We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #330 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Another great stay at The Court. This hotel has great benefit of being between the hustle of the main business / tourist centres and residential neighbourhoods. This makes it handy enough to for both business and pleasure and also has the advantage of having plenty of local places to eat and drink (before a final nightcap in The Lex!). Room was spacious and clean as always and the decor makes this a home from home for me. Staff always friendly!!!

Will be back soon!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trumpetgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear trumpetgb,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience of The Court! We love to hear that guests think of us as their NYC home. I will be sure to pass your kind words on to our marvelous staff.

Should you have the opportunity or need to visit New York City again, we are happy to offer you favorable rates. You can book directly through our website by using promo code THANKS, by contacting our Director of Revenue and Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, or by calling one of our Accommodations Specialists at 888.406.8588.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Christ Swaim
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,187 - 1,193 of 2,115 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at The Court for 2 nights and had a great time. Our room was on the 14th floor and so had no problem with noise and a great view of the Chrysler building. The room was clean and well equipped.

We got to check in early(without charge) when we arrived and they held our bags on the last day before our flight left.

The location is great and close to Grand Central, starbucks, a convenience store, times square(5-10mins) etc.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finrobin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear Finrobin R,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Court. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the Chrysler Building view (it’s fantastic, isn’t it?) and our prime location in Murray Hill. We hope you return to visit us again soon.

Should you have the opportunity or need to visit New York City again, we are happy to offer you favorable rates. You can book directly through our website by using promo code THANKS, by contacting our Director of Revenue and Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, or by calling one of our Accommodations Specialists at 888.406.8588.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Christ Swaim
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend- booking through Hotwire got us a good deal, around $100 a night. The hotel is nice and clean, the rooms are nice and spacious. Facing north we had a great view of the Chrysler building. You can tell the place is older, there's a few cracks in the wall and chipped paint in a few places but they do a good job of keeping it maintained nicely. The location is so close to Grand Central Terminal and within walking distance of many different attractions. Definitely good value for the money, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skjb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear skjb88,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Court. We are so glad you enjoyed the Chrysler Building view! Please come back and visit us anytime.

Should you have the opportunity or need to visit New York City again, we are happy to offer you favorable rates. You can book directly through our website by using promo code THANKS, by contacting our Director of Revenue and Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, or by calling one of our Accommodations Specialists at 888.406.8588.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Christ Swaim
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

St. Giles - The Court is located in the Murray Hill neighborhood of Manhattan. The hotel is literally two blocks away from Grand Central, which makes it convenient to travel around town. The hotel indeed is four star quality.

Pros:
+ Convenient Location
+ Attractive interior design
+ Comfortable Bed (California King Bed is truly a treat)
+ Spacious Room (with a mini bar, large desk, sexy red chaise!)
+ Philosophy amenities
+ Respectful and kind doormen
+ Complimentary Wi-Fi (though Wi-Fi is not always consistent and checks in and out)
+ Great shower head (truly a great shower!)

Areas for Growth:
- Can the housekeepers reduce noise level in the morning? Not only do i hear the shuffling of the towel and clean up carts, I also hear conversations between the staff as early as 8AM. I understand that the job needs to be done, but for those who are on vacation, a wake up call of "Housekeeping here, is anyone in there?" is just not pleasant.
- Hit and miss with staff interaction, some staff members truly provide 5 star service, while others range between 2-4.
- Though the bed was extremely comfortable with high thread counts, I did notice damaged and torn mattress while relaxing on the chaise.
- Not much of a view if you were interested in a room with a view.

Overall I would return and stay at The Court for their great value, comfortable + clean room, and convenient location. I would highly recommend this play for family and friends.

Thank you St. Giles for your service and hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_TriNguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear Mr_TriNguyen,

Thank you for posting this wonderfully thorough review of the Court! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us overall. Thank you especially for bringing to our attention the service issues that you experienced—we strive to provide a consistent level of service, and when service is inconsistent, we always like to make a thorough review. If you, your friends or family decide to stay with us in the future, please reach out to me at chriss@stgilesnewyork.com. You can book favorable rates directly through our website by using promo code THANKS, by contacting our Director of Revenue and Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, or by calling one of our Accommodations Specialists at 888.406.8588.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Christ Swaim
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

As a former luxury hotel general manager, I was very pleased with the quality of service and value. Exquisitely located in Midtown (on the corner outside the entrance you see the iconic Chrysler building), what makes our stay memorable is the extra attention the staff afforded us. When making online reservations, I noted it was my wife's 40th birthday. We weren't expecting it, but we were upgraded to a suite, had a welcome note and 'cupcakes' on arrival, and received a welcome call from the front office manager soon after check-in. Every staff we encountered - from Maria at front desk to our floor's housekeeping staff had an upbeat, can-do attitude and greeted us by name when they saw us. That's what hospitality is ALL about. Like many strapped midtown hotels, the physical property is sorely in need of updates, BUT what the hotel lacks in the physical plant was more than compensated for by what the staff does have control of: and that's great service at every moment of contact with guests. Well done, hotel staff!! As frequent visitors from a large southeastern US city, we will sing your praises and return often.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear TKCoach,

What a wonderful review of The Court and our fantastic associates. We are so glad to hear that our standards of service and the warmth with which you were greeted left an impression. We hope your wife’s 40th Birthday was the best yet!

Should you have the opportunity or need to visit New York City again, we are happy to offer you favorable rates. You can book directly through our website by using promo code THANKS, by contacting our Director of Revenue and Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, or by calling one of our Accommodations Specialists at 888.406.8588.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Christ Swaim
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We booked a king room for a one night stay in NYC at a great price on hotels.com. It was my fourth time staying at the Court. Upon arrival, we were told that we were upgraded to "one of the best rooms in the hotel," a lovely suite on the 16th floor that is bigger than our apartment! A huge living room space with a dining room table, two full bathrooms (Equipped with Philosophy products), and a huge bedroom. It was a great experience. One downfall is that the TV in the living room did not work. Also, no room service available, so when taking advantage of the 12:00 check out, we had to go out and bring breakfast back up to us. But a great experience overall, will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hap85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear hap85,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Court. We are so delighted that we were able to provide you with an upgrade and that you enjoyed the suite! Thank you also for bringing our attention to the issues with the television in the living room.

Should you have the opportunity or need to visit New York City again, we are happy to offer you favorable rates. You can book directly through our website by using promo code THANKS, by contacting our Director of Revenue and Reservations at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com, or by calling one of our Accommodations Specialists at 888.406.8588.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Christ Swaim
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Here for a quick weekend night with girlfriends. Great value spacious room. Minor issues: fire alarm randomly went off in the afternoon, wasn't immediately clear whether it was false or not. The bathroom was not well lit and the room was very warm in the middle of the night, we couldn't figure out how to get the heat off. All and all would probably stay here again, I can't imagine you would find a nicer place for less on a weekend in NYC.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vahoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear vahoya,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Court. Thank you especially for noting the “minor issues”—we strive to cover all the details, and your feedback helps us to improve. We would love another opportunity to provide you with a truly signature St Giles experience!

Should you have the opportunity to visit New York City again this year, we are happy to offer you favorable rates. When booking through our website, use the promo code THANKS. You may also reach out to our Reservations Director at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com or speak directly with an Accommodations Specialist at 888.406.8588.

Sincerely,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#188 of 469 in New York City
818 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#199 of 469 in New York City
3,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#140 of 469 in New York City
539 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#296 of 469 in New York City
445 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#133 of 469 in New York City
3,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Court – A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Court – A St Giles Hotel

Address: 130 E 39th St, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#192 Business Hotel in New York City
#208 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#212 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#241 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $131 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Court – A St Giles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate New York experience awaits you at The Court. While many hotels leave you feeling claustrophobic, The Court’s 199 spacious guest rooms (Superiors begin at 350 square feet) allow you to spread out in comfort and style. Signature Suites include the Empire Suite, the Chrysler Suite, and our fabulous Terrace Suites, featuring outdoor terraces with views of the city skyline. When you venture out, you will find yourself just steps away from Grand Central Terminal and the iconic Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. Icon Restaurant serves a variety of breakfast options each morning, while Court Bar mixes handcrafted cocktails by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Court – A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York City
The w Hotel
w Hotels New York City
w New York Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing