We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very positive experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #315 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very positive experience!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

After reading some of the reviews, I was a bit skeptical about this hotel, but my expectations were far surpassed! We had 3 Executive Junior Suites for 6 people (3 couples) from August 30 - September 2, 2012.

Check-in was a breeze and Jennifer at the front desk provided us with additional information about shopping, popular NYC attractions and more. We then made our way up to our rooms. To the contrary of many reviews, the elevators were not THAT small... The 6 of us and all our luggage fit in one elevator.

We were all on separate floors, but had identical rooms, which were HUGE! Some of the largest hotel rooms I have ever seen. Our rooms had a living room area which was the size of an average hotel room and this area included one sofa, two large chairs, a desk and a bar area. This was perfect as we were traveling as a group and we could have a drink in each others rooms without having to all be sitting on the beds. The bedrooms were also quite large, with lots of room for the king size bed, a chair, large television and 2 closets. The beds were very comfortable, as pointed out by others. If I had to point something that could have been better, the bathrooms were disproportionately small to the rest of the room, but did the trick. Also, all 3 rooms seemed to have some issues with the water properly draining in the shower, but this was nothing we hadn't seen before. The room was clean, all the hotel staff were VERY polite and friendly. The furnishings were a bit beat up, but this was the least of our worries.

Part of our package included a continental breakfast buffet, which was also quite enjoyable. It had everything you needed... juice, coffee, cereal, pastries, bagels, toast, fresh fruit, etc.

The location was great and we had no issues with the noise levels or the air conditioning, as per other reviews.

Overall, a very positive experience and we all agreed that we would return to this hotel if we could!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    870
    381
    131
    67
See reviews for
378
799
123
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This boutique hotel is walking distance from times square and grand central station giving you easy access to the subway and nearby attractions like the empire state building. The hotel is modern and although some of the amenities could be updated to include iPod docks and USB connection to TVs, it was extremely roomy for my sisers and me. We stayed in a single room one night then upgraded to a huge suite for the next three nights. Breakfast was very good in Icon Restaurant. Try the egg white omelette! It's very good.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarraC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

positive points :
good location with acceptable price for downtown Manhattan

but important negative points :
it's a very noisy hotel ( roads, air co ), old fashion bedrooms, old bathrooms
not adapted for business trip !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Couple B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We booked this hotel a couple of days before our stay as it was one of the few available. It was also near Grand Central and as we had to catch our bus to the airport the next day it was a good choice. The scaffolding outside and the refurbishment work next door did put us off but we were only there for one night so decided to not let this dampen our spirits. The reception area was small and very gloomy. Two couples were waiting for a taxi to take them elsewhere and when the taxi arrived said a loud "Thank God!"
Checking in was simple enough and when I checked that we would not be affected by the refurbishment next door was advised that we had been upgraded to the courtyard and therefore would be fine. As it was noon we asked could our bags be stored until the room was available at 3pm and this was done at no extra charge- excellent!
The room was comfortable as was the bed but the bathroom needs upgrading. However from our window we could see the Empire State which was such a bonus.
The AC was very noisy and could not be turned off which meant we had little sleep and were very disappointed when we realised that there was no coffee making facility in the room nor was there a coffee station available in the hotel. When we asked about this we were told there was a restaurant but at $15 for a cold buffet breakfast and $25 dollars for cooked, plus the usual taxes gave this a miss. We managed to get a Starbucks coffee round the corner and a brilliant egg and sausage bun at the shop next door (at $2.95 what a bargain)
Next day we checked out at noon after our trip to the Empire State and again keeping the bags for us was not a problem making life much simpler.

Room Tip: Ask for a couryard room these seem to be off the street and some face the Empire State Building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahnJ0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This snazzy boutique hotel is lovely. We were upgraded from a king deluxe to a junior suite. Our room was comfortable, clean and well furnished. The bed was especially comfortable. Nice views from the windows. The hotel location is a little off the main tourist track, but not by much. It's a short walk to Grand Central, where you can catch good subway connections and it's near many useful bus routes, too. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silasroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a week!

Great location, ideal for central touring place!

Down side : we booked two rooms having a family and they could not accommodate both rooms together! So me and my wife had to seperate! To ensure that our children were not alone

The decor was old and unfinished! Cockroach traps behind the bed which is worrying!

Stopped at the empire hotel last year! Much better!

Turleys on tour x

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turboturley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night during a business trip. I was very dissapointed. The lobby looks 4 star as does the bar, but as soon as yu leave the leveator the 2/3 star treatment starts.

My room was very small and cramped, the bathroom was a disaster. The shower room was only 2' by 2' and the showerhead was right in the middle at 5'5". Unless you are 5' tall it is almost impossible to shower. The rest of the shower looks also ver very dated.

It looks like somebody bought the Hotel and did a quick fixer up. The paint job and door look like astudent room this is not a 4 star Hotel.

The bar turn into a loud night club. It was impossible to talk to my business relations, so we left. This does not belong in a 4 star Hotel. FYI there were only 2 others left.

I agree with other reviews, if you can get it realy cheap (around $100-$120/night) it is not that bad of a deal as the location is good, otherwise ignore and book something else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mveen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#193 of 467 in New York City
790 reviews
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#101 of 467 in New York City
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#248 of 467 in New York City
2,286 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#136 of 467 in New York City
501 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#133 of 467 in New York City
4,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Court – A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Court – A St Giles Hotel

Property: The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Address: 130 E 39th St, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#193 Business Hotel in New York City
#198 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#213 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#242 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Court – A St Giles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate New York experience awaits you at The Court. While many hotels leave you feeling claustrophobic, The Court’s 199 spacious guest rooms (Superiors begin at 350 square feet) allow you to spread out in comfort and style. Signature Suites include the Empire Suite, the Chrysler Suite, and our fabulous Terrace Suites, featuring outdoor terraces with views of the city skyline. When you venture out, you will find yourself just steps away from Grand Central Terminal and the iconic Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. Icon Restaurant serves a variety of breakfast options each morning, while Court Bar mixes handcrafted cocktails by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Court – A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York City
The w Hotel
w Hotels New York City
w New York Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing