We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a great location; 2nd stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #333 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Second time at this hotel in two years. That in itself is saying something as we like to try different hotels to be in another area of the city or for a varied experience. But as soon as we decided to cancel our trip to DC due to the shutdown and go to NY instead, this was an obvious choice. We booked the Park and Play including parking and breakfast and thought it was a great value considering the time of year and the quality of the hotel. Upon arrival, staff were always friendly, helpful and attentive, especially the reception, concierge and housekeeping. Room is very roomy not only by NYC standards but in general. Great comfy beds, great amenities and tons of space to put away all of your luggage and shopping. Hotel is minutes away from all the attractions, in particular my favourite park in the city, Bryant Park. And if you would like to be away from all the crowd, head to Third Avenue and take your pick of more local offerings. Breakfast (continental) was pretty good but would get tedious if going for over 2 nights as it doesn't include any hot options. The only gripe for this hotel and it's only because I have night blindness (!) is that the common areas at all times are very dimly lit. I understand that it is contributes to the mood and ambiance of the hotel but during breakfast and in the hallways, it would be preferable to have a bit more light.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherylToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear CherylToronto,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court—we always love to welcome back return guests, and we are delighted to hear that you enjoy visiting our clean, spacious rooms and our great location here in Murray Hill. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to NYC!

It would be our pleasure to assist in reserving a future stay for you. For the best rates, you may always email our Director of Revenue and Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call one of our Accommodations Specialists at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code DIRECT when booking through our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Court very soon!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,017 - 1,023 of 2,144 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I spent Thursday night in Manhattan with our three kids (all under 8). The St Giles was a great home base for us and would highly recommend families upgrade to the junior suite as its the perfect size for a family that is looking for a little bit of privacy but doesn't want to spend too much in Manhattan. The Hotel is located just three blocks from Grand Central where you can take a train anywhere in the city you want to go with the kids. There are tons of local restaurants in the area to grab breakfast or snacks or whatever you need to get through the day. From our balcony (room 1208), you have a great view of the Chrysler Building at night. Even if you don't have a balcony (there is an even bigger one on the 15th floor), definitely ask for a room facing the Chrysler Building. The staff was great and let us check in before noon and at 1p on Friday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossfromCLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear RossfromCLT,

It was an honor to host you and your family at The Court during your recent visit to New York City! We are always glad to hear when guests find great value with us, especially at the Junior and Executive Suite rooms—at 600 to 700 square feet, there’s space to spread out and relax, even when traveling with the kids. We hope to welcome you back the next time NYC is on your radar!

It would be our pleasure to assist in reserving a future stay for you. For the best rates, you may always email our Director of Revenue and Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call one of our Accommodations Specialists at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code DIRECT when booking through our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Court very soon!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed for one night in October.

Hotel was eat to find. I arrived late and upon pulling up was greeted by a very professional security guard who took care of valet parking.

Check in was quick!

Hallways look dated but room was great.

Everything you would expect for a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandie2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear sandie2009,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court! We love it when guests are surprised by our spacious, comfortable rooms and great service—even late at night! We hope that The Court is on your list for your next visit to NYC.

It would be our pleasure to assist in reserving a future stay for you. For the best rates, you may always email our Director of Revenue and Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call one of our Accommodations Specialists at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code DIRECT when booking through our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Court very soon!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Spent 5 days in September.
Excellent location in Midtown East. Very close to UN and many companies.
Staff is very helpful. Rooms are large, if you compare to other hotels in this price range.
Room was a bit noisy (Lexington avenue is very close).
Coffee/tea in room would have been appreciated.
But overall experience is great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Stephane G,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit, and that our helpful staff left a great impression. We are always happy to provide a coffeemaker in the room upon request (and if you request while making your reservation, one will be waiting in the room for you upon arrival!)—we think this makes for the freshest coffee and machines for our guests who prefer coffee in the morning. Please do come back and visit us again soon!

It would be our pleasure to assist in reserving a future stay for you. For the best rates, you may always email our Director of Revenue and Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call one of our Accommodations Specialists at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code DIRECT when booking through our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Court very soon!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Brilliant location for walking to all midtown manhattan attractions. The staff in the hotel were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Even when we couldn't work out how to use the safe or turn the tv on!!! A member of staff was at our door five minutes after we rung reception for advice. We also received a call from reception checking that everything had been done. Can't ask for more than that. The rooms were adequate and clean and we didn't have any problems with noise ( on the fifth & 11th floors). Even had a lovely view of the Empire State Building. Would definately recommend this to friends without hesitation.

Room Tip: Court room side was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kimmy196844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Kimmy196844,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court! We love it when our staff leave a great impression, and I will be sure to share your kind words with everyone in the front office—the quick service, and excellent follow-up, is exactly what we want to hear! Thank you for recommending us to other travelers, and please do come back to enjoy a great view of the Empire State Building again sometime soon!

It would be our pleasure to assist in reserving a future stay for you. For the best rates, you may always email our Director of Revenue and Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call one of our Accommodations Specialists at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code DIRECT when booking through our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Court very soon!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Spent 7 days in September. (Room 301 or 302) Fantastic location and good sized rooms. Staff helpful and efficient. Decor on ground floor of hotel is awful; black, black and more black. Black net curtains on ground floor windows. Red lights on ground floor corridor. Mens cloakroom on ground floor is the brightest room. Bed was good. Bathroom poor. Only one tiny shelf(not like the photographs) soap holder in shower broken; handle to control shower not attached, but workable. staff remedied problem with handbasin quickly. Plenty of hot water always. housekeeping not great. Loads of dust in air conditioning grill and on TV table. Air conditioning old and noisy but efficient. Would have no real problem staying again despite all this. The essentials are ok.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John-Daniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear John-Daniel,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court. We are always delighted to hear when guests enjoy our spacious rooms and great location here in the Murray Hill neighborhood. With convenience to Grand Central, and the feel of a real New York City neighborhood, we love introducing guests to this part of town. We certainly appreciate your feedback regarding other areas of the hotel and your guest room—I will be sharing your view with our team so that we can take the proper steps to improve the guest experience at The Court. And should you be so inclined, I would like the opportunity to speak with you further. Please feel free to reach out to me personally at chriss@stgilesnewyork.com or by calling 212.592.8877.

We hope to welcome you back to The Court for a future visit!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My colleague and I stayed at The Court for 3 nights from Sept 17-20. They upgraded us to one-bedroom suites which were fantastic. Service and location were both great and the rooms were really clean and well laid out. It was very noisy at night but I suppose that's to be expected for NYC. I would 100% stay at The Court again and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in mid-town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relaxingonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear relaxingonthebeach,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court! We are so glad to hear that you and your colleague enjoyed one of our Executive Suites during your stay. We are always happy to provide an upgrade when available, and our suites offer a spacious escape here in Murray Hill. Please do come back and visit us again!

It would be our pleasure to assist in reserving a future stay for you. For the best rates, you may always email our Director of Revenue and Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call one of our Accommodations Specialists at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code DIRECT when booking through our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Court very soon!

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signatu...
#100 of 473 in New York City
1,962 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#187 of 473 in New York City
833 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#191 of 473 in New York City
3,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hotel Hayden
Hotel Hayden
#282 of 473 in New York City
242 reviews
Midtown
Life Hotel
Life Hotel
#364 of 473 in New York City
16 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade...
#109 of 473 in New York City
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Court – A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Court – A St Giles Hotel

Address: 130 E 39th St, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#191 Business Hotel in New York City
#204 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#211 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $110 - $1,035 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Court – A St Giles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate New York experience awaits you at The Court. While many hotels leave you feeling claustrophobic, The Court’s 199 spacious guest rooms (Superiors begin at 350 square feet) allow you to spread out in comfort and style. Signature Suites include the Empire Suite, the Chrysler Suite, and our fabulous Terrace Suites, featuring outdoor terraces with views of the city skyline. When you venture out, you will find yourself just steps away from Grand Central Terminal and the iconic Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. Icon Restaurant serves a variety of breakfast options each morning, while Court Bar mixes handcrafted cocktails by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Court – A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York City
The w Hotel
w Hotels New York City
w New York Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing