store, Amy's Bread (with its
delectable fennel seed/raisin semolina bread), Ottomanelli's, John's pizza... They make the palazzos a bit more uptown - Citarella, Eataly, etc. - seem like Disneyland.
It can be noisy at night (bring earplugs, it's the city), and our only other difficulty, which may have our fault, was that when we went to breakfast at the cafe, we didn't have the cards we were supposed to have to get the discount. We were in town briefly for a funeral and thought we wouldn't be able to have breakfast at all, so I hadn't made any notes about being sure to ask for the cards when we picked up the keys (they later turned up in a folder in the apt). We produced the keys to show we were staying at the guesthouse, but the charming staff at the cafe went into tough
Manhattan mode, "how do we know you're actually staying there, etc." No one in the city will argue over $10 (except for them) and we didn't either. The food was excellent, and the cafe is similarly
bohemian/eclectic/authentic-seeming as the guesthouse. A place you would want to go even if you didn't have a discount there.
Can't wait to return and explore the neighborhood at leisure. The notes on what to do that come with the reservation are terrific.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: style, comfort and location
Liked least: nothing, really - maybe noise at night
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2012
We are always so glad to hear about guests enjoying their stay and getting the most out of the neighborhood.

Our apartments are in fact rather large by New York City studio apartment standards, let alone comparably-priced neighborhood hotel standards! The average hotel room in our neighborhood runs between $250 and $400 a night, is no more than 200 square feet, has no kitchen and no breakfast included. Our apartments are 400 square feet, include full kitchen and bath and continental breakfast (or credit towards a bigger breakfast)! We New Yorkers raise two kids and a dog using a kitchen the same size just upstairs -- only our fridge is a bit bigger! If you are coming from the burbs, it is of course necessary to adjust your scale in order to "live like a New Yorker."

As we live right upstairs, we always make sure to put the breakfast cards in a well-marked binder in the apartment -- but if we forget once in a while, we have never heard from any guests that they had a problem at the cafe. And as we are right upstairs, we are happy to help at any time by just running downstairs with new cards, an extra pillow -- I even rushed down with some nail polish a few weeks ago for an emergency nail fix before a wedding! We will mention to our baristas that they should call us if in doubt; but folks from out of town should take note that, yes, in fact we have had people pretend all sorts of things to get freebies at our cafe, and so a couple of questions are in fact a reasonable response!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Bathsheba...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“charming cozy safe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011 for a stay in November 2011
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed in the parlour apartment by myself for 2 weeks and found it perfect. The location cannot be beat and the apartment itself was very clean, safe and perfect size for one person. The owners have a cafe not far that you can have coffee at every morning. It is filled with regulars who were friendly so I found people to talk to every morning as I ate my bagel/ croissant/ muffin. There are many neigborhood grocery stores and even a laundromat. The place is cleaned 4-5 times a week so no need to wash towels or sheets. I originally planned to rent a private apartment but I was wary and started looking around and found this place. So glad I did. Would stay here again and in fact wondering when. Also the cover of "The Freewheelin' Bob Dylan" was shot on Jones. How cool is that?

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: location and safety
Liked least: noise
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Enter dates for more accurate prices
Any
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing