We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #309 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Great Stay”
Reviewed September 15, 2010

This was my first time at the St. Giles, which I had not heard of before, but I was very pleased with the hotel, my room and the service. Everyone was extremely helpful from check-in to directions to getting me a ticket to a NY fashion show! The rates were excellent and the location was just off the beaten track but still easily accessible to everything. I can't wait until my next visit!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeStylish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    856
    374
    124
    66
See reviews for
369
789
122
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

The hotel hasnt changed since St Giles taken over from The W.

Main difference is really the lack of bliss products and no hot food lunch/evenings, and the bar isnt as crowded!

However rooms are still very comfortable with contemporary designs, comfortable beds, and service is very good, views are amazing.

i would say $16+ per day for wifi is very high, when you can go down the block to Starbucks and use theirs for free.

Good stay, and would return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammielc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadlephia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

As a native New Yorker, I look forward to my occasional trips back and always looking for the near perfect hotel in each part of Manhattan. I may have found it for mid-town. I recently stayed at The Court with my two sons for one night while we were in town for the US Open. I found it after reading reviews on Trip Advisor - the location and value seemed hard to beat, and this is certainly true. The hotel is not too big, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and the rooms were great. Fresh cookies, cold punch and apples and the NY Times and WSJ are at the desk in the lobby. Even the shower had good pressure - a rarity for hotels these days. I requested a room with a king bed and a cot, to fit the three of us, and were told on arrival that a cot would be forthcoming, but never did. The desk staff explained that the room was too small for a cot, and before I could get out any argument, they immediately upgraded us to a suite. One of the hotel staff (I think he was the security and doorman all in one) plus a housekeeper accompanied us to the room and helped transfer all our belongings while the housekeeper prepared the pull-out bed from the living room couch. The security dude even got us some fresh ice for our waters. The beds were great, and the next morning, after visiting the Starbucks a block away, which opens at 5:30, I enjoyed the morning newspaper in the very comfortable and quiet lounge. All in all this was a really great place and will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajlcdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2010

I enjoyed being in this part of the city taking walks to the East River and down to Curry Hill for some good Indian food about 10 blocks south. My favorite part though was the view from my room. The Chrysler Building is one of my favorite buildings and I had a perfect view of it from my room. Clean, attractive,comfortable room; quiet and cool despite heat wave outside.

Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank d3walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

This hotel was worth visiting if just for the bed! In a word..."plush." Spacious, classy, colorful, eclectic, clean, centrally located, accommodating, welcoming....and excellent rates. Thank you St. Giles. I'm from San Diego and visit New York a few times a year...this will be my New York "coming home" hotel indefinitely. Wonderful, friendly staff, handsome doormen, walk-in closets, clean bathrooms with space for toiletries...and those pillows!....yum!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aromatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Va
Level Contributor
420 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Traveled on business to NYC. Had a nice warm welcome upon arriving to the hotel. Everyone that works there is friendly and helpful. The rooms are very large for a NYC hotel and the value was outstanding. The room was clean and very functional. I had a great stay here and plan to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nads82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2010

I am not an expert in hotel reviews but have spent my entire working career (40 yrs) as a user throughout North America. There are various things that will tip the scale for me but friendliness and clenliness are on the top of my list. The Tuscany had it all. The GM (David Lopez) was a star in our sky as he made a wonderful visit to New York become an amazing visit. His style and approach to our special time was unsolicited, unexpected and so appreciated. Try this hotel as I expect you will be more than pleased. Cheers Tuscany

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilandAnnV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#195 of 468 in New York City
782 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#251 of 468 in New York City
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#124 of 468 in New York City
4,750 reviews
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#78 of 468 in New York City
985 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#130 of 468 in New York City
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Court – A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Court – A St Giles Hotel

Property: The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Address: 130 E 39th St, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#192 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#196 Business Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#246 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Court – A St Giles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate New York experience awaits you at The Court. While many hotels leave you feeling claustrophobic, The Court’s 199 spacious guest rooms (Superiors begin at 350 square feet) allow you to spread out in comfort and style. Signature Suites include the Empire Suite, the Chrysler Suite, and our fabulous Terrace Suites, featuring outdoor terraces with views of the city skyline. When you venture out, you will find yourself just steps away from Grand Central Terminal and the iconic Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. Icon Restaurant serves a variety of breakfast options each morning, while Court Bar mixes handcrafted cocktails by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Court – A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York City
The w Hotel
w Hotels New York City
w New York Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing