We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #325 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Its not a 4 star hotel, but given its location and price - its great.

A stone's throw away from the Empire State building, times square, fifth avenue, etc. The room i was assigned was huge. View wasn't much to speak of - though i could see the Empire State building.

The service was excellent - at the reception, the housekeeping and the doorman who was always around to help find a cab.

Would 100% stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meereeree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

924 - 930 of 2,103 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

This hotel is in my opinion in a good location. Minutes from Grand Central Station and a short walk to The Empire State Building. Situated at the corner of Lexington Ave and within an easy walk to 5th Ave. The hotel is clean and comfortable. However not all bedrooms are the same size as rooms facing East Ave are considerably smaller than rooms facing Lexington Ave. Bathroom small and basic. Beds are extremely comfortable and the room had a flat screen television. Wifi is available free of charge.

Room Tip: Scotties Diner at the corner of Lexington Ave can't be beaten for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I've now stayed at this hotel the last two times I've visited NYC for work. The rooms are good size for New York, the rooms are clean and the staff has always been very friendly. The bed sheets are soft and the beds are pretty comfortable... a little softer than I prefer, but still comfortable. My one negative would be that the shower's water pressure is only fair.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank coryfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

When I visit a city often I like to have a go-to hotel that I am familiar with. My favorite hotel in Mid-town sold out earlier this year and I had been at a loss where to stay that had good transportation options, and food options around mid-town. I found the St Giles on hotels.com and didn't know just how good it was until I checked in. To start with my room was ready early, and they upgraded me to a huge room. My room fronted Lexington avenue so it was not super quiet but hey, this is New York City! The front desk and concierge were both friendly and helpful. I got my bearings quickly and with Grand Central Terminal three blocks away it was easy to get to just about anywhere in the city.
At checkout time the bell desk took care of our luggage while we spent the rest of the day shopping. When we came back they found our luggage quickly and called a cab for our departure to the train station.
with Grand Central close by and several good restaurants this will be where I want to stay on future visits.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed at the hotel from 12/14-18/13.

First Impression: I walk up to the counter to check in and the guy behind the desk is hollering at someone behind the checkin area about something. I asked for a room with a view and I was told that my booking rate wouldnt allow anything other than what I had. Strange and unprofessional is how I would describe the first minute in the hotel.

My Room Pro's: Large room for a NYC hotel. Comfortable bed. Overall nice room.

My Room Con's: Even on the 13th floor the noise from Lexington Ave was very loud. I turned the AC fan to "on" to help with the street noise. Sink handles were broken.

Hotel Pro's: Convenient to Grand Central Terminal and Bryant Park. Big rooms.

Hotel Cons: Front desk workers were too preoccupied with each other to help the customers. The female concierge woman looked alseep everytime I walked up for the cider (a little acknowledgement would have been nice). It took about 15 minutes for me to get my luggage out of the holding room (even though there were two people working the front desk). The service was sketchy at best so stay at the Court expecting that.

I dont think too many 4 star hotels have ripped carpet up and down the halls, etc.

Would I go back? Maybe.

Should you stay there? if the rate is comparable to other 3 star hotels in the area.

Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Dont stay on the Lexington side unless you have ear plugs/sound machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank popedaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We travelled to New York City to see the Macy's Parade and celebrate my 50th birthday. I spent hours looking for a hotel that would accommodate myself, my husband, my 20 year old and 16 year old sons. The Court was a great choice!! Our room was HUGE!! It was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location cannot be beat. Don't spend hours on the internet looking for a place to stay. Book your stay at The Court!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollyandTIm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Our organization booked a room bloc at the St. Giles Hotel for a 2 day long conference in New York. Our contact at the hotel was Raquel Arnold. Raquel is professional, helpful, and very responsive to our needs. We had a lot of back and forth with her as our guest list was in flux a great deal leading up to the meeting. Raquel did a great job answering our questions and getting us the right number of rooms for our conference. Additionally, she was a great resource for our guests who decided to book their stay with the hotel outside of our allotted bloc.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Margarett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Good Morning Margarett L,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court! We are delighted to hear that Raquel provided such excellent service, and that your group had a great visit with us. I will be sure to share your kind words with Raquel and our Sales and Management Teams. We hope to see you again soon at The Court!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTheCourt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#189 of 469 in New York City
812 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#203 of 469 in New York City
3,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#150 of 469 in New York City
523 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#247 of 469 in New York City
2,334 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#130 of 469 in New York City
4,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Court – A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Court – A St Giles Hotel

Address: 130 E 39th St, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#192 Business Hotel in New York City
#204 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#212 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#241 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $158 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Court – A St Giles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate New York experience awaits you at The Court. While many hotels leave you feeling claustrophobic, The Court’s 199 spacious guest rooms (Superiors begin at 350 square feet) allow you to spread out in comfort and style. Signature Suites include the Empire Suite, the Chrysler Suite, and our fabulous Terrace Suites, featuring outdoor terraces with views of the city skyline. When you venture out, you will find yourself just steps away from Grand Central Terminal and the iconic Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. Icon Restaurant serves a variety of breakfast options each morning, while Court Bar mixes handcrafted cocktails by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Court – A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York City
The w Hotel
w Hotels New York City
w New York Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing