We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #315 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Farmington Hills, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The room was very small but it was clean and nice overall. I liked the Philosophy bath products. Staff was friendly. The problems I had were that there were only washcloths in the room 1 out of the 3 nights I stayed and their breakfast was super expensive but I guess that's what you get in NYC.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mallory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Mallory S,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court! We are so glad that you enjoyed our clean rooms and the Philosophy bath products. We love it when our associates leave a great impression, and I will be sure to share your kinds words with them. We certainly apologize for the oversight on washcloths in the bathroom—please do not hesitate to pick up the phone or stop by the front desk if there is a deficit in your room, and we will be delighted to ensure that whatever is missing or out of place is fixed in a timely manner. We hope you return to visit us again soon.

Should you, your friends or family have the opportunity to visit NYC again, it would be our pleasure to arrange your future visit. Simply email our Director of Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com or speak with an Accommodations Specialist at 888.406.8588 and mention TripAdvisor for our best favorable rates.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Court!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    870
    381
    131
    67
See reviews for
378
799
123
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just stayed overnight at The Court. Nice well lit room with a king size bed. Bathroom was also nice and clean. Walkable distance to Central Station so convenient for getting everywhere. Front desk was very welcoming on arrival and all staff were pleasant and helpful.I would say this Hotel is value for money in NYC and would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sachin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Sachin K,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our spacious, modern rooms and bathrooms. We are especially happy to learn that our staff members were welcoming, warm and pleasant—we love it when our associates leave such a great impression. Please come back and visit us in Murray Hill again soon!

Should you, your friends or family have the opportunity to visit NYC again, it would be our pleasure to arrange your future visit. Simply email our Director of Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com or speak with an Accommodations Specialist at 888.406.8588 and mention TripAdvisor for our best favorable rates.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Court!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

First off, the management gave us an upgraded room as we were celebrating a special occasion. This was MUCH appreciated. However, I was really surprised at the condition of the first 'upgraded' room we were placed in. The room was spacious but very awkward and the decor was pretty awful- retro '70's. The string for the blinds was broken and tied together (really??). When I pulled the blinds up, they were completely crooked and stayed that way. The bag holding the hair dryer in the bathroom was totally ripped and sad looking on its hook on the bathroom door. The television was impossible to use and we had to have someone come in more than once to 'fix' the signal. We were also supposed to have a pull-out bed but ended up in a room with a giant wrap around couch- no pull-out for the kids. Three of us were in the king size bed and one of us ended up on the couch. The next night we ended up in a nicer room with a terrace (and a pull-out). The terrace was a lot of fun but again it's the details that really took away from the overall experience. The furniture on the terrace had no cushions at all and the wood was extremely weathered and peeling. Not pleasant to sit on at all. They did deliver some cushions after we asked but the whole process seemed really unorganized- everything took multiple phone calls and time. Not a well-oiled machine here.
The last bit that I found unpleasant was the lack of light in the lobby and hallways- dark, dark, dark! Sadly we paid over $600 for two nights..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prod4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear prod4,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court. Please accept our sincere apologies that your stay with us did not meet or exceed your expectations. I would like to speak with you in person so that I can better understand the shortcomings you experienced and take the necessary steps to improve our operations. We pride ourselves on our focus on the details, and we are disappointed that we did not live up to our standards in this instance. We sincerely apologize for the details that you found out of order (malfunctioning blinds, television issues, in-room hairdryer problems, and unadorned terrace furniture) and our seemingly disorganized response. We would love an opportunity to show you a true St Giles experience. Should you have the inclination, please feel free to reach out to me at chriss@stgilesnewyork.com, or by calling 212.592.8877. I look forward to speaking with you and the opportunity to improve our guest experience.

Sincerely,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

It is really hard to write about this hotel. If you asked me would I stay again the answer would be no but if you asked me why I would struggle to put my finger on it.

The hotel is well placed in the heart of midtown Manhatton close to both the tourist parts such as the Empire State building , Broadway etc and only 10 minutes walk from the nice areas such as Flatiron.

The staff are helpful and welcoming but the whole place has a dark feel tot it.vthe lobby is dark the corridors are dark and the rooms are dark. The only place bright enough to read was the bathroom which could have been cleaner.

My first time in New York so I have nothing to compare it with but next time I will try elsewhere. I have been told hotel rooms in New York are small which this certainly was not. The bed was comfy but as I said there was just something I did not connect with at the hotel.

I didn't try the breakfast as even by New York prices it was expensive - pop 3 blocks north to Grand Central Station and get a fantastic bagel and good quality coffee for a quarter the price

Room Tip: Ask for 39th Street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Geoff N,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court. We regret to hear that your stay with us did not quite live up to your expectations. While our lobby and hallways do tend to have lower levels of natural light, we do strive to provide a number of lighting options in our guest rooms. If you ever find that lighting in your room is insufficient for your needs, we will be happy to provide additional floor or desk lamps to increase available light for you upon request. We are also happy to request a corner room for you, as double exposure sometimes provides a greater amount of natural light in the room. I would like to speak with you in detail about your visit, so that we can take the necessary steps to improve our amenities and services. Should you be so inclined, please feel free to reach out to me at chriss@stgilesnewyork.com or by calling 212.592.8877. We would love another opportunity to show you a true St Giles experience—one that will connect with you and provide you an exceptional New York City experience.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel has lots going for it, but it's not a 4-star hotel as advertised. If you are looking for 4-star amenities, this is not your place. The best thing about it is its location on the corner of Lexington and 39th, close to Grand Central, but not noisy. The rooms are spacious. I had been warned to ask for an upgrade when we checked in and did so, so have no idea what we would have gotten with just an ordinary room for 2, but we ended up with a king-sized bed and room to turn around in, which is a plus in NYC. The desk had peeling paint and the mini-bar still had the remnants of the past guests. All-in-all you got the feeling that the hotel needed some work, but the staff was pleasant, the elevators worked, and you could turn around in the bathroom and the bedroom, so I'd go back.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade. They seem to give them easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EthelMertz1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear EthelMertz1115,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our spacious, modern rooms and bathrooms—we are always delighted to provide an upgrade for our guests when available. We also love to hear that our staff provided great service for you, as that is our first priority. We do regret, however, to hear that some of the furniture and the minibar were not up to our standards. I would like to speak with you regarding the issues in the room. If you are so inclined, please feel free to contact me at chriss@stgilesnewyork.com or by calling 212.592.8877. We would love to make your second visit even better than the first.

Should you, your friends or family have the opportunity to visit NYC again, it would be our pleasure to arrange your future visit. Simply email our Director of Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com or speak with an Accommodations Specialist at 888.406.8588 and mention TripAdvisor for our best favorable rates.

Thank you and I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Just returned from a 6 night stay at The Court. Nice big room with a huge comfy bed. Bathroom well fitted and roomy. Everything kept clean and tidy. Only a 5 minute walk from Central Station so convenient for getting everywhere. The hotel only serves breakfast not evening meals but the price was reasonable and comparable with local Diners/Delis, of which there are many, and less than some. Front desk, Maria, was very welcoming on arrival and all staff were pleasant and helpful. Our room was at the back so was very quiet and we could see the Empire State Building from our window, Thought the Hotel was good value for a City Hotel and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Room at the back was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janny016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Janny016,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court! We are delighted to hear that you found great value with us, and that you enjoyed our prime location and our spacious rooms and bathrooms. We love it when our associates leave a great impression, and I will be sharing your kind words with Maria and her colleagues. Thank you for recommending us to others, and we hope to see you again soon!

Should you, your friends or family have the opportunity to visit NYC again, it would be our pleasure to arrange your future visit. Simply email our Director of Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com or speak with an Accommodations Specialist at 888.406.8588 and mention TripAdvisor for our best favorable rates.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Court.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised to discover this boutique hotel. The room was spacious, clean and lovely. Got to love a hotel with Philosophy toiletries and free wifi! There was some street noise at night, but I slept comfortably. The staff were very helpful and accomodated my request for early check-in. Would definitely return in the future!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingLoaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear TravelingLoaf,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Court! We are so glad to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by The Court—we think we are a hidden gem here in the Murray Hill neighborhood. And we love it when our associates leave a great impression—I will be sure to share your kind words with them. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Should you, your friends or family have the opportunity to visit NYC again, it would be our pleasure to arrange your future visit. Simply email our Director of Reservations, Christopher Jevas, at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com or speak with an Accommodations Specialist at 888.406.8588 and mention TripAdvisor for our best favorable rates.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Court.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#195 of 467 in New York City
790 reviews
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#100 of 467 in New York City
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#248 of 467 in New York City
2,286 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#136 of 467 in New York City
501 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#131 of 467 in New York City
4,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Court – A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Court – A St Giles Hotel

Property: The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Address: 130 E 39th St, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#193 Business Hotel in New York City
#198 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#213 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#242 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Court – A St Giles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate New York experience awaits you at The Court. While many hotels leave you feeling claustrophobic, The Court’s 199 spacious guest rooms (Superiors begin at 350 square feet) allow you to spread out in comfort and style. Signature Suites include the Empire Suite, the Chrysler Suite, and our fabulous Terrace Suites, featuring outdoor terraces with views of the city skyline. When you venture out, you will find yourself just steps away from Grand Central Terminal and the iconic Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. Icon Restaurant serves a variety of breakfast options each morning, while Court Bar mixes handcrafted cocktails by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Court – A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York City
The w Hotel
w Hotels New York City
w New York Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing