We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely HARRASSED by housekeeping” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Court – A St Giles Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #299 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Westland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely HARRASSED by housekeeping”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

There is someting inherently wrong when housekeeping refuses to honor the DO NOT DISTURB sign every day it was on the door knob. When having late nights we enjoy sleeping in, just resting in the room or trying to take naps. This was impossible when the housekeeping manager called the room every day @ 12:30 asking to come in. The housekeepers working on the floor started knocking on doors at 8:45 am, they let doors slam and vacuumed in front of our room twice, the first time I refused to let them in the room {our room was the last one at the end of a hallway, minimal traffic} Even though she [HK manager] was informed twice, and complaints made to the hotel assistant manager twice as well, she still called the third time the sign was on the door. Talk about ruining the mood.
The room itself was plain. There were NO amenities, no icemaker, coffee maker etc.,the in room fridge was stocked with mini bar items.
There is a first floor bar.

Room Tip: Only plan on staying here if you are going to be out of the room all day or if you really do not wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitea8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear whitea8,

We regret that your recent experience at The Court did not meet your expectations. Please know that by sharing your experience and providing feedback that you also provide an opportunity for us to improve. We strive to provide a seamless and unobtrusive experience for all guests, and we regret that we did not live up to that promise. While it is our policy to clean all guest rooms every day, your experience certainly does not meet our service standards.

I would like to speak with you directly about your experience with us in detail. Please feel free to contact me at chriss@stgilesnewyork.com or by calling 212.685.1100 ext. 1305. We would love the opportunity to show you a true St Giles Hotel experience.

Sincerely,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    839
    360
    117
    62
See reviews for
358
771
119
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I was here for a work trip, and company made the booking here due to corporate rate available. Check-in was quick and pleasant, and room was fine, but nothing exceptional. And for me, the lack of a desk was particularly bothersome as I had a lot of work to do and had to manage sitting on the bed. Heating vent was very noisy and the pedestal sink in the bathroom meant no space to put toiletries, which was annoying too. I used the gym one morning, which is actually at the sister hotel next door - that was great. Bed was very comfortable. And I appreciated the restaurant recommendation from the guy at the front desk - he directed me to a nearby Indian restaurant that was superb.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back versus the street - colleagues in other rooms complained of very loud str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aliwally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear aliwally,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Court. We are glad to hear that our staff and amenities made for a very pleasant stay. Some of our standard rooms do not offer executive writing desks—should you have the opportunity to stay with us again, please feel free to call or email us your special requests, as we always do our very best to honor the needs and desires of our guests. And should you have any questions, you can reach me anytime at chriss@stgilesnewyork.com

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Christ Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed here ofr 2 nights in February which is a great time for excellent hotel rates. Pleasant and professional service consistently during our entire stay from all of the staff. The lobby is small but adequate. They serve warm cider at the front desk. The room was a standard king on floor 10. I asked for the highest floor possible. Bed was super comfortable. The room wasn't huge but it wasn't tiny either. Great closet space. Nice big flatscreen tv. Fully stocked mini bar and wine glasses and wine cork opener. Bathroom adequate equipped with shampoo, conditioner, soaps, etc.. The Heating/Cooling was fine (a little clunky and slow to react to switching the temp) but we were comfy. Our room was on the street side and we had the great view of the Chrysler Building. The hotel is rated as a 4 star. While it's clean and adequate and I'd certainly stay here again I'm not certain that it should be rated as a 4 star. It is a boutique style hotel in an older building which may be difficult to fit into the standard hotel rating system. Nevertheless it's certainly no dump -- this is a very nice low key place in a nice quiet neighborhood.

*Grand Central Station is only a 3 minute walk up Lexington. MTA train right at GSC.
*Lucid Cafe coffee shop on Lex & 37th near corner. EXCELLENT Latte's etc.

(note) we travel with a little electric noise machine to eliminate street noise.
(note) at the time writing this there is a construction builing project going up across Lexington.
(Note) I've read earlier posts about wrongful billing of mini bar stuff. The same occurred with us. I learned about it by accident. The mini bar attendant brought it to our attention just before checkout. He was kind enough to call front desk to have charges reversed. Upon checkout the frontdesk confirmed the reversed charges and they did not appear on my final billing. Unfortunately 2 days later I noticed the extra charge ($100+) showing up on my Credit card. I called and they were helpful indicating that the reverse may take a few days to show on my statement. At anyrate, after thinking about it the billing system for the mini bar appears to be completely separate from their normal billing for the room (since it did not appear on my checkout statement). Plus, they appear to hit your card for incidentals before checkout? I'm not sure. It just seems wierd. My CC is not yet resolved as of wrting this but they've been helpful on the phone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moxiefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear moviefox,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Court. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and especially that you found our service standards professional and consistent—we strive to provide that level of service to all of our guests. Should you have the opportunity to visit us again, please send me an email at chriss@stgilesnewyork.com and we will be sure to provide you with a warm welcome!

We are also happy to offer you favorable rates for a future stay. You can book directly through our website by using promo code THANKS, by contacting our Director of Revenue and Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, or by calling one of our Accommodations Specialists at 888.406.8588.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Christ Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, NY
Level Contributor
194 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

The hotel has a great location, but our room faced Lexington Ave and the building immediately across the street was a construction site. From 6:40 am - 6 pm, the noise was awful. And the hotel does little to alleviate this situation. There are no curtains, only a shade on a single pane window. The bathroom is semi-clean, but kind of grungy and tired. The bed is very comfortable and the room itself is okay, but really dimly lit. The food at breakfast is pricey, but good.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor. We were on the fifth floor and could hear the traffic quite clearly. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitkat_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Kitkat_NY,

We regret to hear that your stay at The Court did not meet your expectations. I would love to speak with you directly about your experience in detail. Should you be so inclined, you may reach me at chriss@stgilesnewyork.com or by calling 212.685.1100, ext 1305. We want all of our guests to experience a signature St Giles visit, and we believe it is important to follow up when those standards are not met.

Sincerely,

Christ Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Had booked a standard room for one night for a very decent price directly through the St. Giles Voila site. Was in much hurry when I got there but the check in process took literary 5 minutes or less. What was my surprise when I opened the door of my room and found a humongous apartment!! Bigger apartment (an Executive Suite) than what most Manhattaners have for a living space: huge living room with a Bang & Olufsen system, even bigger bedroom (as if), the highest ceilings ever, walk in closet.... Please note that Aamira (the other receptionist Daniel told me later her name) had upgraded me to this elegant apartment (fifth floor, quiet, facing the back and not on the avenues) without me asking for anything whatsoever. Just to tell you what kind and welcoming cool people work in this place!
Overall, the place is very much like a luxury apartment building with courtly doormen and personnel. I appreciated their unobtrusive but efficient professional manners. Will absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Linanyc,

Thank you so much for posting your wonderful review of The Court! I will be sure to share you kind words with Aamira and Daniel—we are delighted when our associates leave an impression. And how wonderful that you enjoyed one of our Executive Suites; we agree, they are bigger and better than most NYC apartments. We hope you return to visit us again soon.

Should you have the opportunity or need to visit New York City again, we are happy to offer you favorable rates. You can book directly through our website by using promo code THANKS, by contacting our Director of Revenue and Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, or by calling one of our Accommodations Specialists at 888.406.8588.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Christ Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I've stayed in The Court 4 or 5 times and once in The Tuscany (the sister hotel next door). I like the location; the rooms are very nice and (by Manhattan standards) relatively spacious, and the price is quite attractive.

One thing has come to bother me, though, and may affect whether I decide to stay there again. The rooms are dimly lit. All the bulbs in the lighting fixtures and lamps are low wattage, which may be very environment friendly but it makes the room seem dreary. On my last visit (February 2013) the lighting in the closet area was so dim that I couldn't tell the colors of my shirts that were hanging.

I've asked on two different stays to have the bulbs upgraded. The first time they told me that this can't be done, that they are using the maximum wattage. This past visit, I asked again and if they changed anything it wasn't apparent to me.

Too bad, it's otherwise a very nice find.

Room Tip: There is construction across Lexington Avenue from the hotel so it's best to request a room faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekatzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear ekatzen,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience of The Court and The Tuscany. Though we are certainly glad that your stays overall have been excellent, we regret to hear that your inquiries did not receive the follow up and responses they merited. I would be delighted to speak with you directly about your concerns. Please contact me at chriss@stgilesnewyork.com or by calling 212.685.1100, ext 1305.

Should you have the opportunity or need to visit New York City again, we are happy to offer you favorable rates. You can book directly through our website by using promo code THANKS, by contacting our Director of Revenue and Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, or by calling one of our Accommodations Specialists at 888.406.8588.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Christ Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Another great stay at The Court. This hotel has great benefit of being between the hustle of the main business / tourist centres and residential neighbourhoods. This makes it handy enough to for both business and pleasure and also has the advantage of having plenty of local places to eat and drink (before a final nightcap in The Lex!). Room was spacious and clean as always and the decor makes this a home from home for me. Staff always friendly!!!

Will be back soon!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trumpetgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear trumpetgb,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience of The Court! We love to hear that guests think of us as their NYC home. I will be sure to pass your kind words on to our marvelous staff.

Should you have the opportunity or need to visit New York City again, we are happy to offer you favorable rates. You can book directly through our website by using promo code THANKS, by contacting our Director of Revenue and Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, or by calling one of our Accommodations Specialists at 888.406.8588.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Christ Swaim
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#128 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,605 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#195 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#242 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#130 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#73 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Court – A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Court – A St Giles Hotel

Property: The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Address: 130 E 39th St, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#184 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#197 Business Hotel in New York City
#217 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#247 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Court – A St Giles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate New York experience awaits you at The Court. While many hotels leave you feeling claustrophobic, The Court’s 199 spacious guest rooms (Superiors begin at 350 square feet) allow you to spread out in comfort and style. Signature Suites include the Empire Suite, the Chrysler Suite, and our fabulous Terrace Suites, featuring outdoor terraces with views of the city skyline. When you venture out, you will find yourself just steps away from Grand Central Terminal and the iconic Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. Icon Restaurant serves a variety of breakfast options each morning, while Court Bar mixes handcrafted cocktails by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda and Reservation Counter so you can book your The Court – A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York City
The w Hotel
w Hotels New York City
w New York Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing