We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New York at it's best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Court – A St Giles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #299 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“New York at it's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Super. Large room for four. Well located near Grand Central Station and Bryant Park which is a beautiful park with different activities depending on the season. Concerts in summer, shops and bars in automn and winter and it's possible to state free during winter. If I make writing mistakes it's because my first language is french.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Nicole C,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court! We are so glad to hear that you had a marvelous stay with us, and that our spacious, comfortable rooms accommodated you and your traveling companions so well. Please come back and visit us again!

It would be our pleasure to arrange a future stay for you. For the best rates, you may always email our Director of Revenue and Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call one of our Accommodations Specialists at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code DIRECT when booking through our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The St Giles New York very soon!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    839
    360
    117
    62
See reviews for
358
771
119
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

St. Giles - the Court served as our "wedding hotel" during my August 31 wedding in NYC and I could not be happier with the experience. In fact, I am happier than I expected to be. The Court exceeded my expectations in nearly all regards. The Court is a fairly priced hotel in Midtown with large, good quality rooms and great service, which is exceptionally hard to find. If you are looking for a good hotel for either business or tourist purposes, look no further. Stay at The Court.

Approximately 25 guests at our wedding stayed at this hotel, so I was able to visit/observe numerous King-sized Deluxe rooms, plus two suites, at the Court. Our guests, who were a cross section of people including some from rural America (i.e. Iowa) that have not traveled much, others from Miami that travel domestically, and some very well-traveled friends from other cities, had only positive things to say about the hotel. Here's a summary of our impressions:

The rooms are huge by NYC standards (I think it is approx. 400 square feet for a deluxe/king room). Facing 39th Street (i.e. not facing a major street like 42nd), the hotel was more quiet than I expected. Not a single family/friend even commented on noise. The conditions/quality of the rooms was definitely above average, with all rooms looking like they've been modernized and upgraded in recent years. The decoration of the rooms was modern. Tourist-oriented magazines are in all the rooms. The suites (for which I had one that had a terrace overlooking the Chrysler Building and my fiancé had one with a view of the Empire State building (but no terrace)) were fantastic and absolutely oversized. I can guarantee there is no better suite in NYC at such a fair price point.

Service from the staff also exceeded my expectations. They were accommodating and helpful with positive attitudes during every conversation and encounter. They willingly assisted with special requests, which included my Maid of Honor needing to get into my room (but not having a key!) at my request while I was out to assisting my family with requests for rooms away from street noise or changing my father's room at my request, in order to honor him and his contribution to my wedding. The hotel was full the weekend of my wedding, due to it being a holiday weekend, so I observed the staff in contact with other guests not associated with my wedding, and I observed the same level of consideration and service given to others.

Extra appreciation and thanks goes to the Manager Chris and his staff, as well as to Ms. Raquel Arnold and the staff of the sales department.

If you are looking for a hotel that is very close to tourist action/sites but not directly in the middle of the tourist chaos (which is a little too much in Times Square, etc), I strongly suggest this hotel. My husband and I will be staying there again on our way back through NYC at the end of our honeymoon. We look forward to it.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are probably a little quieter, though a room on the 3rd floor wasn't really even to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Sheri R,

It was our absolute pleasure to host you, your friends and family during your recent wedding in New York City. We know how stressful planning and putting on a wedding can be, and we are so delighted to hear that we were able to help facilitate when needed. I will be sharing your review with our sales department, front office, and housekeeping teams. We strive to provide seamless, warm, personal service to all of our guests, and we are always eager to hear when we are succeeding.

Should you wish to stay with us on a return visit, it would be my pleasure to personally arrange your stay. Feel free to email me at chriss@stgilesnewyork.com or contact me via telephone at 212.592.8877.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Court very soon!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Court is located in a great location. The desk help was very helpful with helping organize site seeing trips and transportation. Our room was wonderful....Window looked out on the Empire State Building...and it was nice and quiet away from the street noise...Plenty of room....TV was a problem...wouldn't always work...But otherwise it was a delightful stay in the Big Apple...

Room Tip: Higher floors and an inside room was very quiet...Did not notice ANY street noise....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Susan A,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court! We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed our spacious, comfortable rooms and a beautiful view of the Empire State Building. Our staff is our best asset, and we are always eager to hear that they have left a great impression on our guests—I will be sure to share you kind words with them. We certainly regret that you had issues with the TV in your room. I’ll be speaking with our engineering department about that to ensure that we have consistent service in every guest room. Please do come back to visit us again!

Please let us know if we can be of assistance in reserving a future stay for you. For the best rates, you may always email our Director of Revenue and Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call one of our Accommodations Specialists at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code DIRECT when booking through our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Court very soon!

Warm Regards
Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

A great central location if you want to explore the city. The room was spacious and clean but very sparse (not in a chic way). All in all, a great value with nice service. Would stay there again if offered the same deal.

Room Tip: We had an inside room that faced a small courtyard so we didn't have a view but it was very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kfitzc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear kfitzc,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court! We are glad to hear that you found our spacious, clean rooms to be a great value in Midtown. We are always happy to request a higher floor and view room if you prefer. Though we cannot guarantee a specific room or view, we certainly do our very best to honor all guest requests. Please do come back and visit us again!

Please let us know if we can be of assistance in reserving a future stay for you. For the best rates, you may always email our Director of Revenue and Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call one of our Accommodations Specialists at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code DIRECT when booking through our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Court very soon!

Warm Regards
Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Point, New York
Level Contributor
138 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

From our room we had a wonderful view of the Empire State Building. The bed and pillows are luxurious! This hotel might be a little pricy but it is well worth it. So close to the Chrysler Building, Grand Central Station and of course the Beir Haus! This hotel is clean and perfect for any occasion!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear michelle w,

What a delightful review of your recent experience at The Court – thank you so much for sharing it! The Empire State Building can be magic both day and night, and we are so glad you enjoyed the marvelous view from your room. Please do come back and visit us here in Murray Hill again.

It would be our pleasure to arrange a future stay for you. For the best rates, you may always email our Director of Revenue and Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, call one of our Accommodations Specialists at 888.406.8588, or use the promo code DIRECT when booking through our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Court very soon!

Warm Regards
Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had a good stay at the Court St Giles, it was in a decent location in Murray Hill, main issue for this place was noise, if you get a room facing Lexington avenue, it can be very noisy. The room itself was ok and the the hotel had a cool bar for a nightcap. I would probably rank this a a 3 star hotel, just on the basis that there was nothing particularly luxury about, However, you could do a lot worse in New York than here

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherSecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were upgraded to a junior suite upon arrival after letting the front desk know it was our 1st Anniversary. What an awesome idea. We got a beautiful big two room suite with a great view of the Chrysler Building from the couch and the bedroom. The front desk was kind and informative. The room was clean but the mini bar was $$$$ Wow. Being a corner suite, we got street noise from both sides as well as construction on the building across Lexington St. All in all, a good hotel for the theater district and Times Square.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#126 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,600 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#197 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#133 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#243 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#73 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Court – A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Court – A St Giles Hotel

Property: The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Address: 130 E 39th St, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#186 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#197 Business Hotel in New York City
#217 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#247 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Court – A St Giles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate New York experience awaits you at The Court. While many hotels leave you feeling claustrophobic, The Court’s 199 spacious guest rooms (Superiors begin at 350 square feet) allow you to spread out in comfort and style. Signature Suites include the Empire Suite, the Chrysler Suite, and our fabulous Terrace Suites, featuring outdoor terraces with views of the city skyline. When you venture out, you will find yourself just steps away from Grand Central Terminal and the iconic Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. Icon Restaurant serves a variety of breakfast options each morning, while Court Bar mixes handcrafted cocktails by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Court – A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York City
The w Hotel
w Hotels New York City
w New York Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing