We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st wedding anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #332 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We booked the hotel through booking.com. We got a good deal for the King size suite, which comprised of a shower/toilet, a walk-in wardrobe and a large king size bed.
We found the room clean and modern. The bed was very large and comfortable, the shower unfortunetly leaked at times and required sponging up the water with the towels provided.
We found some of the staff were very nonchalent, but overall they were friendly and helpful specially the Juan the consierge. Would recommend a stay at the hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hinchys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,307 - 1,313 of 2,116 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

After reading some of the reviews, I was a bit skeptical about this hotel, but my expectations were far surpassed! We had 3 Executive Junior Suites for 6 people (3 couples) from August 30 - September 2, 2012.

Check-in was a breeze and Jennifer at the front desk provided us with additional information about shopping, popular NYC attractions and more. We then made our way up to our rooms. To the contrary of many reviews, the elevators were not THAT small... The 6 of us and all our luggage fit in one elevator.

We were all on separate floors, but had identical rooms, which were HUGE! Some of the largest hotel rooms I have ever seen. Our rooms had a living room area which was the size of an average hotel room and this area included one sofa, two large chairs, a desk and a bar area. This was perfect as we were traveling as a group and we could have a drink in each others rooms without having to all be sitting on the beds. The bedrooms were also quite large, with lots of room for the king size bed, a chair, large television and 2 closets. The beds were very comfortable, as pointed out by others. If I had to point something that could have been better, the bathrooms were disproportionately small to the rest of the room, but did the trick. Also, all 3 rooms seemed to have some issues with the water properly draining in the shower, but this was nothing we hadn't seen before. The room was clean, all the hotel staff were VERY polite and friendly. The furnishings were a bit beat up, but this was the least of our worries.

Part of our package included a continental breakfast buffet, which was also quite enjoyable. It had everything you needed... juice, coffee, cereal, pastries, bagels, toast, fresh fruit, etc.

The location was great and we had no issues with the noise levels or the air conditioning, as per other reviews.

Overall, a very positive experience and we all agreed that we would return to this hotel if we could!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This boutique hotel is walking distance from times square and grand central station giving you easy access to the subway and nearby attractions like the empire state building. The hotel is modern and although some of the amenities could be updated to include iPod docks and USB connection to TVs, it was extremely roomy for my sisers and me. We stayed in a single room one night then upgraded to a huge suite for the next three nights. Breakfast was very good in Icon Restaurant. Try the egg white omelette! It's very good.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarraC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

positive points :
good location with acceptable price for downtown Manhattan

but important negative points :
it's a very noisy hotel ( roads, air co ), old fashion bedrooms, old bathrooms
not adapted for business trip !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Couple B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We booked this hotel a couple of days before our stay as it was one of the few available. It was also near Grand Central and as we had to catch our bus to the airport the next day it was a good choice. The scaffolding outside and the refurbishment work next door did put us off but we were only there for one night so decided to not let this dampen our spirits. The reception area was small and very gloomy. Two couples were waiting for a taxi to take them elsewhere and when the taxi arrived said a loud "Thank God!"
Checking in was simple enough and when I checked that we would not be affected by the refurbishment next door was advised that we had been upgraded to the courtyard and therefore would be fine. As it was noon we asked could our bags be stored until the room was available at 3pm and this was done at no extra charge- excellent!
The room was comfortable as was the bed but the bathroom needs upgrading. However from our window we could see the Empire State which was such a bonus.
The AC was very noisy and could not be turned off which meant we had little sleep and were very disappointed when we realised that there was no coffee making facility in the room nor was there a coffee station available in the hotel. When we asked about this we were told there was a restaurant but at $15 for a cold buffet breakfast and $25 dollars for cooked, plus the usual taxes gave this a miss. We managed to get a Starbucks coffee round the corner and a brilliant egg and sausage bun at the shop next door (at $2.95 what a bargain)
Next day we checked out at noon after our trip to the Empire State and again keeping the bags for us was not a problem making life much simpler.

Room Tip: Ask for a couryard room these seem to be off the street and some face the Empire State Building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahnJ0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This snazzy boutique hotel is lovely. We were upgraded from a king deluxe to a junior suite. Our room was comfortable, clean and well furnished. The bed was especially comfortable. Nice views from the windows. The hotel location is a little off the main tourist track, but not by much. It's a short walk to Grand Central, where you can catch good subway connections and it's near many useful bus routes, too. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silasroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a week!

Great location, ideal for central touring place!

Down side : we booked two rooms having a family and they could not accommodate both rooms together! So me and my wife had to seperate! To ensure that our children were not alone

The decor was old and unfinished! Cockroach traps behind the bed which is worrying!

Stopped at the empire hotel last year! Much better!

Turleys on tour x

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Turboturley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#190 of 469 in New York City
819 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#200 of 469 in New York City
3,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#139 of 469 in New York City
539 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#295 of 469 in New York City
444 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#133 of 469 in New York City
3,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Court – A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Court – A St Giles Hotel

Address: 130 E 39th St, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#192 Business Hotel in New York City
#209 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#212 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#241 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $131 - $924 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Court – A St Giles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate New York experience awaits you at The Court. While many hotels leave you feeling claustrophobic, The Court’s 199 spacious guest rooms (Superiors begin at 350 square feet) allow you to spread out in comfort and style. Signature Suites include the Empire Suite, the Chrysler Suite, and our fabulous Terrace Suites, featuring outdoor terraces with views of the city skyline. When you venture out, you will find yourself just steps away from Grand Central Terminal and the iconic Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. Icon Restaurant serves a variety of breakfast options each morning, while Court Bar mixes handcrafted cocktails by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Court – A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York City
The w Hotel
w Hotels New York City
w New York Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing