We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, friendly, helpful staff at a great priced hotel in the perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #300 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Peckville, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent, friendly, helpful staff at a great priced hotel in the perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

When we arrived the hotel staff was the friendliest staff I have ever encountered. They upgraded us to a better room and the valet offered us to park on the street for free since we arrived on a Sunday. He even found us a spot while we checked in. We arrived 3 hours before check-in time and we were able to go right to our room. The price cannot be beat and the location is superb! We walked everywhere from this hotel and it was the middle of February! Will definitely stay here next time we visit the city!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenpal811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Front Office Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear jenpal811,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Court. We are delighted to hear that our service was spot on, warm and friendly. I will be sure to share your comments with our front of house team!

Should you have the opportunity to visit New York City again this year, we are delighted to offer you favorable rates. When booking through our website, use the promo code THANKS. You may also reach out to our Reservations Director at christopherj@stgilesnewyork.com or speak directly with an Accommodations Specialist at 888.406.8588.

Thank you, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Court!

Chris Swaim
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    847
    366
    117
    64
See reviews for
362
778
119
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My mother always used to say, 'If you can't say something nice, then don't say anything at all.' That's the main reason this is going to be a very short review. Chaotic check-in, cramped lobby, quite nice rooms on the upper floors, surly and most objectionable member of staff at check out, poor restaurant. That's it I'm afraid. Sorry. Go somewhere else. They have little or no concept of customer service here.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel. Simple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Front Office Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear DCG,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Court. Please accept our sincere apologies that your stay with us was unpleasant. We are alarmed that you were treated to a surly and objectionable departure experience—that is completely unacceptable and please know that we are taking steps to ensure that every guest receives warm, thorough and personalized service. We also take very seriously the issues you raised as to the check in experience and common ares of the hotel—thanks to your feedback, we can take the proper steps to improve.

We would love another opportunity to provide you with a truly exceptional St Giles New York experience. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally at chriss@stgilesnewyork.com or 212.685.1100 ext. 1305 if you would like to discuss your experience in detail or if we can arrange a future stay for you.

Thank You,

Chris Swaim
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great location near Grand Central Station and Metro lines. Was shocked to see spacious room, walk in closet, big bathroom AND balcony with view of Chrysler Building! Quiet room, comfortable bed with plenty of pillows. Great thermostat kept us warm during the day and cool at night (at our adjustments). Pleasant staff and maid got right into room so we never came back to our mess. Got a great deal on Hotwire and definitely would stay here again. Not one thing to say that isn't exemplary.

Room Tip: Request a balcony :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
156 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Spent four nights here in mid-December and it was wonderful. My suite was incredibly large, by any standard let alone NYC standards, and incredibly comfortable...with a huge living room with a sofa, big chaise lounge, monstrous desk, etc...and a good-sized bedroom and bathroom. The bed linens were very nice as were the pillows and the bed was very comfortable. Great functional and clean bathroom with a big tub/shower combination. Loved the complimentary Philosophy toiletries which were generously replaced everyday as well as the in-room coffee and tea service (I don't recall if this was automatically there or I had to request it). I was on one of the higher floors and at the back of the building but still had some street noise...which is to be expected virtually anywhere in Manhattan...but it never kept me awake (possibly because I always use earplugs),

Most of the service was consistently fantastic...the people at the front desk were so friendly and helpful all the time as were the bellmen. The concierge...not so much! I asked once for information on restaurants in the immediate area and she just handed me a pile of paper menus, most of which were from places I would never eat...especially when there are so many terrific options in NYC. She did not try at all to be friendly or helpful...and I never "bothered" her again. Also stopped in the bar one night...what a joke!...I asked for one of the drinks from the bar menu and the bartender told me she didn't have the stock to make it. Okay...so I tried another item FROM THE BAR MENU and she told me the same thing. This went on...literally...for another six to eight items, all of which were listed ON THE BAR MENU. Ridiculous!! I finally just asked her what she could make and had that. Funny that she seemed so much more accomodating when a group of her friends came into the bar... Overall though, the service from the other staff was so good that it made up for these few exceptions.

The hotel is in a really good central location, at least for what I was interested in doing...Grand Central Station, Rockefeller Center, shopping along Fifth Avenue, Park Avenue, etc., Soho, Greenwich Village, Columbus Circle, Gramercy Park, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Museum of Natural History, etc. But keep in mind that I did a lot of walking...at least 8 miles a day...never used the subway or other public transportation and only took a cab once...back from lower Manhattan (9/11 Memorial) after having walked there. So, if you are interested in doing things all over Manhattan, this is a perfect location. If you will be sticking more to upper Manhattan, you may want to find a hotel closer to that section. I am planning another trip to NYC in June and will probably spend most of my time in upper Manhattan, so I am looking for a hotel farther up...but if I cannot find one for a reasonable rate, I will very happily stay at the St. Giles again.

One suggestion for the hotel...getting ice is harder than it needs to be. Every night when I wanted a bucket of ice, I had to call down to the front desk to request it...which is fine,,,but then I had to walk down to the front desk to get it myself...which seems unnecessarily inconvenient. One night, I literally stood at the front desk and waited 15-20 minutes until someone was available who could get me a bucket of ice. When the bar is right there?! If there is no place to locate ice machines on the room floors, then at least have someone bring it to the room. Maybe that bartender who doesn't know how (or won't) make any mixed drinks...?

All in all, a great stay.

Room Tip: Upper floor room at the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamelaK O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great Location. I got this hotel via hotwire. Quite a large room even though we had the smallest room per the room map. Rooms are showing age. Bathrooms are quite outdated and unless you are smaller than 5'7" you will NOT fit under the showerhead. Suprise and delight was the separate area with a mini-fridge and closet. Bed was very comfortable, however they do not have down pillows.

The staff were very cool - desk staff / Door Man / housekeeping. Very impressed.

My only complaint were the paper thin walls in the rooms. I could hear the people in the room across the hall from us as clear as if they were in our room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank congoroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Needed a room for a night in a convenient spot, this was great for that. The room was really nice, with a spacious, comfy bed, and a mini-bar with a lot of choices. The biggest issue was the noise. The Court is located on a corner in the busy midtown area, if you get a room facing the street be prepared for noise, noise, and more noise. Street traffic all night- cars, delivery trucks, and very early morning construction. Couldn't sleep at all, bring earplugs!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelChicaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaton rapids
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I was in NYC for business (Feb. 4-5, 2013) and stayed in a deluxe king room. It was very nice. Everything (the room, bed, bathroom, bar, local restaurants, coffee shop, and location) was great! The room was surprisingly large, especially considering I have stayed in other NYC hotels that are not that much larger than the bed. My room had a flat screen television, a chair, a built in wall desk and a huge closet! The bed was very comfortable to sleep in and my room was relatively quiet. There were four plug outlets throughout the room. The Philosophy toiletries were a nice touch. The bathroom window opened so if it got too hot from the shower, you could open the window a little bit.

Flew into LaGuardia and took the Airport bus (LGA and JFK have a shuttle) for $13 one way. It drops you off at Grand Central, which is approximately 3 blocks from The Court.

Coffee shop - Lucid Cafe is just a block down the street. Went there once, the guy remembered what I ordered the second time I went! Nice!

Rossini's Italian restaurant is around the corner - will go there again for sure!

The staff were friendly, and made excellent recommendations and were very helpful with any questions that were asked. I will be back to this establishment.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe king.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandavk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#199 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#245 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#128 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#74 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Court – A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Court – A St Giles Hotel

Property: The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Address: 130 E 39th St, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#188 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#196 Business Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#246 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Court – A St Giles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate New York experience awaits you at The Court. While many hotels leave you feeling claustrophobic, The Court’s 199 spacious guest rooms (Superiors begin at 350 square feet) allow you to spread out in comfort and style. Signature Suites include the Empire Suite, the Chrysler Suite, and our fabulous Terrace Suites, featuring outdoor terraces with views of the city skyline. When you venture out, you will find yourself just steps away from Grand Central Terminal and the iconic Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. Icon Restaurant serves a variety of breakfast options each morning, while Court Bar mixes handcrafted cocktails by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Court – A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York City
The w Hotel
w Hotels New York City
w New York Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing