We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“made my special birthday really special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #310 of 466 Hotels in New York City
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“made my special birthday really special”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

we stayed in the court 26th april till 1st may. special trip for my 50th birthday we had already got an upgrade by the holiday company but when we arrived and checked in maria gave us an upgrade to a room on the 14th floor looking at the chrysler building because it was my birthday. we also recieved a voucher for a complementary drink on my birthday lovely, the room was very large for new york and the bed was large and very comfy so much so i went for a nap and slept till next morning. juan and all the staff were brilliant we were made to feel very welcome and nothing was a problem. the light in our closet wasnt working i inadvertently gave juan the wrong number when we came back in that afternoon juan saw me and explained i had given him the wrong number and he apologised for having not fixed the problem. now come on how many hotel staff would do that!!!. oh and the maintenance man was up to fix our light in under 10 minutes! we found the hotel was ideally situated in new york for us, my hubby cant stand the biz of times square, and this was ideal central station 5 minutes away and we walked most of the time 5th avenue my fav.when we go back to new york we will definately stay here again. thanks again to all the staff your management are luck to have you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lasaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear lasaScotland,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court! It was a pleasure to host you for your 50th birthday weekend in NYC. We are so glad that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and our prime location near Grand Central. Our staff is our best asset, and we are delighted that Juan and his colleagues took such good care of you—I will be sure to share your kinds words with them.

Should you, your friends or family have the opportunity to visit NYC again, it would be our pleasure to arrange your future visit. Simply email our Director of Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com or speak with an Accommodations Specialist at 888.406.8588 and mention TripAdvisor for our best favorable rates.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Court!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    862
    377
    126
    67
See reviews for
372
791
122
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Excellent front desk service.
-Smooth and quick check-in at around noon.
- friendly and helpful.
- detail explanation, patience.

Room
- clean, comfy bed and spacious
- free wifi
- Philosophy bath products
- the style/decor is not the latest or chic but I say it is a pretty decent room

Location
- centrally located at 39th and Lexington
- few blocks away from Bryant Park and Times Square

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Denise C,

What a delight to read your excellent little review of The Court! We are delighted to see that your experience at check in was efficient, smooth, and that our associates took the time to provide you with the details you needed. Our clean and comfortable rooms await your return stay with us!

We would be delighted to make your second stay with us even better than the first, and it would be our pleasure to personally arrange a future visit for you at The Court. Simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com and we will offer you the best favorable rates for a return visit.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Very close to Grand Central Terminal and the 4,5 and 6 train.
Construction going on across the street which was loud. Bed was very comfortable and after a long day of sight seeing it was great to sink into. Will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katcat512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Katcat512,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our great location near Grand Central and that our beds provided you with such restful sleep!
Please do come back to visit us again soon!

We would be delighted to make your second stay with us even better than the first, and it would be our pleasure to personally arrange a future visit for you at The Court. Simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com and we will offer you the best favorable rates for a return visit.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is still my favorite place to stay in NYC both for business and fun, I like it for a number of reasons. The rooms are spacious , especially if you move up in categories. The rooms with a terrace are well worth the extra cost. The location is great at 39th and Lex - an easy walk up 5th for shopping and to central park or south to Empire State or Union Square and plenty of restaurant choices right outside the door along 3rd Ave. The staff is helpful and friendly and the rates are reasonable.

Room Tip: Go for a terrace .. worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck_Garnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Chuck_Garnet,

We are so lucky to be your favorite in NYC! Thank you so much for sharing your experience at The Court, and we agree, the Terrace Suites are awesome. We will be sure to share you kinds words with our associates.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of assistance in any way at chriss@stgilesnewyork.com or by calling 212.592.8877. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay at The Court!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel staff is really friendly. I have stayed in many hotels in NYC and never witnessed such staff. I definitely recommend this hotel. The rooms are bit old but worth the money. The location is perfect for midtiown ppl. They will upgrade you if a suite is available.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Sam A,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court! It is always a pleasure to provide an upgrade when one is available, and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We especially appreciate that our staff took such wonderful care of you—our associates are our best asset, and I will be sure to share your kinds words with them. Please come back to visit us again soon!

We would be delighted to make your second stay with us even better than the first, and it would be our pleasure to personally arrange a future visit for you at The Court. Simply email our Director of Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com and we will offer you the best favorable rates for a return visit.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here a few times for business. Great location, nice rooms, but what makes me really return is the service. From the check-in to the guys who park your car, every staff member goes above and beyond to make sure you feel special and have a hassle-free stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear HeatherBunny,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Court, and for your loyalty in staying with us while traveling to New York on business. We are delighted to hear that the service provided by our associates keeps you coming back—I will be sharing your kind words with our staff. They are our best asset, and deserve recognition. Should you have any questions, or if we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to contact me personally at chriss@stgilesnewyork.com or by calling 212.592.8877.

We look forward to your next visit at The Court!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is by far my favorite New York hotel--and I've stayed in a lot of them. It's reasonably priced, centrally located, clean comfortable, friendly...everything you want in a hotel. As a frequent visitor, they always take care of me with room upgrades, etc. The rooms--especially the suites--are amazing, and enormous for NYC, almost the size of an apartment. Some may quibble about details, but I think the value is unmatched. I visit the city at least a half dozen times a year, and this is where I stay. I almost don't want people to find out about it! (P.S. Scotty's Diner, just around the corner, is a classic Manhattan diner experience--bare bones, but great food, especially at breakfast.)

Room Tip: Ask about room upgrades--or, better yet, get their preferred guest card, free of charge, from the we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaw11946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Shaw11946,

Thank you for continuing to choose The Court as your NYC hotel—we are so lucky to be your favorite! We love welcoming back our returning and consistent guests, and we are delighted to make your stay with us extra special. Should you ever have questions, or if we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to contact me personally at chriss@stgilesnewyork.com or by calling 212.592.8877.

We look forward to your next visit at The Court!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#195 of 466 in New York City
788 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#253 of 466 in New York City
2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#127 of 466 in New York City
4,798 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#134 of 466 in New York City
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Court – A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Court – A St Giles Hotel

Property: The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Address: 130 E 39th St, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#192 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#194 Business Hotel in New York City
#214 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#243 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Court – A St Giles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate New York experience awaits you at The Court. While many hotels leave you feeling claustrophobic, The Court’s 199 spacious guest rooms (Superiors begin at 350 square feet) allow you to spread out in comfort and style. Signature Suites include the Empire Suite, the Chrysler Suite, and our fabulous Terrace Suites, featuring outdoor terraces with views of the city skyline. When you venture out, you will find yourself just steps away from Grand Central Terminal and the iconic Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. Icon Restaurant serves a variety of breakfast options each morning, while Court Bar mixes handcrafted cocktails by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Court – A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York City
The w Hotel
w Hotels New York City
w New York Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing