We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Staff but needs a little updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #333 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This hotel is in a good central location. The staff are very friendly/helpful and the price was right ( as they are undergoing renovations). Whilst the building is a little old, the rooms are a generous size for NY with good facilities (comfy bed/excellent bathroom). Breakfast (buffet) was very good but a little pricey (although someone needs to source decent quality tea and make sure the staff know how to make a proper cup of tea).

I was upgraded to a 15th floor suite for no extra charge so maybe I'm biased! ;)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CGFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,372 - 1,378 of 2,127 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

Have been staying out of hotels in NYC for 4 months now for work, and this is BY FAR the noisiest and worst in many ways. Short list of issues:

1. Run down facade (they are under renovation) and interior (it is a VERY old property that has changed several hands)
2. No on-premise gym (contrary to information at booking)
3. Bathroom on check-in had traces of previous guest
4. Dirty carpets
5. No proper drapes (just pull down blinds)
6. Noisy airconditioner that struggles to cool
7. Located on a busy street with constant din of traffic, honks, trash pick up trucks filtering through the old windows.
8. Jaded, surly front desk staff unsympathetic to issues above (sounds like they encounter they encounter complaints on an hourly basis)

The noise issue is ultimately the deal breaker--the levels, as measured by my trusty decibel level indicator, are simply unacceptable at ANY price point.

Room Tip: Always ask for a high floor room not facing Lexington, but the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Dear A S,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your visit with us at St Giles New York Tuscany & Court. We are very sad to hear that your expectations were not met on this visit and we do place high value on the experience that we provide you and all of our guests.

Please know that we are addressing the issues that you have mentioned regarding the room you had with us. You are correct that our gym is under renovation, however we do privide complimentary passes to one of New York finest gym facilities which is very near to the hotel.

We regret that we did not have the oppurtinity to offer you a change to a room courtside which is away from any street noise and we have included your comments in trainings that we are doing for the staff.

In closing, yours was far from the typical great expereince that we work hard to provide and usually acheive for the majority of our guests and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss having you back on your next visit under different circumstances. Please feel free to contact me at your convenience if you would like to discuss this further.

Warm Regards,

Michael Yancy
Director of Front Office
St Giles Hotel New York Tuscany & Court
michaely@stgilesnewyork.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hotel is about a 15 minute walk to times square. It is a nice looking hotel and it has everything you need to enjoy your vacation. However currently there was a lot of construction around the hotel, but that isn't really their fault. Jenn at the front desk was so lovely and she made us feel very welcome. We would stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christophermore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Good size room. Great shower. Comfy beds. Quiet despite being so central. Scotty's Diner across the road. The inflated rats appeared on several days so I presume that the construction work is not being done by union men. (see earlier comment). Looked out our window to see the Empire State Building. Walked out the front door to see the Chrysler building- now that's location.

Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My family of 5 stayed here in mid-June and had a great experience. The hotel staff were incredibly friendly, always ready to help with touristy advice or a recommendation. When we asked for a crib, it was delivered immediately. When we asked for a fridge, it came right up too (there is one already in the room but they'll charge you if you move anything/take anything out). Both were free of charge. Room was a good size, by NYC standards. The housekeeping staff did a great job of cleaning every day and restocking our linens. It was centrally located if you don't mind walking a few blocks to the main attractions (Times Square, Empire State, Central Park). We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 7th floor, facing away from the main road and we had no problems with street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mom23beauts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed in St.Giles The Court for a couple of nights having booked it by the promotion at $150 per night. The hotel was above any expectations especially if compared with some other options that Manhattan hotels could have provided.
Large rooms, large washrooms with windows, everything is clean and tidy, Philosophy shampoo and shower gel - what else would you need from the hotel like this.
but also the location is quite good - Grand Central Terminal is in three blocks which means that subway is in a close proximity. And when LIRR from JFK airport starts to stop at Grand Central it will a perfect location reachable by public transport from JFK (now you'll have to go to Lexington avenue station, than transfer to green lines and get to Grand Central)
Although it is not a 5-star property - be prepared for it: it is quite noisy outside and window panes are not sound proof. They have only two elevators for 16 floors and when one has broken this weekend it took quite a long time to get down and/or go up.
Nonetheless I would certainly recommend this hotel if they offer a good rate.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ilya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Highly recommended Clean, Clean, Clean. Wonderful, very large room as well as bathroom. Have never seen such a big bathroom in manhattan hotels. The location is great, just 3 blocks from Grand Central. The staff very courteous, the bed very comfortable. Will definitely stay here again.
Great value.

Room Tip: High floor, less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waldemar_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#188 of 470 in New York City
826 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#201 of 470 in New York City
3,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#137 of 470 in New York City
546 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#292 of 470 in New York City
469 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#125 of 470 in New York City
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Court – A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Court – A St Giles Hotel

Address: 130 E 39th St, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#192 Business Hotel in New York City
#208 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#212 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $146 - $1,064 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Court – A St Giles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate New York experience awaits you at The Court. While many hotels leave you feeling claustrophobic, The Court’s 199 spacious guest rooms (Superiors begin at 350 square feet) allow you to spread out in comfort and style. Signature Suites include the Empire Suite, the Chrysler Suite, and our fabulous Terrace Suites, featuring outdoor terraces with views of the city skyline. When you venture out, you will find yourself just steps away from Grand Central Terminal and the iconic Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. Icon Restaurant serves a variety of breakfast options each morning, while Court Bar mixes handcrafted cocktails by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Court – A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York City
The w Hotel
w Hotels New York City
w New York Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing