We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Yiddish twist in the heart of Little Italy”
Review of Balaboosta

Balaboosta
Reserve with OpenTable
Balaboosta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #861 of 13,678 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Nolita
Cross street: Prince and Spring Streets
Transit: 6 train to Spring Street N R W to Prince Street B D F M trains to Broadway/Lafayette
Description: Balaboosta in NOLITA http://carlosmeliablog.com/2010/11/13/balaboosta-in-nolita/
tarpon springs
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Yiddish twist in the heart of Little Italy”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Who else can invite you in to eat but tell you that your limited to 1.5 hours other then a Balaboosta! Without a reservation and desperately looking for a quiet place to get out of the cold damp weather we could not have happened upon a better restaurant. This small, well appointed little gem, had a great mix of small plates and full entries that came out paced perfectly, awesome in design and taste. From the Fried Cauliflower to the Salmon Ceviche as starters, to the perfectly prepared black grouper, and Kale Pasta, we were all Hmmmmming at the table. Great service by Sara and our host (maybe owner) Alex was just wonderful. We would highly recommend this wonderful little restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buildinnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    71
    17
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great for Brunch”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

friends had dinner here and recommended it to us. We went for brunch on Saturday and enjoyed the meal. The options area little different than the average with a Middle eastern twist. Nice atmosphere and simple decoration it's worth making a reservation because the place fills up quickly.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank anthropology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A fine find and fine food”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I came across this restaurant after a long day being a tourist in New York. I sat at the bar for a few minutes before getting a table. I had the grouper which was very tasty. I had a variation on the traditional NY cheesecake for desert and it was also yummy. A couple of glasses of Viognier washed it all down. And I had my own bottle of water. The surprise of the evening was when a bottle of sparkling wine stored in an area above the window seat decided to pop its cork and showered the people waiting below. The bottle must have exploded since some pieces of glass also came down on the poor unsuspecting patrons.
Why they stored wine up there, I will never know. Good food, good service and some fun too!

Helpful?
Thank Belltownboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hummus that reminds me of Israel”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I've spent some time in Israel, so it's always depressing eating the inferior Israeli condiments in the United States, particularly hummus. Balaboosta, on the other hand, reminds me of Israel. The food is always fresh, simple, and the hummus/pita plate that they serve there is the best I've had in the city. Soft, fluffy pita (not that flat crap), lightly charred, and hummus with zaatar, my favorite spice blend (oregano, basil thyme, thyme and savory). Literally everything on the menu is worth ordering, so go wild. They have Israeli and Morrocan beer on the menu, but neither are worth drinking.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zach N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
253 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Sounds Kosher, but isn't”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Despite the Yiddish name (balaboosta means highest achiever in homemaking), the fare is neither typical Jewish nor typical Israeli. It presents a fresh take by combining Middle Eastern flavors with Mediterranean foods. My two appetizers - the fluke ceviche and the Israeli street fair covered all food groups and were perfect for a complete dinner. My guest had the market salad and the Bronzino which was done to lemony garlicky perfection. The room is small and the bistro style seating is tight. A terrific date night treat!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nydolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balaboosta also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Balaboosta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing