We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service!”
Review of Row NYC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Row NYC Hotel
Ranked #346 of 466 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Service!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a week and the service I experienced was amazing. As soon as you walk in you are greeted by the staff. The decor and ambiance of the hotel is very chic, modern, and beautiful. My checking in process was very easy. I received the keys to my room and upon entering my room I did not realize that this hotel was more of a boutique style hotel as the rooms are smaller which is typical of many hotels in the New York area. After seeing the size of the room, I went to the front desk to ask if I could move into a bigger room because I like a lot of extra space, and they informed me that the rooms are that size because they want you to spend majority of your time out exploring the city, which makes total sense! After explaining the concept of the rooms to me the staff member offered to place me into a larger room and she gave me a key to the larger room so I could view it before making my decision. I ended up staying in the room I was in but I was very impressed that they were willing to move me into a larger room. The service in general was outstanding. The management team was amazing and accommodating and checked in with me to make sure I was taken care of and if there was anything extra I needed. Overall the experience was fabulous and when I come back to NY I will be staying at the Row Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Kristen L,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so thrilled you had such a wonderful experience while staying with us! We thank you for your kind comments recognizing our customer service driven staff. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,167
    6,259
    3,553
    1,647
    1,470
See reviews for
5,071
5,811
1,053
1,987
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,604)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stayed here in February when it was Milford Plaza as part of a very large group (over 50 of us on a drama trip).

There were 4 of us in a room, two double beds and be prepared the rooms are tiny! There was enough room for both beds and a tiny amount of space to walk between. The bathroom is barely big enough to turn around in. However, this worked for us - we were just using it as a base and it was clean and modern, we liked it.

It is also perfectly located between Times Square and Hells Kitchen, we couldn't have asked for a more ideal spot.

I also thought the interesting lift concept worked very well - you put your number in to the lift on the ground floor & then you have to go to the assigned lift.

Was more than happy with the cleanliness of the rooms, although some sweets we had brought did go missing on one day - we think they may have been accidentally thrown away. Due to the size of the rooms, obviously shopping bags are going to be on the floor (as there is literally nowhere to put them) so staff need to make sure that they are even more careful about belongings, but overall we have no complaints about cleanliness.

The reason I haven't given it a full star rating:

1) The rest of our group got checked in fine apart from 2 room (ours and another one). It was over a 2 hour wait and no real apologies or any empathy - we had just flown in from London after all.

2) When we finally got in our room. Our safe was broken and so was our tv. I went down on the way out to report this, and was told by the staff (understandably) that we would need to be in our room to fix them (although this has never been the case in other hotels I have stayed in, if that is their policy this is fine). I came back earlier than the rest of my party from dinner out to get this sorted. TWO hours later, I was still waiting - the rest of my group had come back & gone to bed & we were still waiting for this to be fixed!! I called down repeatedly to the front desk to be constantly brushed aside, and eventually went out in the hallway & grabbed a passing maintenance man! This was a severely bad level of service.

3) Outside of the hotel is touts selling tickets for bus tours. One that is located very close to the doors is Go New York (Green bus). This is a severly dodgy company (as Trip Advisor proves) and I had an awful experience with them. I went to advise the Hotel Reception and they told me they already knew & basically what did I expect as it was a cheaper option than the others. If they already knew, why were they not advising guests on check in? Why were there no posters up in the lifts advising to avoid this company? I have travelled all over the world and think this would be done everywhere else, especially in England. It shows a severe lack of care to say 'yes we knew and we didn't care enough to warn you.'.


However overall, we had a very enjoyable stay at the Milford Plaza. Would I stay here again? Probably, its an excellent base and such an amazing location, but I would be very interested to compare it to other hotels in the area.

On a positive note, our group had a wonderful time in NYC - we loved it there :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alwayspoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Alwayspoppy,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our central location and found our unique elevator system to be efficient. We regret to hear of the inconvenience you experienced regarding the TV and safe as well as the wait time to check-in with you group. We appreciate your comments, as the can only allow us to improve. I have notified the appropriate department heads, and they are further investigating this matter. We hope to host your return trip to New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Going to NYC with daughter and her friend, I worry about safety and bed bugs! I would definitely stay at the ROW again next year. Quick to Times Square and restaurants and felt safe walking late at night. Rooms were small, but clean with very friendly staff. They could use a little more storage space in the bathrooms, shelves, hooks or something, but overall I would rate this a very good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Lori M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our unbeatable location and found our staff to be friendly. We regret to hear you found your room to be on the small side; however we do offer larger room sizes and layouts and would be more than happy in assisting you book a larger room category for a future stay. We hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochabamba, Bolivia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed here last November for two nights. The hotel was still under construction at that time, but was already looking like there were some fabulous upgrades. We didn't take advantage of the restaurant/bar at the hotel, but it all looked lovely. The rooms were small, but that's expected in NYC. The bed, blankets, and pillows were all super comfy and I'm a bit of a bed snob. We had a corner room and it had windows and a view on both sides. Beautiful. The bathroom was small as well, but functioned fine for 2 people. Both the room and the bathroom were very clean. The rooms are tastefully appointed just like in the photos. Oh yeah, they also have a nice business center where you can print out tickets or whatever you need. I think you would be hard pressed to find a better deal than the Row NYC for location and price. We love to be in the heart of it all and so are willing to pay a little more. (In fact we've discovered that we save the extra money we spend on hotels close to Time Square by being able to be at the front of rush ticket lines and get Broadway tickets for less money.) We go to NYC for the Broadway shows and the food. If you are like us then this could be the hotel for you.

Room Tip: If you can get a corner room higher up on the south side, I think you'll enjoy it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Denise H,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your most recent stay with us last November. It gives us great pleasure to hear you enjoyed our convenient location and found your bed and pillows to be super comfy. We hope to host your next Broadway getaway, in the heart of the theater district!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Great price, service, location, and room! Had an excellent time. I booked a standard room and was not expecting to get a window too, it was the best stay I'd ever had! Definitely going to book again soon. Highly recommend getting a room here one night! Service was amazing and so was the food at the restaurant. Room was spotless and beds were so comfy, highly recommend. Many of my friends have stayed here too after I told them to check it out.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caylaf15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Caylaf15,

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel. We thank you for your kind comments recognizing our great value, service and unbeatable location. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your comfy bed and found our restaurant to be amazing. We appreciate your recommendations and hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

My family of 4 recently spent 3 nights here and received good service and quality for NYC hotel. The location is a block off the Times Square center, so you could get away from the crowds, but still be in the heart of it all. We stayed on the 17th floor which gave us a great view, but did not drown out all the city noise, which is part of the fun of visiting the city! The rooms were cozy but comfortable. Space is not a luxury you will get in the city, but we had two teen boys sharing our room and we all did just fine. The only issue we had was on the last night, the fire alarm went off and due to that, the constant announcements and "non-english" speaking folks on our floor who stayed out in the hall trying to ask people to translate for them. It lasted until well after midnight, so for those of us who needed to get up early and get moving, it was a restless night. The kids couldn't get back to sleep, due to their fear of something really being wrong!
A 5 star review goes out to Lori at the front desk who spent time with me helping me figure out the best route to take to get to Jersey City the following day to pick up a rental car. She was very kind and patient to this southern gal, and I enjoyed talking with her and her directions were spot on!!!
Overall, our family enjoyed our stay at Row NYC, and would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Stacy K,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our convenient location and found your room to be cozy yet comfortable. It gives us great pleasure to know you and your family had an overall pleasant stay with us during your trip to the Big Apple. We do apologize for the scheduled fire alarm testing being performed during your stay. We thank you for your kind comments recognizing our 5 star customer service driven employee, Lori. We look forward to your future stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We enjoyed our stay and found the staff to be very helpful. Well located for many theatres and good food. The room was large by NY standards and the novel elevator system is quite efficient. The in hotel convenience store had both USA Today and the NT Times

Room Tip: check deals on Internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Foley, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Gordon H,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are so glad to hear you found our staff to be very helpful, and enjoyed our unbeatable location. We strive for efficiency throughout the hotel, and are delighted to hear your comments regarding our elevator system are indicative of this. We hope to host your future stay in NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#99 of 466 in New York City
4,293 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 466 in New York City
11,219 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#308 of 466 in New York City
9,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 466 in New York City
4,846 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#324 of 466 in New York City
6,829 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#384 of 466 in New York City
4,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Row NYC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Row NYC Hotel

Property: Row NYC Hotel
Address: 700 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-3901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Row NYC Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The revolutionary Row NYC hotel has pioneered a new era of individuality by meeting NYC's signature urban grit with grandeur - transforming one's stay into a completely contemporary experience. With a front row view to Times Square that's truly incomparable, our guests reside right in the middle of it all, with access to everything and anything - 24/7. Endlessly lounge-worthy, the Row NYC flaunts a spectacular lobby & statement spaces. Commissioned New York City inspired artworks electrify the atmosphere with animated light sculptures, and a digital art gallery by famed paparazzo Ron Gallela. Sitting in the bull's eye of Manhattan's most famous locales - including Broadway theaters, 5th Avenue shopping, Restaurant Row, world-class museums, Javits Center & nearby Central Park - the Row NYC is the ultimate New York City address. The hotel is ideally positioned just a few short blocks from Penn Station, the subway, and Port Authority Bus Terminal. LaGuardia, JFK and Newark airports are a 30 to 40 minute ride away. Valet & self-parking are available with convenience. The Row NYC boasts 1331 contemporary guest rooms on 28 floors, flaunting chic, Manhattan-inspired decor in white-hot hues mixed with unexpectedly vibrant custom furnishings. Other services include: Internet lounge in the lobby, Fitness studio, District M - a European express cafe, serving delicious sweet and savory pastries from NYC's finest bakeries and transforms into a chic Neapolitan pizza bar and cocktail lounge, serving hand-stretched pizzas and a curated selection of charcuterie and cheese from New York's famed Murray's Cheese Shop. Specialty cocktails, local craft beers and a live music lineup all contribute to an unforgettable evening. City Kitchen - Row NYC will also be home to a noteworthy food market. Offering cuisine from beloved New York City restaurants, it will be a way for guests and visitors to experience the city's most buzzed about food spots - without leaving the hotel. Iconic M: Open 24/7, our one-stop-shop for everyday essentials, including a wide range of international magazines and newspapers, snacks, fashionable souvenirs and toiletries. And, our concierge and multilingual staff are available for assistance - anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Prestigia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Row NYC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing